Checkr Reviews

Updated Apr 30, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
3.7
65%
Recommend to a Friend
64%
Approve of CEO
Checkr CEO Daniel Yanisse
Daniel Yanisse
56 Ratings
Pros
  • "Focus on reform of the way people use background checks(in 10 reviews)

  • "Lots of free food, drinks, perks, etc that you'd expect from a startup(in 7 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "However, there are still some growing pains in terms of teams that need to be restructured or having more training for managers(in 7 reviews)

  • "There appears to be a constant stream of lay-offs - some entirely inexplicable - exceptional people are either being let go or are moving on in droves(in 6 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year
      Featured Review

      Amazing place to work

      Apr 15, 2021 - Client Services Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Treat you like a human being. Have a great product. Pay well. Remote work.

      Cons

      Complex industry. Lot of legal jargon.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful

      Checkr Response

      Thanks for the review and feedback. We used to have a week long on-boarding, but moved to a 2 day program after getting feedback it was too long. We'll keep reviewing and iterating. - Arthur / Recruiting

    2. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Great place to learn and grow

      Mar 29, 2021 - Marketing in Denver, CO
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Everyone very open to new ideas and solutions. If you want to make a difference come on board.

      Cons

      Lots of changes and new directions.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful

      Checkr Response

      Thanks for the review and feedback and look forward to your continued contributions at Checkr! - Arthur / Recruiting

    3. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Strong growth, immense potential, people focused company

      Mar 16, 2021 - Recruitment in San Francisco, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The vast majority of people at Checkr are humble, friendly and down to earth. The Checkr leadership team is no exception. They set achievable company goals and allow the wider business autonomy and trust to execute. Their response to Covid was really impressive (human, transparent, flexible). The benefits are first class. Checkr's customer base is full of impressive household names. There is very little meaningful outside competition and thus strong opportunity for Checkr to continue growing. Hiring plans are aggressive for 2021 and 2022. Luckily the Talent team has a really strong leader and is full of high performers that will continue to keep Checkr's values and diversity goals front of mind. Checkr is on the cusp of something exciting, this is a great time to join.

      Cons

      Nothing new for a rapidly growing startup. The current executive team is the strongest it has been and thus I have full confidence they will continue to unlock Checkr's potential all the way through to IPO.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful

      Checkr Response

      Thanks for taking the time to put in the feedback and the kind words - Arthur / Recruiting and People

    4. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Checkr is such a forward-thinking and innovative company; amazing workplace

      Mar 16, 2021 - Sales Associate in San Francisco, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Skewed my data on here, but Checkr is such a forward-thinking and innovative company, it's hard to compete with. We are all like family, and we all make amazing things happen as we work together. Great hiring across most orgs make this team unique, and they reward their employees handsomely. Always spurring individual growth and promotion, it's also a YC factory. Many, many YC startups spun off of Checkr and we all still keep in touch like brothers and sisters. I actually work cross-team with my wife without conflict, and it all starts with a great organizational foundation we've kept from our inception as a two and four-person startup.

      Cons

      If I had to pick something, I'd say we are all working remotely now, and I can't get to the snacks anymore, which is a bummer. Also, we have to get our own gym memberships, and I miss the Post Montgomery Center's gym. San Francisco has our hearts.

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Checkr Response

      Thanks for taking the time to put in feedback and all of your hard work to make Checkr what it is. - Arthur / Recruiting and People

    5. 3.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Very very mixed

      Jan 31, 2021 - Software Engineer 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Checkr has been empathetic to employees over the past year as we continue working remotely due to covid. It's great that people especially in engineering are mindful of the hard circumstances and are very accommodating. There looks to be some very exciting initiatives and I'm glad that we retained some very key players in engineering to push our engineering capabilities to the next level. Checkr is also invested in your career path and most managers will help you succeed. Some engineers are very passionate and proactive and really challenge each other to raise the bar in the quality of each other's work. Compensation is pretty fair but due to the pandemic - raises have been small and scarce.

      Cons

      I find engineering leadership to not be that transparent even though it is one of Checkr's core values. I also find that they are susceptible to panic when they don't see immediate results. Perhaps this may be caused by impatient C and E staff? Another big issue is some engineering leadership lack the ability to make decisions unless their backs are against the wall. I think this is being too reactive and does not set the right foundation for long term success.

