CONSOL Energy Reviews

Updated Nov 15, 2019

To filter reviews, or .
3.2
55%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
CONSOL Energy President and CEO Jimmy A. Brock (no image)
Jimmy A. Brock
1 Rating
Pros
  • "Good company to work for good benefits(in 15 reviews)

  • "Good pay, exciting projects, incredible corporate office with a decent workout room (a little bigger than the average hotel gym)(in 11 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great place to work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Coal Miner 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at CONSOL Energy full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great money and benefits plus perks for safety.

    Cons

    The force you to work weekends when you dont sign up to work.

    CONSOL Energy2019-04-25
  2. "Righting the ship at CONSOL"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Director in Canonsburg, PA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at CONSOL Energy full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great people! Great work ethic! I move to better and in tune Executive management.

    Cons

    Tough industry! Cost cutting and accounting focus misses big picture items.

    Continue reading
    CONSOL Energy2019-11-06
  3. "Unclear Direction"

    2.0
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at CONSOL Energy full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    When business is good you have good people to work with

    Cons

    They have an unclear direction and perform massive layoffs every few months. At least on the gas side

    Continue reading
    CONSOL Energy2019-11-15
  4. "Great company and growth opportunity"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director - Land Operations 

    I have been working at CONSOL Energy full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Competitive salary and bonus structure.

    Cons

    Limited upward mobility at the top levels due to concentrated management structure.

    CONSOL Energy2019-06-30
  5. "Just a number"

    2.0
    Former Employee - Coal Miner 

    I worked at CONSOL Energy full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Money was great and benefits were great.

    Cons

    Lay offs. Salary people never lost their money

    Continue reading
    CONSOL Energy2019-07-10
  6. "Good pay / not much time at home"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Section Foreman in Wind Ridge, PA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at CONSOL Energy full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Pay was great, benefits were really good, bonuses were substantial when goal were met

    Cons

    Too much time spent at work, rotating shift work, sometimes hard to get time off as a 24/7 operation means someone has to be there at all times

    Continue reading
    CONSOL Energy2019-03-20
  7. "Compliance Supervisor"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Compliance Supervisor in Claysville, PA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at CONSOL Energy full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great wages, plenty of work, and benefits are decent.

    Cons

    Schedule can be tough at times.

    CONSOL Energy2018-08-21
  8. "CNX machine"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at CONSOL Energy full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Company public relations does a great job at selling and branding company.

    Cons

    Work here if you want to be a cog in a machine

    Continue reading
    CONSOL Energy2018-07-15
  9. "Inspector"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at CONSOL Energy full-time

    Pros

    Everyday is different. You work independently and as a team. Must be motivated.

    Cons

    Looked at as a pain rather than help sometimes.

    CONSOL Energy2018-05-18
  10. "consol"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Pittsburgh, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at CONSOL Energy full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    There was plenty of opportunity to make money. If you wanted to work you were more than welcome to do so.

    Cons

    Consol did no give you very much time off. Six day work weeks were mandatory on a rotating schedule. very tough to get adjusted physically.

    Continue reading
    CONSOL Energy2018-04-04
Found 168 reviews