Clean Harbors Reviews

Updated May 10, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
3.4
58%
Recommend to a Friend
77%
Approve of CEO
Clean Harbors Chairman, President, and CEO Alan S. McKim
Alan S. McKim
559 Ratings
Pros
  • "There are some great people working here(in 52 reviews)

  • "Good money safety is up to par good people to work around and just like working for clean harbors(in 42 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "If it wasn't for the workers upper management wouldn't get the bonuses(in 57 reviews)

  • "Long hours but that is driving truck in any and all weather conditions(in 55 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Ratings by Demographics

    This rating reflects the overall rating of Clean Harbors and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year
      Featured Review

      Proud to be a part of such an esteemed Organisation

      May 3, 2021 - Team Leader in Hyderābād
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I have been working with this esteemed organization for the past 1 and half years and it was a wonderful journey for me with clean harbors GCC Hyderabad. Open and honest communication, Friendly atmosphere within the organization and a lot of opportunities to grow. Recently, I delighted to receive such an honor in the form of chairman’s award which truly shows the transparency. Appreciates the hard work of employees efforts they put in achieving a specific goal in the form of R & R awards with gift cards as a perk. Eventually, It's the best company one could get into and proud to be a part of this valuable organization.

      Cons

      Nothing really to discuss and I am happy to be a part of it.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Clean Harbors Response

      Congratulations on receiving this esteemed award! Goes to show that dedication and hard work does get recognized! Your positive attitude is evident in your review. Thank you for highlighting all the wonderful reasons why Clean Harbors is a leader in our industry.

    2. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Harmonizing all aspects of the collaborative work ethic

      Feb 15, 2021 - Human Resources Business Partner in Gulf, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Instantly visible objectives, responsibilities, allocation of resources, providing platforms and essential engaging elements for nurturing and then maturing the attributes you bring to the table. Excellent collaborative team assistance!

      Cons

      Training objectives are measurable and verifiable. Facility/Project objectives could better align tasks to owners, timeline, target dates, etc., in effort to better identify and assist resources available for more realistic and attainable goals.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Clean Harbors Response

      Clean Harbors Response

      Thank you for sharing. One safety 3-6-5 program reinforces that we all must actively manage safety and continue speak up.

    3. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 10 years

      Complete internal mess

      Apr 29, 2021 - Information Technology in Norwell, MA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great co-workers when starting. Friendship Sandbox environment

      Cons

      Awful management, no training . Company is too big and doesnt take anytime to tell employees of new SOPs for customers. You are expected to micromanage yourself and good luck finding anyone to answers questions for you. You are simply just another body that can easily be replaced at anytime even if you are told you are doing a great job. Massive layoffs once a year. The company values money only and does not care about the health and wellness of any employee. Management has no concept of how long it takes to get tasks done and often pile projects on with unrealistic expectations. Dont expect to get a raise for at least 5 years. There are no annual reviews, you must ask your manager to have a performance review, after that expect to wait anywhere from 6 months to a year for a $1 increase daily. This process literally has to go through 7 people and there is never a guarantee. No spouses/partners allowed at any company party. No bonuses whatsoever and expect all of management to take weeks off around the holiday while you have to be in the office. Unrealistic expectations and if you are fortunate enough to get a company phone, you better believe to be expected to pick that phone up 24/7 anytime it rings and you will unintentionally signup for being on-call for the company. If you are looking to advance your career and make meaningful connections, I would 100% look somewhere else.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Clean Harbors Response

      Thank you for your time with us at Clean Harbors. I am sorry your experience did not have a positive ending. Good luck to you.

    4. 3.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      So much good, so much bad.

      Apr 7, 2021 - Transportation Compliance Coordinator in Norwell, MA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I love the people I work with, the hours are wonderful, the insurance is okay, the work life balance is excellent.

