CSI (Computer Systems Institute) Reviews

Updated Apr 19, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
4.4
81%
Recommend to a Friend
92%
Approve of CEO
CSI (Computer Systems Institute) CEO Julia Lowder
Julia Lowder
45 Ratings
Pros
  • "It is very welcoming work environment(in 9 reviews)

  • "I provide a student-centric teaching approach to enhance international students with their technology skills and job opportunities(in 8 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Low pay for required work and admin items(in 5 reviews)

  • "No organization, unreasonable work schedules, poor management, high turnover(in 5 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Love working at CSI

      Apr 19, 2021 - Adjunct Faculty in Skokie, IL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Management really cares about their staff, they have kept us working during COVID and also are the only employer in the education space that provides benefits to their Adjunct Faculty who are considered PT.

      Cons

      I cannot think of anything - proud to work for CSI

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Camaraderie, Cooperation, International Environment, Service-Oriented

      Oct 19, 2020 - Manager in Boston, MA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      If you are a positive, initiative-taking team-player with flexibility, a good sense of humor, and a strong degree of cultural awareness, you will enjoy working here and we would love to have you, especially if you like to see the difference you are making in an organization and in students’ lives. We have a talented, dedicated and diverse team of faculty and staff in Massachusetts and work together very well here and with colleagues in the schools and office in Illinois. It’s an interesting mix of advising and assisting international students from dozens of countries, coaching faculty, developing curriculum and new initiatives, planning, and administrative work. Every day is different. The company has been conscientiously working hard to improve communication between departments, processes and systems, and staff and student support. I have seen the attitude of collaboration steadily increasing in the year I have been with the company. When COVID hit, the challenge brought the campuses together even more. We managed to train staff and transition successfully to online instruction within a few weeks. Benefits are great and insurance premiums are very reasonable.

      Cons

      Because we are supporting adult students, many of whom study in the evenings or on the weekends, the schedule is not 8 - 5, M - F, which could be a con for some. That said, workdays and schedules are regular.

      1 person found this review helpful
    3. 2.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Do Not Recommend

      Apr 17, 2021 - Adjunct Instructor in Chicago, IL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I can't think of any pros.

      Cons

      Leadership only supports leadership. Low Pay. Overworked.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      CSI (Computer Systems Institute) Response

      Sr. VP of Operations and HR Management

      Thank you for your feedback, I invite you to contact me directly to better understand what is behind your feedback. Annually we do wage and benefit surveys to ensure that we are offering what the market is offering and we are one of the only Higher Ed Institutions that offer Benefits to our Part Time Adjunct Faculty. Please feel free to email me at soswald@csinow.com.

    4. 4.0
      Current Employee

      Great Company to Work For

      Mar 18, 2021 - Teacher in Chicago, IL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      •Friendly corporate culture •Health insurance offered, policy paid with portion of paycheck •Academic freedom to teach with creativity •Awesome opportunity to work with adult international students who are respectful and arrive to class ready to learn

      Cons

      •Average hourly pay •Few opportunities for advancement in the company (unless you have a doctorate) •Heavy workload not commensurate with pay •Curriculum doesn’t always match assessments

      1 person found this review helpful
    5. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Culturally diverse, dynamic educational institution

      Nov 1, 2020 - Academic Dean 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      CSI is truly a global institution with students and faculty from all over the world, with personal and professional backgrounds that are truly remarkable. I feel like I learn something new every day in my interactions with them. The organization is agile and responds quickly to both student needs and market conditions. It was impressive how the entire organization came together in the last 7 months to handle the challenges of COVID-19.

      Cons

      Salaries have improved substantially in the last 6 months for many positions, with others still in need of review.

      1 person found this review helpful
    6. 4.0
      Former Employee

      Overall ok

      Mar 3, 2021 - Program Manager in Boston, MA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      great opportunity to interact with faculty and students

      Cons

      short-staffed, so have to work mutiple roles

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      A Rewarding Place to Work!

      Oct 6, 2020 - Academic Dean in Skokie, IL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      CSI is a very warm, welcoming and supportive place to work. The senior leadership team is very transparent and encouraging while the students are simply amazing. The Academic Team strives to challenge instructors and staff and is always willing to think outside the box. In short, I really look forward to working at this school every day.

      Cons

      There really are no cons because CSI strives to be transparent and work collaboratively with all team members.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    8. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Growth oportunity

      Oct 8, 2020 - Front Desk Manager in Charlestown, MA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Computer Systems Institute has been a place where I've been able to improve my skills with constant learning and growth. With hard work and constancy I went from an entry-level to a managerial position in a short-span of time. New challenges arise all the time and leadership always have new projects on the table that keeps employees motivated and ready for it.

      Cons

      Sometimes, there is miscommunication between departments and leadership that hinders the day-to-day operations.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    9. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Platforms Plus!!

      Oct 6, 2020 - Adjunct Faculty Member in Chicago, IL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I am beginning my 4th year as an instructor at CSI, and I am continuously impressed by this institution's desire to reflect and improve in its educational mission to be a technological and social leader connecting with a diverse population of students. The technology platforms are excellent, using well designed and interactive approaches that are user friendly for students and instructors.

      Cons

      There is always something you can find wrong anywhere, so I would say that more full time employment would be something to consider.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    10. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Friendly place to work with good opportunities for hard workers

      Oct 20, 2020 - International Admissions Manager in Miami, FL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      *Overall a enjoyable place to work *Good opportunities to work with company leaders (This helped me gain valuable perspective on how they understand the business while also giving me great insights for my role) *Good sense of community amongst co-workers with a culture that encourages working together toward common goals *Co-workers are generally supportive, friendly and team-oriented

      Cons

      Intercommunication between departments does not always happen and can lead to inefficiencies

      1 person found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 143 Reviews

    Popular Careers with CSI (Computer Systems Institute) Job Seekers

    International Admissions Representative
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews
    International Admission Representative
    Learn About the Job

    Work at CSI (Computer Systems Institute)? Share Your Experiences

    CSI (Computer Systems Institute) logo
    or