Clean Harbors Reviews

Updated May 26, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.4
62%
Recommend to a Friend
73%
Approve of CEO
Clean Harbors Chairman, President, and CEO Alan S. McKim
Alan S. McKim
437 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great people, benefits, safety and employees first(in 41 reviews)

  • "Good people, great working environment(in 34 reviews)

Cons
  • "Upper management out of touch with field workers(in 57 reviews)

  • "Can be long hours when you first start of in field roles(in 54 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review

    "Good leadership"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Program Manager in Columbus, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Clean Harbors full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Opportunity for advancement, good leadership, teamwork.

    Cons

    No stock option as an employee, should have that or better 401K match

    Continue reading
    Clean Harbors2020-04-21

    Clean Harbors Response

    April 22, 2020Clean Harbors Response

    We are always exploring ideas on how to improve. Thank you for sharing these.

  2. Helpful (1)

    "Awesome company"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Pricing Analyst in Norwell, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Clean Harbors full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Everyone i speak to loves the company and cares about what they do. The training is great and interactive. The company does great things for the environment. Managers are like coaches.

    Cons

    There are no cons so far.

    Clean Harbors2020-04-14

    Clean Harbors Response

    April 22, 2020Clean Harbors Response

    So happy to read this! Welcome to the team.

  3. "GOOD JOB"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Lab Pack Chemist in San Diego, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Clean Harbors full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Hard work, never bored, not repetitive, good pay checks, Nice atmosphere.

    Cons

    Long hours, small raises, If you don't like to be dirty not the job for you, Not many other cons, Good place to start.

    Clean Harbors2020-05-21
  4. "Love this company"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Program Manager in Portland, OR
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Clean Harbors full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexibility, coworker support, career progression, stimulating work

    Cons

    The pay could be a little better

    Continue reading
    Clean Harbors2020-05-20

    Clean Harbors Response

    May 21, 2020Clean Harbors Response

    Thank you for sharing. FYI - we are working on the next Employee Engagement Survey as we value our employees feedback and take action.

  5. "So far, a really good company to work for"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Class A Truck Driver in Freeport, TX
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Clean Harbors full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Pay, good people to work with, they care about your safety

    Cons

    Several things that were told to me when I was hired have not come to fruitiont. However, that is not completely the fault of the company. I started just days before the Coronavirus Pandemic hit the economy. It has caused our major plants in the area to cut way back, therefore reducing our calls. Also, as a newer employee, I do seem to be invisible to my in-site management team, but that has not caused any problems.

    Continue reading
    Clean Harbors2020-05-15

    Clean Harbors Response

    May 21, 2020Clean Harbors Response

    Welcome to the team! Good suggestions! FYI - we have rolled out ETP's (Employee Touch Points) where you and your Manager schedule time connect on items like you mentioned. Also, we have an Employee Care Team and an Employee Engagement Website. Please tap into these to resources to learn more. We want your experience working at Clean Harbors to be the best it can be!

  6. "Professional Drivers"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Professional Truck Driver in Cleveland, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Clean Harbors full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    I work for Clean harbors for the family atmosphere. Great pay and benefits, the equipment that I drive and operate. The great customer base and the work. The safety that Clean Harbors stands by!

    Cons

    Maintenance program for the Class trucks and equipment. When you call in for a tire and the clean harbors maintenance person doesn’t want to listen to the driver about a Goodyear dealer that’s 3 miles away. One that’s been used many of times but rather go online to the TA website and have the tire order because they don’t want to talk to them. Also when the TA is 25 miles away and takes 5 hours to come out. You do have a lot of drivers out on the front line that do have a lot of common sense and a lot of great advice to give!

    Continue reading
    Clean Harbors2020-05-12

    Clean Harbors Response

    May 15, 2020Clean Harbors Response

    Thank you for sharing your feedback. Did you know we have a Driver Engagement Team? Please reach out to them via The Connection to learn more and get involved. You will find the link on the Engagement Page. Thanks!

  7. "Learning Opportunities Abound"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Technical Account Manager in Dallas, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Clean Harbors full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Competitive pay scale, opportunity for learning new fields.

    Cons

    Lacks clear/available advancement route for sales. Little formal field training.

    Clean Harbors2020-05-12

    Clean Harbors Response

    May 21, 2020Clean Harbors Response

    Thank you for sharing. Please share this with your Management Team and be a part of the improvements.

  8. "First 8 Weeks"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Vice President Industrial Services 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Clean Harbors full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Safety Focused, Management Support, Continuous Improvement Focus, Utilization of Technology

    Cons

    Department specific on-boarding training can improve: company systems, support groups, workflow, etc...

    Continue reading
    Clean Harbors2020-05-07

    Clean Harbors Response

    May 7, 2020Clean Harbors Response

    Thank you for your post. Welcome to the Team!

  9. "Good"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Field Service Technician in Sparks, NV
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Clean Harbors full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Growth opportunities, transfer options, and decent pay

    Cons

    Ranks are hard to climb. Talent is sometimes overlooked.

    Continue reading
    Clean Harbors2020-05-03

    Clean Harbors Response

    May 4, 2020Clean Harbors Response

    Thank you for sharing this.

  10. "Happy to work here"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Facilities Coordinator 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Clean Harbors full-time

    Pros

    Good people, great working environment

    Cons

    No raises, no bonuses given to the workers. If it wasn't for the workers upper management wouldn't get the bonuses.

    Continue reading
    Clean Harbors2020-05-04

    Clean Harbors Response

    May 7, 2020Clean Harbors Response

    Thank you for sharing....we do have amazing people who work here! Undercover Boss was so special for Mr. McKim and all of us. Wait to you see what our team does next.

Found 883 reviews