      Cons

      The pay. If I quit tomorrow that company would struggle to operate, yet Im still impoverished. They have consistently added tasks to my workload, to the point of suicidal thoughts, including the work of a former director. All the while they claim not being able to afford raises while constantly renovating our building with absolutely unnecessary additions. I dont need automatic doors at work, I need my medical bills paid.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful

      Clean Harbors Response

      Please reach out to our Employee Assistance Program immediately. Suicide is never the answer.

    5. 4.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Great career for the yes man!

      Mar 23, 2021 - Sales Manager in Portland, OR
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great pay, training and people. What we do matters and I feel very good about our products and services. It’s a very typical, activities driven sales routine with reporting into SF.com Sales leadership is terrible and it is micro manage kingdom. Most of the great leaders in sales have moved up the ranks and the direct managers are basically former sales people who will just tow the line. No real emphasis on cultivating talent or focus on personal growth. It’s a “ What did you do for me today” environment “.

      Cons

      Sales leadership is terrible.. i.e. it’s a cluster cuss. It is most definitely a micro management kingdom. Most of the great leaders in sales have moved up the ranks and the direct managers are basically former sales people who will just tow the line. No real emphasis on cultivating talent or focus on personal growth. It’s a “ What did you do for me today” environment “.

      1 person found this review helpful

      Clean Harbors Response

      Thank you for your feedback. Employee growth and development is essential to our success. This post will be shared as we do value our employees perspective.

    6. 2.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Safety-Kleen

      May 10, 2021 - Sales and Service Representative in Lackawanna, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good pay Good hours Good Training Good coworkers Overtime available

      Cons

      Small facility At times a lack of product Currently short handed

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 4.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      great

      May 2, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      it was fine and I enjoyed it

      Cons

      none, it was a great time

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Clean Harbors Response

      Thank you for your review. We appreciate your brief tenure at CH. Good luck!

    8. 4.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Excellent Opportunity for a New Career Path

      Apr 27, 2021 - Technical Service Specialist in Braintree, MA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Opportunity for Growth, great for entry level

      Cons

      Benefits are subpar, some branches micromanage

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Clean Harbors Response

      Welcome to Clean Harbors and thank you for review. I am thrilled to hear you are having a great start at CH. There are a plethora of developmental opportunities which you can discuss with your manager. Please explore the Connections page on our portal to find a plethora of resources.

    9. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Not the best place to grow

      Feb 25, 2021 - Environmental Technician in Portland, OR
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      -Easy work - if you want to just coast and to routine work, this might be a good place for you

      Cons

      -Easy work - if you want to grow and develop more skills, this is not the best place for you. -Compensation structure - in theory their compensation structure sounds fair and equitable. You can advance in pay after reaching certain training milestones and years with the company. In practice, their are bottlenecks in this system that make getting raises slower than it should be. A coworker of mine didn't get a raise for several years, then got a small raise. -High turnover - in the location I was based out of, there was a lot of turnover. They are often able to get young, fresh college grads to join the team, hoping to do inspiring environmental work. The reality is that it's routine clean up work. I'm not sure many of the young college grads realized this when they sign on. Add this to the compensation structure and you get high turnover. -Mediocre 401k -Bad health insurance

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Clean Harbors Response

      Clean Harbors Response

      We are continually evaluating our compensation programs, comparing market rates and reviewing industry data.

    10. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Long hours

      Apr 22, 2021 - Environmental Chemist in Laurel, MD
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good lower level management, benefits

      Cons

      Hourly wage was not competitive, you have to fight tooth and nail to get a decent wage/raise. Senior management will use the competency based pay progression system to deny raises. Coworkers in the field and lower level management in the office will usually have your back and are truly a team. Good safety culture, high focus on training and safety. Workers have stop-work authority for non-safe working conditions.

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Clean Harbors Response

      Thank you for your post.

    Viewing 1 - 10 of 1,101 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Clean Harbors Job Seekers

    Account Manager
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews
    Outside Sales Representative
    Learn About the Job

    Work at Clean Harbors? Share Your Experiences

    or