Blue Ridge Behavioral Healthcare Reviews | Glassdoor

Blue Ridge Behavioral Healthcare Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 51 reviews

3.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
82%
Recommend to a Friend
88%
Approve of CEO
Blue Ridge Behavioral Healthcare CEO Debbie Bonniwell
Debbie Bonniwell
16 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "No downsides to working at BRBH(in 6 reviews)

  • "Salary freeze and no cost of living increase(in 2 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (2)

    "LPN"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Licensed Practical Nurse in Roanoke, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Blue Ridge Behavioral Healthcare full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    CSU conveys a very professional environment with exceptional management leading our team. The benefits are good, PTO is wonderful, and you also receive state retirement. It's a perfect fit for a work/family lifestyle.

    Cons

    The pay is lower then the average in the area but the work environment, PTO, etc... definitely make up for that in the long run.

    Advice to Management

    I love the open door policy they convey along with being out and about in the center and aware of what is going on at all times.

    Blue Ridge Behavioral Healthcare2018-08-14
  2. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Director 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Blue Ridge Behavioral Healthcare full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    Incentives, flexible schedule, great co-worker

    Cons

    Unfriendly, dirty work environment, terrible customer service

    Advice to Management

    Do better

    Blue Ridge Behavioral Healthcare2019-05-21
  3. "Great opportunity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Registered Nurse in Roanoke, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Blue Ridge Behavioral Healthcare full-time for more than 6 years

    Pros

    Autonomy, schedule, friendly coworkers, excellent manager, good support and training offered, fast paced, a lot of different experiences

    Cons

    As a non-profit the pay may not be as high as some places but the benefits are good. Not a lot of room for growth in the nursing field but there is if you are on the clinical side.

    Advice to Management

    Consider ways to increase pay based on experience and reward retention.

    Blue Ridge Behavioral Healthcare2019-04-09
  4. "Meh"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Blue Ridge Behavioral Healthcare full-time

    Pros

    Benefits, paid time off, and flexibility

    Cons

    No raises, low pay, high turnover, and now management support

    Blue Ridge Behavioral Healthcare2018-08-31
  5. "it's ok"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Blue Ridge Behavioral Healthcare full-time

    Pros

    Dedicated staff who care about clients, HR tries to make working here fun, PTO accrual is pretty good, Good place to get experience

    Cons

    No pay raises, Low salary, Have to use PTO for holidays when BRBH is closed

    Blue Ridge Behavioral Healthcare2018-06-14
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Case Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Blue Ridge Behavioral Healthcare full-time

    Pros

    Co-workers are wonderful! Supervisor is extremely helpful and attentive to needs/concerns! Being able to schedule-adjust is great as well.

    Cons

    No downsides to working at BRBH! The work can be overwhelming at times, but being able to help others and advocate for clients is very rewarding.

    Blue Ridge Behavioral Healthcare2017-12-21
  7. "Rewarding and wonderful place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Roanoke, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Blue Ridge Behavioral Healthcare full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Amazing on-boarding and training.

    Cons

    Being such a big company, it is difficult to remain engaged with all employees.

    Advice to Management

    Management team is approachable and easy to work with.

    Blue Ridge Behavioral Healthcare2017-12-21

    Blue Ridge Behavioral Healthcare Response

    May 2, 2018Manager, Recruitment

    Thank you for your feedback! I am so glad you enjoyed our new hire orientation program and our management team. We are working on ways to engage with employees in other programs and buildings. Our new Events Team has a lot of great ideas on ways we can connect with each other! ...

    Show More
  8. "It's a good place work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends

    I have been working at Blue Ridge Behavioral Healthcare full-time

    Pros

    Supportive management for provided services Truly practice person-centered and evidence-based treatment Orientation process is well-organized Upper levels of management is well-structured, and responsive to needs and concerns Full-time work opportunities instead of fee-for-service employment Benefits begin immediately after completing orientation

    Cons

    Training in my specific office was dissatisfying partially because I was hired before 2 new staff and interns and received less training time, and essentially thrown into work responsibilities after a few days of "training" and "shadowing".

    Blue Ridge Behavioral Healthcare2017-12-21
  9. Helpful (2)

    "so-so"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Blue Ridge Behavioral Healthcare full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    I have always found BRBH to be very ethical and professional in the way that employees are advised to practice. We get a considerable amount of PTO annually. There is a positive environment between supervisors and coworkers. Leadership seems generally interested in actually helping clients. There is a variety of different positions and services offered at BRBH.

    Cons

    The health insurance is not affordable beyond single coverage. If you plan to work at BRBH and have dependents on your health insurance, you will not be making much money otherwise. Also the pay rates are not competitive with other local agencies. Staff safety is often compromised as there are no armed security and no processes for seeing if clients/vendors/etc. have weapons on their person. The services offered are...

    Show More
    Blue Ridge Behavioral Healthcare2017-12-23

    Blue Ridge Behavioral Healthcare Response

    May 2, 2018Manager, Recruitment

    Thank you for your feedback! We are listening! We have made changes for the coming benefit plan year to make having dependents on health insurance less expensive. We added a new tier that is much more affordable to cover children, added a Wellness Incentive that gives staff a ...

    Show More
  10. "Supervisor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Blue Ridge Behavioral Healthcare full-time

    Pros

    Excellent PTO, state retirement (VRS)

    Cons

    Salaries are not competitive with other MH agencies in the area; newly implemented insurance is not affordable and with rising cost of living, difficult for many folks to get by (working multiple jobs outside of BRBH), raises and bonuses are nonexistent, no opportunity for growth within the company; overload of documentation and poor morale within the entirety of the agency. Tremendous overturn

    Advice to Management

    N/a.

    Blue Ridge Behavioral Healthcare2017-12-22
Found 51 reviews