Bluehost Reviews | Glassdoor

Bluehost Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 183 reviews

2.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
34%
Recommend to a Friend
60%
Approve of CEO
Suhaib Zaheer
4 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good pay, good training , good management for the most part(in 13 reviews)

  • "Soda Machines, great people, light atmosphere, learning opportunity(in 10 reviews)

Cons
  • "Customer to front line agent to upper management communication was non-existent(in 12 reviews)

  • "Very busy call center at the first of the year(in 8 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Tech agent - Was an amazing company, till they let go 500+ employees"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Bluehost full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Lots of great things in the break rooms, pool, gym, fooz ball, video games - work with you to get your stats and understanding of webhosting

    Cons

    They are getting too big of a company and pushing sales and sales more and more, they stopped caring about ACT (Average Call Time) just get 1 sale per call.

    Advice to Management

    Needs to stop pushing so much sales, go back to your roots, understand why we got to be big in the first place.

    Bluehost2018-03-05
  2. "Used to be great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Technical Support Supervisor in Provo, UT

    I worked at Bluehost full-time for more than 6 years

    Pros

    The employees are great Lots of free food

    Cons

    Ownership only cares about bottom line Laid off hundreds of people just so they could leave utah

    Advice to Management

    Take better care of your employees

    Bluehost2019-04-04
  3. "Great place to start"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Server Professional in Orem, UT
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Bluehost full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    They don't make you take customers' abuse.

    Cons

    Way too focused on sales and I watched the company reputation plummet.

    Advice to Management

    Stop trying to make support technicians sell using shady tactics.

    Bluehost2019-02-13
  4. "Management needs to define effective product plans and improve company culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Quality Engineer in Provo, UT
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Bluehost full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    For some employees, the company offers extensive flexibility and moderate benefits.

    Cons

    The brand that I worked with was acquired a few year ago by a EIG, which has its pros and cons. To focus on the cons, the future of the brand and its goals are [obviously] at the whim of the larger corporation. This results in a level of ambivalence amongst the project managers of the brand since their input appears to have reduced steering power; essentially, some of their input can be found as only suggestions and the...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Company culture needs to be improved, this can be done through facilitating more conversations between various teams/departments.

    Bluehost2019-01-21
  5. "It's better to walk away."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Bluehost full-time

    Pros

    This is a tech company that should ride off into the sunset. In the beginning the perks and joy was great. The past is the best part of this company.

    Cons

    Management and bro culture. It's tricky to be a company when the mother ship calling the shots is in a different state.

    Advice to Management

    Pause and think, and be able to articulate the rationale as to why choices are being made.

    Bluehost2019-01-02
  6. "Web Advisor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Technical Support Specialist in Orem, UT
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Bluehost full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    I loved how this place kick started my into my technical career. The people were great, it was tight knit, and everyone always wanted to help each other out to collectively be better.

    Cons

    There was always poor communication between upper-management, management, and the lowest level. That and they decidedly laid off 500+ destroying the awesome employee dynamic they had.

    Advice to Management

    Keep employees as a focus, and don't treat them as expendable. You can teach the skills, but you can't teach someone to have a good personality.

    Bluehost2018-09-04
  7. "Bad growths"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Orem, UT
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Bluehost for more than 4 years

    Pros

    Good location (Orem offices), friendly environment

    Cons

    The growth into becoming a public company created big issues, Bluehost lost a lot of its previous good-culture and EIG’s non-friendly culture and agenda took over.

    Bluehost2018-08-31
  8. "Yesterday..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Orem, UT
      Negative Outlook

      I worked at Bluehost full-time for more than 6 years

      Pros

      All my troubles seemed so far away, now i need the old Bluehost to come back to stay. Oh I believe in yesterday... :)

      Cons

      They got bought out by a corporation who cares more about profits than they do about customers.

      Advice to Management

      Rally employees and buy the company back. Make it a privately held company again! :)

      Bluehost2018-07-12
    • "Good company, bought out by bad management."

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at Bluehost full-time

      Pros

      Learning environment Tech job Higher beginning pay

      Cons

      Changing rules and regulations Company tends to not care about employees, more focused on shareholders

      Bluehost2018-07-04
    • "Bluehost"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Orem, UT
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Bluehost full-time for more than 6 years

      Pros

      Started out as a great company when I first came on board in 2011.

      Cons

      Everything went downhill since.

      Bluehost2018-05-15
    Found 183 reviews