CareEvolution Reviews | Glassdoor

CareEvolution Reviews

Updated Nov 26, 2018

To filter reviews, or .

Found 18 reviews

4.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
95%
Recommend to a Friend
  1. "I'm so glad I work here!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at CareEvolution full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Autonomous work environment - I can opt to take more responsibility along with the freedom to take risks; no micromanagement! - Great work opportunities with excellent exposure and learning - Salaries above the market average - CareManagement chooses stunning colleagues; I am constantly impressed with the smart, thoughtful people I work with on a daily basis

    Cons

    - Flat organizational structure and autonomous work culture isn't for everyone - you must be a self-motivated person to succeed

    CareEvolution2018-11-26
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Just Wow"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at CareEvolution full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    4 years in, I'm still amazed at the opportunities I've been given here. Amazing coworkers, meaningful work, excellent pay, and freedom from dysfunctional management.

    Cons

    Long term self management is more challenging than I expected—but it would be hard to go back to a traditional setting. Everyone is exposed to decision making ambiguity that normally only the highest leaders deal with, and that can be stressful. And while we don't have managers or departmental tussles, we do have to deal with customers who can be more tyrannical or recalcitrant in their way than any management.

    CareEvolution2018-09-21
  3. Helpful (2)

    "On all levels, the best company I've ever worked at."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Architect in Ann Arbor, MI
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at CareEvolution full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Brilliant, team oriented and humble co-workers => Check - Fascinating problems to solve, from challenging to impossible => Check - Freedom to chose what to work on, from a wide spectrum of technologies / functions => Check - Great culture of trust, fun, hard and meaningful work => Check - No managers, remote friendly environment, best tools money can buy, hackathons, fun gatherings => Check... - Successful, respected, very solid and expanding company => Check - Best boss ever... Just don't say "boss", he doesn't adhere to the concept => Check I could go on and on...

    Show More

    Cons

    Couldn't find any in the 4 years I've been working there... But you have to make sure you are comfortable working in a remote environment

    CareEvolution2018-09-17
  4. Helpful (1)

    "A Company that treats you like an adult"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at CareEvolution full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    - Work on things that interest you, not what you're told to work on. - Be trusted to make decisions - Working with other smart, motivated people - Focus on product, not profit - Company culture is positive, open, and engaging

    Cons

    - Working remotely can be isolating; despite there being a large percentage of remote employees, it can feel like the home office employees have a large advantage in being "in the know." - Learning curve of the software and product domain can be high. - Lack of an actual HR department can make insurance, retirement, etc sorts of decisions and information confusing (have to be very self sufficient).

    Advice to Management

    - Continue working on getting remote employees involved. - Work hard to maintain the atmosphere as the company grows

    CareEvolution2018-09-17
  5. "High-trust environment with some insanely bright colleagues"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Ann Arbor, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at CareEvolution full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    CareEvolution's management premise is simple: Hire trustworthy people, and then trust them to do what they think is best for the company and its customers. In addition to really smart technologists, CareEvolution also has a lot of people with real-world healthcare experience, from in-the-trenches nursing to VP-level positions. Our discussions are frequently more about healthcare than they are about software—which... is exactly how it should be. We're given an incredible amount of autonomy regarding hours, location, vacations, and the like. People here deeply care about making healthcare better.

    Show More

    Cons

    Remote work can be isolating. While everyone is friendly and open, often times people unintentionally end up keeping to themselves. Unsurprisingly, there is an informal structure of influence: certain people have more sway for any given domain. However, this is probably inevitable—and formal organizations have these informal structures, too (in addition to the official, formal ones). The lack of structure is... daunting. Not having formal feedback loops allows a lot of negative self-talk to seep in. Imposter syndrome thrives here. Without a formal architectural review process, the stack can get a bit fragmented. At times, it can be difficult to know what work is truly most important. The SNR for information can be quite low.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Perhaps try to come up with ways to more consistently provide context about the business and its priorities. Above all, maintain our culture of trust.

    CareEvolution2018-09-17
  6. "Fabulous People"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Software Engineer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at CareEvolution full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    There's an abundance of talented employees. The company is really dedicated to improving healthcare - it's not just lip service. Lots of clinical experience. Employees have a ton of autonomy in determining what to work on, what tools to use, how they work, etc. The company is fully committed to remote work and about half the company is remote.

    Cons

    With a flat hierarchy and no formal feedback, sometimes it's hard to know how you're doing. Almost everyone has imposter syndrome at one point or another. The lack of dedicated support personnel (like HR/IT) can be frustrating at times.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the great culture.

    CareEvolution2018-09-18
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Review as an SWE Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Software Engineer(Internship) in Ann Arbor, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at CareEvolution for less than a year

    Pros

    People - everyone is kind and accommodating and willing to help out! Learned so much in a short amount of time Balance - great work-life balance, felt energized coming into work every day Work - work on interesting technical problems. Also learned a lot about healthcare as a whole

    Cons

    No cons, had a great experience

    CareEvolution2018-05-16
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Great Culture / Remote Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at CareEvolution full-time

    Pros

    Fully remote Great benefits Amazing company culture Choose your own projects

    Cons

    Healthcare industry is exhausting If you're looking to climb a ladder, look elsewhere

    CareEvolution2017-05-17
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Fantastic company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Software Architect 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at CareEvolution for more than a year

    Pros

    Full remote. No management dictating your every move. Choose your own projects and teams. Use whatever technologies you decide on as a team. Hackathons are really fun. You must be self-motivated and self-managing. If you need someone to tell you what to do every day then you probably won't fit in. I consider this a pro but some may consider it a con.

    Cons

    Full remote can definitely lead to a feeling of being disconnected.

    CareEvolution2016-08-31
  10. Helpful (2)

    "A wonderful environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at CareEvolution full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The person in charge of CareEvolution really understands that software development is ultimately a creative endeavor. And like all creative endeavors, it requires enthusiasm and open-mindedness to thrive. Employees are driven to create their own opportunities...find work that challenges and excites them...and to develop a passion for the domain. Commonly, there's a sense that work is something you have to do,... while your personal life is something that you get to do. Essentially, CareEvolution strives to make work something you *get* to do...and not in a creepy overbearing corporate way.

    Show More

    Cons

    Participating in such a company isn't always easy, especially for our many remote employees. It's hard work always being self-directed and it's no small thing to be given control over so many aspects of your role. It's perfectly reasonable to prefer a hierarchically structured organization and working under an experienced manager. But CareEvolution does not offer that.

    Advice to Management

    When there are no managers, everyone's a manager. So this is really for everyone. The company's grown a lot lately. It's easy for a company to lose it's identify...it's always worthwhile to review our notes on company values and identify areas to strengthen.

    CareEvolution2016-07-14
Found 18 reviews