Big R Stores Reviews | Glassdoor

Big R Stores Reviews

Updated Jul 30, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 39 reviews

2.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
30%
Recommend to a Friend
37%
Approve of CEO
Matt Whebbe
3 Ratings
  1. "Great Family like atmosphere working at HQ"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Manager of IT in Pueblo, CO
    Recommends

    I worked at Big R Stores full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great Pay Work/Life Balance Weekends off Family like atmosphere Benefits are great

    Cons

    None, It was a great place to work

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the great work

    Big R Stores2018-03-23
  2. "entrance salary at or above local norm, no increase"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Stock Clerk in Pekin, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Big R Stores part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    community located so no long travel to job

    Cons

    no organization in store, managers fly by seat of pants react to negatives

    Advice to Management

    develop standards for store, get rid of generic training modules from internet

    Big R Stores2019-07-30
  3. "Great first/retirement job. Not a career."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Farm Associate in Michigan City, IN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Big R Stores part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The store I worked at was extremely flexible with my hours. Often letting my call offs/lates slide due to my demanding main job. Coworkers are either teens or older individuals and usually good/fun people to work with. All the managers I encountered were very nice and helpful if you were doing your job.

    Cons

    The new coorperate entity is doing whatever they can to maximize profit. (as they should its a business) However that should not come at the cost of employee benefits. Pay is atrocious and the raises are terrible. Turnover rates are on par with Walmart.

    Advice to Management

    Store level management needs to reiterate store level employee complaints about the coorperate side to the coorperate level.

    Big R Stores2019-06-04
  4. "High school or post retirement job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Monument, CO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Big R Stores full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Friendships with country clients and co workers.

    Cons

    Pay is less than fast food, despite store averages of 10 million in sales. They want shelf stockers not sales people.

    Advice to Management

    Pay a wage and benifits that retains experienced employees.

    Big R Stores2019-01-12
  5. "Customer service, floor stock, fill in yard person"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - First Help Customers, Front Merchandise Put Stock Away in Fernley, NV
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Big R Stores part-time

    Pros

    They will hire anyone no matter of qualifications

    Cons

    Low pay No holiday Pay for part time no matter if you bust you butt i personally received 3 secret shoppers at 100 percent with out trying because its my job. Was recently In Fallon store was on floor shopping for over an hour an not approached Once. They donot give military , senior Or When I purchased items in Fallon because I work in Fernley they would not give me employee discount

    Advice to Management

    In my store there are 6 managers and assistant When almost anytime there are only 2-3 floor people on floor

    Big R Stores2018-12-18
  6. "Opportunity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Big R Stores full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great opportunity for a small town Promotes from within

    Cons

    None I can think of.

    Big R Stores2018-08-22
  7. "What you would expect from any job."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Multiple Positions in Michigan City, IN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Big R Stores full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Flexible hours Mostly friendly co workers Room to work with Room for promotions

    Cons

    Nepotism can happen but isnt always bad Management can be erratic and unpredictable organization on a corporate level can be a bit encumbering.

    Advice to Management

    Dont owball your employees, especially the loyal ones, thats how staff can be made into toxic personal.

    Big R Stores2018-08-03
  8. "Purchasing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Big R Stores full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Decent salary but incintive program is terrible.

    Cons

    Long hours, travel, poorly managed, poor communication, no structure or policies.

    Big R Stores2018-08-08
  9. "Horrible place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Shipping and Receiving Manager in Elkhart, IN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Big R Stores full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible with your hours, most people are nice

    Cons

    Manager is a horrible person , Hippocrate, too many teenagers working there including managers daughter and all her ex boyfriends.

    Advice to Management

    Learn how to be a manager you didn’t cut it as a manager at your previous place of employment and you sure aren’t cutting it now

    Big R Stores2018-07-29
  10. "Big R Department manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Department Manager in Elkhart, IN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Big R Stores part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great part time job for a person in highschool. Some stores receive bonuses depending on yearly sales

    Cons

    Not much room to grow. Wont make more than $10 an hour.

    Big R Stores2018-02-22
Found 39 reviews