Catalyst Paper Reviews | Glassdoor

Catalyst Paper Reviews

Updated May 26, 2017
29 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-time Part-time

3.6
Star Star Star Star Star
Rating Trends Rating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Catalyst Paper President and CEO Joe Nemeth
Joe Nemeth
12 Ratings

29 Employee Reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date

  1. Featured Review

    "Great Place to work and explore technology with Pefect worklife balance"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Dayton, OH
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Dayton, OH
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Catalyst Paper full-time

    Pros

    Catalyst paper has been providing great opportunities to explore in different areas of technology,numerous learning opportunities, one on one interaction with senior management, great teams, very good work environment which always keeps motivated to come up with the innovative ideas, Perfect work life balance. Definitely privileged to be part of the Catalyst family.

    Cons

    None as of now from the time I joined.

    Advice to Management

    Keep Continuing all the good work and target to become the No. 1 paper company in US and Canada

    Catalyst Paper Response

    Jun 19, 2017 – Director, Talent

    Thanks for taking the time to provide your feedback! Glad to hear all is going well :)


  2. "Operations Management"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Operations Management in Biron, WI
    Current Employee - Operations Management in Biron, WI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Catalyst Paper full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Catalyst is a progressive company that strikes a solid balance between managing the daily operations and exploring new opportunities to ensure the success of our business over the long-term.

    Cons

    The markets Catalyst currently serves are very challenging due to the declining demand for our products. Change is necessary for the business to survive. This has created an environment that is very dynamic. For folks seeking stability in their day-to-day activities, find another option.

    Advice to Management

    You have the opportunity to be part of building a future for your community, spread the word!

    Catalyst Paper Response

    Apr 7, 2016 – Director, Talent

    Thanks for the positive feedback!


  3. Helpful (2)

    "Biron, Wi"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Biron, WI
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Biron, WI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    Pros

    Good pay, good benefits, not really anything else just had to have five words

    Cons

    Most coworkers are good, however the ones that are bad are the worst people I have ever met in my life, good old boys club mentality, management sides with senior employees even when they're in the wrong legally, safety is a joke and only used to punish workers, they aren't concerned about safety when they want something done

    Advice to Management

    Get serious about safety, start actually following employment laws, listen to your employees instead of wasting money to have people come in from some Nordic country to tell you the same exact thing


  4. "Catalyst Opportunities"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Catalyst Paper full-time

    Pros

    Catalyst fully supports employee development and career growth and provides many methods and opportunities to challenge us in our future.

    Cons

    There are many changes and initiates before us which are all very positive steps in the right direction. With this comes very dedicated focus and time to ensure successful implementations.

    Advice to Management

    If you are a strong leader who is open to growth and challenges, you would be a great member for our team.

    Catalyst Paper Response

    Apr 7, 2016 – Director, Talent

    Grateful for the feedback - thank you!


  5. "Good, forward-thinking management"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Catalyst Paper full-time

    Pros

    The management is great and forward thinking. They're on the right track to diversify products and remain relevant. Competitive pay and benefits. Good opportunity for advancement.

    Cons

    Occasionally, there can be conflicting priorities between departments that can slow the growth of progress. But those are usually resolved in a timely fashion.

    Catalyst Paper Response

    Apr 6, 2016 – Director, Talent

    Thanks for the feedback!


  6. "Working at Catalyst Paper"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Catalyst Paper full-time

    Pros

    People at Catalyst are the best i have worked with ever.

    Cons

    Company is going through a lot of changes recently, makes it a little challenging.

    Catalyst Paper Response

    May 31, 2017 – Director, Talent

    Thanks for the feedback!


  7. "My first 90 days"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Executive Assistant in Richmond, BC (Canada)
    Current Employee - Executive Assistant in Richmond, BC (Canada)
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    The people at Catalyst are the best all the way from the CEO to the receptionist they have made my on-boarding experience a great one!

    Cons

    The only con is that there are not many amenities in the area of office for lunch, etc.

    Catalyst Paper Response

    May 31, 2017 – Director, Talent

    Appreciate the feedback, glad to hear things are going well!


  8. "Maybe the worst company to work for"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Catalyst Paper full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    Job with benefits, but looking to take more

    Cons

    They don't treat people well , always looking for a fight . The worst company I have worked with. No respect for workers whether staff or union


  9. Helpful (1)

    "Lots of interesting challenges."

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Maintenance Supervisor in Powell River, BC (Canada)
    Former Employee - Maintenance Supervisor in Powell River, BC (Canada)
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Catalyst Paper (More than 8 years)

    Pros

    Busy place with many challenges and opportunities for improvement. A great place to build your experiences. Has been a great place to work in prior years.

    Cons

    High expectations and minimal resources. Limited advancement. Cost cutting that is not sustainable resulting in poor equipment maintenance practices. Short term thinking characterizes many decisions.

    Advice to Management

    Take steps to cut politics at middle management levels and improve resource allocation around a balanced score driven criteria rather than permitting islanded mentalities amongst stakeholders. Allow star players to develop by mentoring others and reward good track records with advancement and opportunities to develop.

    Catalyst Paper Response

    Oct 24, 2016 – Director, Talent

    Thanks for taking the time to review your experience working at Catalyst, your comments help us to build a better future for our company.


  10. Helpful (1)

    "Catalyst Paper Corp"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    Pros

    The people who work there are great. Everyone is so friendly and helpful. The compensation is generally more than at other companies for the same role.

    Cons

    Since they laid off a lot of people a few years ago, the workloads of the remaining employees has increased and everyone seems overworked. The company moral also seems to be low since the downsizing

    Catalyst Paper Response

    Oct 24, 2016 – Director, Talent

    Thanks for the review... We really do appreciate your comments - and yes, I agree, we have the best people working here!


Showing 29 of 29 reviews
Reset Filters