      Continue reading
      6 people found this review helpful

      Checkr Response

      Thank you for your detailed and balanced review. I have shared your feedback with R&D leadership and hopefully that will continue to help us improve. We are back to a regular merit/compensation cycle (post 2020), so you should see that in the coming weeks. With the first implementation of a 3 yr plan in Q4 2020, I do think we're headed in the right direction of proactive vs reactive, but like any big change - it will take time. But the foundation for long term success has now been set, and hopefully we can count on you and other great Checkrs to help us push that towards reality. The business has shown tremendous resiliency in 2020, and 2021 is starting off strong - so looking forward to great things in the coming months! - Arthur / Recruiting

    6. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      The company was fun while it lasted

      Apr 1, 2021 - QA Associate 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - The team got along very well and was able to meet expectations on a daily basis - Team outings, lunches (pre-covid/shutdown) - Free food in the office, Happy Hours, etc (pre-covid) - Compensation is okay, but other benefits are good

      Cons

      - No work/life balance (need to do a minimum # of tickets daily or management will frown upon that) - Proposed projects are usually shot down by management even though they encourage team members to drive projects for OKRs - No clear career development within the team; many people have moved on internally/externally (no career development unless you want to go the management route) - The structure of team promotions can be better (Level 1 -> Level 2 -> Team Lead/Senior -> Manager, etc); Some internal managers are not good at their job than others

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Checkr Response

      Thanks for the review and feedback and for your hard work while at Checkr. I will certainly share your feedback with Ops leadership. Sincerely wish you luck in your next role. - Arthur / Recruiting

    7. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Could be great

      Apr 30, 2021 - Anonymous Employee in San Francisco, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      An industry that is ripe for disruption... lots of eyes on and interest in Checkr.

      Cons

      High turnover in all departments. Hard to get anything done with this amount of turnover.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful

      Checkr Response

      Thanks for the short review. Agree on all fronts - we have a real chance to win in this industry and we're making great progress on that front. But reducing attrition is a big focus for all leadership. The business is thriving and we're doing our best to ensure the organization is supported the right way. Stay patient as I think the best is still ahead of us! - Arthur / Recruiting

    8. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Choppy seas, but sun on the horizon

      Aug 24, 2020 - Manager in San Francisco, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Amazing mission for the company - Industry is ripe for the taking - Revenue has grown despite a littany of hurdles - Care for employees seems to always be considered - Strong commitment to diversity

      Cons

      - Not enough progress on sales/selling - Over exposed to the on-demand segment - Concerns about top line leadership turnover - Morale is low after lay-offs - Needs improvement on inclusion and belonging for POCs

      Continue reading
      4 people found this review helpful

      Checkr Response

      Thanks for the review and feedback, we're certainly doing our best to address these issues. Hopefully we can improve and continue to succeed. - Arthur/Recruiting

    9. 5.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Loved working for Checkr

      Mar 20, 2021 - Customer Success in San Antonio, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      It's a highly collaborative environment cross functionally. The people are friendly and want to help others succeed. The team is high performing, focused on winning and also have a high belief in the mission.

      Cons

      After 5PM meetings for those of us on Central and Eastern time zones.

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Checkr Response

      Thanks for the review and feedback. Completely understand your point on the time difference, and we'll continue to discuss further to see how best to accommodate people going forward. Good luck in your next journey! - Arthur / Recruiting

    10. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Checkr provides a great work environment

      Mar 22, 2021 - Software Engineer in Denver, CO
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The people team is great and provide a lot of great remote events. I really love working with my teammates

      Cons

      There has been turnover in management which has created uncertainty, although this has stabilized recently.

      1 person found this review helpful

      Checkr Response

      Thanks for the review and for your continued work! - Arthur / Recruiting

    Viewing 1 - 10 of 122 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Checkr Job Seekers

    Software Engineer
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews
    Software Engineer(Internship)
    Learn About the Job
    Enterprise Account Executive
    Learn About the Job

    Work at Checkr? Share Your Experiences

    Checkr logo
    or