CI Financial Reviews | Glassdoor

CI Financial Reviews

Updated July 19, 2017
88 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

3.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
(no image)
Peter Anderson
18 Ratings

88 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
  • There is a collaborative work environment and most people are friendly and willing to help (in 13 reviews)

  • Great people to work with from all levels of the company (in 13 reviews)

Cons
  • There are not many cons to this place (in 3 reviews)

  • Old school style of interviewing new candidates (in 3 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. Helpful (1)

    "CI Financial Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    Good growth opportunities and high level of responsibility.

    Cons

    Currently undergoing management change and restructuring.


  2. Helpful (1)

    "Great experience, loved it"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    Pros

    Amazing open door culture, collaborative environment, everyone helps each other out

    Cons

    the work was repetitive after a while

  3. Helpful (1)

    "Positive experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Web Designer/Developer in Toronto, ON (Canada)
    Former Employee - Web Designer/Developer in Toronto, ON (Canada)
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at CI Financial full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    - Good camaraderie between team members
    - Open and honest communication
    - Challenging projects
    - Collaboration with other business units
    - Good benefits

    Cons

    Not many. The company could introduce more flexibility in terms of work hours and dress code, particularly for non-client facing team members.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work. Team fit and attitude is first and foremost. This is what made my time at the company a positive experience.

    CI Financial Response

    Jul 17, 2017 – HR Coordinator

    Thank you so much for sharing your positive experience! We agree, our employees and the camaraderie they share is what makes CI such a special place to work!


  4. "Overall general"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at CI Financial full-time

    Pros

    Good work culture and people are generally very friendly.

    Cons

    Wages are below industry standards.


  5. Helpful (2)

    "A great place to work with many long-term employees"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at CI Financial full-time

    Pros

    CI is an awesome place to work! Benefits include discounted gym memberships, generous vacation/sick time, lots of employee engagement opportunities, typical benefits like prescriptions, dental, vision etc. They also have personal development perks like a mentor program, and various educational opportunities.

    Almost everyone I've met here has been with CI for 5+ years, (most people 10+ years). For me, that speaks volumes about employee satisfaction.

    Cons

    Very traditional and conservative atmosphere, which is not necessarily a con, and is pretty common in the finance industry. I've heard some people complain about a strict dress code, for example, but personally I enjoy dressing up.

    Advice to Management

    My experiences with management have all been really positive, so I'm not sure I have any advice to give.

    CI Financial Response

    Jun 22, 2017 – HR Coordinator

    Thank you for sharing your positive feedback! We constantly strive for the best employee experience, so we’re excited to hear about your great experience with all of our benefits!


  6. "Great stepping stone to start career in financial services"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Financial Services Representative in Toronto, ON (Canada)
    Former Employee - Financial Services Representative in Toronto, ON (Canada)
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at CI Financial full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Friendly office culture, good training and support for new hires, and office facilities are very nice. Opportunities to move laterally into different departments or job functions.

    Cons

    Limited upward mobility. Investment team likes to hire externally. Job functions can be repetitive.

    Advice to Management

    Break down the barriers between the 15 York and 2 Queen Offices.

    CI Financial Response

    Jun 21, 2017 – HR Coordinator

    Thank you for your thoughtful review! We’re glad you enjoyed your time with the CI team and had a positive onboarding experience. We’re continuously working with our people managers to make career... More


  7. "CI"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Coordinator in Toronto, ON (Canada)
    Current Employee - Senior Coordinator in Toronto, ON (Canada)
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at CI Financial full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Central DT location, nice office, collaborative environment, good benefits

    Cons

    Low pay, difficult to grow within company

    Advice to Management

    More open communication

    CI Financial Response

    Jul 21, 2017 – HR Coordinator

    We cultivate our work environment to reflect a culture of collaboration, so we’re glad to hear your positive comments! We’re constantly working to provide development opportunities for our current... More

  8. "Vice President"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at CI Financial full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Lots of long service employees who are engaged and committed to the organization. Management likes to fill open positions with qualified internal candidates before looking at external hires. Great learning & development culture - Managment Development Training, Mentoring Programs. Innovative Products. Leading Portfolio Managment expertise.

    Cons

    Employees are based in Toronto in 2 main buildings and there are communication challenges and disparity between the two locations. More progress is needed on transperancy of compensation and bonus plans. Executives could be more connected to the employee base.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to invest in innovative products, services, digital, flexible work (flexible minds!)

    CI Financial Response

    Jun 8, 2017 – HR Coordinator

    We’re thrilled to hear about your positive experience with our career development opportunities. Our employees are the core of our business and culture, so we’re very committed to developing for... More


  9. Helpful (1)

    "CI Financial"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    -Good learning opportunities and career development
    -Lots of advancement

    Cons

    -May take time to be where you want to

    CI Financial Response

    Jun 8, 2017 – HR Coordinator

    Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review!


  10. Helpful (1)

    "Analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    Pros

    - People are very friendly
    - Recruitment process was very smooth - I reached out to someone in HR on LinkedIn without knowing them and I got a response
    - Once I started, I felt extremely welcomes by everyone I met
    - Pretty quick turnaround from applying, to interviewing, to hearing back

    Cons

    - company is large, so at first it's difficult to get a grasp of who is who
    - two offices makes it feel a bit disjointed because you hardly interact with people if they are not in the same building

    CI Financial Response

    Jun 8, 2017 – HR Coordinator

    Welcome to the team! We’re so glad to hear you had a smooth transition joining CI. As you may be aware, to improve communication between locations we’re rolling out Office 365 (including Skype... More


Showing 88 of 100 reviews
Reset Filters