Calero Reviews | Glassdoor

Calero Reviews

Updated Feb 15, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.0
52%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Calero CEO Charles Layne
Charles Layne
1 Rating
Pros
  • "Flexible scheduling and the ability to work from home(in 21 reviews)

  • "Flexible work schedule, blended remote/office work week(in 8 reviews)

Cons
  • "Upper management doesn't really seem to care about their employees(in 10 reviews)

  • "Management sets unrealistic goals that no one can meet(in 6 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Well-positioned company that is focused on growth"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Rochester, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Calero full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    New management team that isn't afraid to make difficult decisions to grow the business. A great product that fills a niche, and sales team that knows exactly how to sell it. Company has already made most of the tough changes, now it's all about building and reinforcing the new processes that were put in place Good energy and fast pace - you don't need to go through a bunch of pointless bureaucracy to get things done.

    Cons

    Not a con, but you will be judged based on your performance, so that can make some people uncomfortable.

    Continue reading
    Calero2019-10-28

    Calero Response

    December 1, 2019HR Director

    Thanks for your review. I'm glad to hear that you feel there are great things happening at Calero! We'd be interested in any feedback you have to help us continue to improve - please contact the HR Department at hr@calero.com to share your ideas!

    Continue reading
  2. "Change is in the air"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Calero full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    It feels like the new management team cares and is willing to listen. We have a lot of work to do and need to continue to support our customers. We are continuing to win more customers.

    Cons

    The office needs more energy. We need more access to make positive changes.

    Continue reading
    Calero2020-02-12
  3. Helpful (4)

    "Overwork and underpaid"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Invoice Specialist II in Rochester, NY
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Calero full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Ability to work from home, paid time off, minimal supervision

    Cons

    overwork and under staff,

    Continue reading
    Calero2019-12-31

    Calero Response

    January 6, 2020HR Director

    Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear you had some concerns about workload and staffing. We would be interested in more specific details from your time here so we can continue to make Calero a great place to work. Please feel free to contact the HR Department at hr@calero.com to discuss in further detail.

    Continue reading
  4. Helpful (4)

    "Cold Hearted"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Calero full-time

    Pros

    Loved the hard working people and work ethic of yesterday, not the culture that was being developed.

    Cons

    Not the same kind of environment of where you enjoyed going to work. They said they wanted a great work environment and strive to be the #1 place to work in Rochester and all actions were directed just the opposite. Took great workers and made them feel like a number and replaceable.

    Continue reading
    Calero2020-02-07
  5. Helpful (5)

    "worst job ever"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Credit Manager in Atlanta, GA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Calero full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I was paid on a regular basis.

    Cons

    horrible corporate culture no support for anything you're totally on your own.

    Continue reading
    Calero2020-01-02

    Calero Response

    January 6, 2020HR Director

    Thank you for your review. It sounds like you had some concerns when you worked at Calero, specifically about culture and leadership. We appreciate that you took the time to share this feedback, and we want to ensure we take your thoughts into account to continue to make positive change. We’d be interested in more specific details about your experience. Please feel free to contact the HR Department at hr@calero.com to discuss in further detail.

    Continue reading
  6. Helpful (14)

    "Unfortunate Disaster"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - N/A 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Calero full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    1. Ability to work from home 2. Decent benefits 3. Good hard working people in the trenches

    Cons

    1. Management asks for feedback and then disregards everything that is said. 2. Employees are not treated well. Management sets unrealistic goals that no one can meet. They set us up for failure. Employees are asked to go above and beyond for the sake of the company but the management refuses to pay up at review time. 3. Upper management has little to no experience in TEM and really don't understand the challenges. 4. Not allowed to share knowledge across Business Units which is ridiculous. The last time I checked we all get paid by the same company. 5. Don't believe in promoting from within and training the folks they already have, is frowned upon. 6. Way to top heavy. It seems like every week we get an email that they have hired yet another executive. 7. Management has no idea how to successfully use well seasoned people. They pigeon whole them just because they are good at what they do but don't promote those people. 8. Management doesn't think strategically and keeps doing the same things over and over again expecting different results. Definition of Insanity. 9. Employees are afraid to be upfront and candid due to retribution by management. Not a comfortable work environment. 10. Quality assurance is not a priority and causes so much rework which cuts into our profits.

    Continue reading
    Calero2019-11-06

    Calero Response

    December 1, 2019HR Director

    Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry to hear that you have some concerns about your experiences at Calero. We are consistently seeking to improve and welcome all feedback. We’d be interested in more specific details so that we can partner with you in making Calero a better place to work. Please feel free to contact the HR department at hr@calero.com to discuss in further detail.

    Continue reading
  7. Helpful (4)

    "I don't know what this means"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Rochester, NY
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Calero full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    This is the five word minimum plus a couple.

    Cons

    Management tends to grab that latest management fad and try to force it on the worker bees.

    Calero2019-10-24

    Calero Response

    December 1, 2019HR Director

    Thank you for the feedback. It sounds like there are some things we could be doing differently to improve your Calero experience. We value both our current and former employees’ feedback, and we would be happy to learn more about how we can improve. Please feel free to contact the HR department at hr@calero.com to discuss in further detail.

    Continue reading
  8. Helpful (3)

    "Comfortable, but seniority /experience and skills are not compensated for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Invoice Specialist in Rochester, NY
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Calero full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Flexible scheduling and the ability to work from home Small company with the ability to get to know who you are working with Breakfasts/lunches often offered in office Some opportunity for growth Ability to self manage - not a lot of micromanagement Decent amount of paid time off - no use it or lose it

    Cons

    Management out of touch with employees/poor communication Little pay for the amount of stress Seniority is not acknowledged or compensated Employees are not guided for growth or encouraged to move up within the company

    Continue reading
    Calero2019-10-22

    Calero Response

    December 1, 2019HR Director

    Thank you for your review. It sounds like you have a number of concerns about leadership, communication, and your total compensation. Please consider reaching out to the HR Department at hr@calero.com to discuss your thoughts in greater detail.

    Continue reading
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Hoping it gets better 2020"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Calero full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    My team is the best group I have ever had the privilege to work with - always willing to go the extra mile and keeping the customer as the top priority.

    Cons

    Non-stop changes to company policy - rarely benefiting the employees. Employees are treated as assets - no sense of community particularly for those in the field.

    Continue reading
    Calero2019-10-22

    Calero Response

    December 1, 2019HR Director

    Thank you for your feedback. We are glad to hear that you really enjoy your team, but are sorry to hear that you have some concerns about company policy changes and employee morale. We are consistently seeking to improve and welcome all feedback. We’d be interested in more specific details about your experience so that we can partner with you in making Calero a better place to work. Please feel free to contact the HR department at hr@calero.com to discuss in further detail.

    Continue reading
  10. "Plenty of opportunity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Training and Development Specialist in Rochester, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Calero full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Lot's of growth opportunity in this high performance environment. You will work with many people all working toward the same goals. We work in a pretty competitive industry and we're making a good name for ourselves in this space.

    Cons

    Internal communication is a challenge, although it is improving

    Continue reading
    Calero2019-10-23

    Calero Response

    December 1, 2019HR Director

    Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are glad to hear that you are enjoying our performance culture and being part of a growing team. It sounds like we still have some work to do on internal communication. We'd welcome the opportunity to talk with you to learn more. Please feel free to contact the HR department at hr@calero.com to discuss in further detail.

    Continue reading

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 103 reviews