ChargePoint Reviews | Glassdoor

ChargePoint Reviews

Updated Aug 21, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 59 reviews

4.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
68%
Recommend to a Friend
90%
Approve of CEO
ChargePoint CEO Pasquale Romano
Pasquale Romano
40 Ratings
Pros
  • "(in 6 reviews)

  • "(in 5 reviews)

Cons
  • "Growing pains and lots of hiccups throughout the org that unfortunately cost the overall business(in 3 reviews)

  • "The company is growing very quickly, but such challenges are natural(in 2 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (1)

    "Great company to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Campbell, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at ChargePoint full-time

    Pros

    I have truly enjoyed my experience in ChargePoint. The company fosters a good culture and offers good growth opportunities to its employees. Additionally, the company very transparent with its employees on the status of product and sales etc, supports town hall events and a woman's initiative, and supports various other professional development opportunities for its employees.

    Cons

    Even though it is an established "start up" , the company is spread a little thin, and I find that I do struggle with work life balance at times. Management is aware and there is always a strive to maintain the culture that ChargePoint adheres.

    ChargePoint2019-01-18
  2. "Best job I have ever had"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Product Design Engineer in Campbell, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at ChargePoint full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    unlimited PTO Working on building a sustainable infrastructure Respect for Employee personal life

    Cons

    I honestly don't know of anything...maybe that the office is a little cramped, but that is it.

    Advice to Management

    Keep rocking it!

    ChargePoint2019-08-21
  3. "Excellent Employer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Development Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at ChargePoint full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Exciting company with great products, people, and a promising future

    Cons

    The company is growing very quickly, but such challenges are natural

    ChargePoint2019-08-07
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Great company with outstanding mission and leadership"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Business Development Representative in Campbell, CA

    I worked at ChargePoint full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Solid benefits (free EV charging, snacks and catered events)

    Cons

    Rigid work schedule and few opportunities for promotion

    ChargePoint2019-07-15
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Exciting industry. Zero career growth."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Program Manager in Los Gatos, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at ChargePoint full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Working at ChargePoint provides a rare opportunity to become immersed in the transformation of transportation as the world moves to electric mobility. Employees are passionate about the “cause” and generally fun to work with. ChargePoint quickly becomes your extended family who lift you up in both good times and bad. You will never be bored. The industry is evolving rapidly and since the company is paving the way,... there is a tremendous opportunity to learn.

    Show More

    Cons

    On the other hand, there are minimal opportunities for career or salary growth. Some top performing employees have been at the company for years without a promotion or raise. If you have short term financial goals that require a steady growth in compensation or regular bonuses, then this is not the place for you. Some executives do not know how to leverage their employees talents, provide no guidance on... development, and avoid any discussion about an employee’s desired career path. As a result, a growing number of employees are starting to question if they have a future at ChargePoint and leaving for more lucrative opportunities.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Train, train and continue to train your executive staff about how to develop employees, minimize unconscious bias and give constructive (not critical or personal!) feedback. Be transparent about how you are measuring performance and how you will compensate individuals for their hard work and dedication. Save the culture that made ChargePoint a great place to work before it’s too late.

    ChargePoint2019-07-19
  6. "Its a Great Opportunity!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Campbell, CA
    Recommends
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at ChargePoint full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    People are very helpful. The food is free, Unlimited PTOs. Great place to use your skills and learn more. No problem with work-life balance till now ;)

    Cons

    I do get a feeling that they lack enough number of people. That's why I guess they are now hiring more.

    Advice to Management

    You guys are pretty friendly, please don't change!

    ChargePoint2019-03-16
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Best Company I've Ever Worked For"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at ChargePoint full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Strong, positive culture - Commitment to excellence company-wide - Unwilling to sacrifice quality for a shortcut

    Cons

    - Going through some growing pains currently

    ChargePoint2019-02-13
  8. Helpful (9)

    "Exec Leadership and alignment needed. Very political and employees are not supported."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at ChargePoint full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great industry to be in and you get to wake up and come to work with a chance to make a difference.

    Cons

    The execs need to lead instead of micromanage. This is like an enterprise without enterprise level resources. There is a lot of gossiping going on at work. Some teams have a toxic work environment. The company expects all employees to work nights and weekends and don’t support new dads or moms. There is no work from home option either. Everyone is asked to do things outside of the scope of their roles without... acknowledgement.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Rely on your employees more, don’t delay decisions and leadership PLEASE take some responsibility for your inaction.

    ChargePoint2019-01-25
  9. "Outstanding company, with even better staff"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at ChargePoint full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Dog friendly, Contributing to the greater good of our planet

    Cons

    The company is growing really fast

    ChargePoint2018-12-13
  10. "Market Leader - Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Executive 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at ChargePoint full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great people. Great technology (hardware and cloud services). Well financed (recently raised $240M). Pre-IPO company. Amazing industry - Growing rapidly. Company cares about its people. Based in the heart of Silicon Valley

    Cons

    If you come here, you will work hard. That is not really negative, but it is a reality.

    Advice to Management

    Keep bringing on great people.

    ChargePoint2018-12-12
Found 59 reviews