Codexis Reviews | Glassdoor

Codexis Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 48 reviews

3.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
41%
Recommend to a Friend
62%
Approve of CEO
Codexis CEO John J. Nicols
John J. Nicols
23 Ratings
  1. "Excellent workplace with interesting science but limited innovation"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Research Associate in Redwood City, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Codexis full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Very friendly and approachable employees. Company morale seems to be quite good. Management is friendly and encouraging. Fairly low stress for lower positions without being pushed into too much overtime.

    Cons

    Fair portion of work in most departments is quite routine, although there is some really exciting research going on. Some challenges with some of the equipment that is aged and in need of replacement.

    Advice to Management

    Keep things moving forward, look towards new innovations in the in house technology to keep up with expanding abilities of competitors in the space of enzyme engineering or biologics.

    Codexis2018-05-08
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Great learning environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Research Assistant in Redwood City, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Codexis full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    Great work life balance, Good learning space

    Cons

    Under paid, limited promotion chances

    Codexis2019-03-11
  3. "Excellent work-life balance and benefits but compensation is not competitive"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Scientist in Redwood City, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Codexis full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Interesting projects, excellent work-life balance, good corporate culture and benefits

    Cons

    Each employee has to take on additional responsibilities due to limited resources, compensation is not competitive relative other biotech companies in the area

    Advice to Management

    More career development opportunities and better compensation will make Codexis a even better place to work

    Codexis2018-02-08
  4. "Good company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Codexis full-time

    Pros

    Great work life balance. Company appreciates and provides growth opportunities for employees

    Cons

    Small company's pain- feels like there is never enough time or resources (busy but not overwhelmed)

    Advice to Management

    Continue to maintain the atmosphere of open communication

    Codexis2017-09-15
  5. "Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Codexis

    Pros

    Work-life balance, amazing technology, interesting projects.

    Cons

    Too bad they had to downsize after losing funding from Shell.

    Codexis2016-10-11
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Good culture, bad outlook"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Research Associate in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Codexis full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    The community was supportive and encouraged learning and personal growth. The work was addressing interesting projects.

    Cons

    The company culture has changed a lot since the company has started to struggle. People are generally demoralized. There is perpetual fear of future layoffs.

    Advice to Management

    Securing successful projects is the only thing that will make the company better. Employees need the security of knowing that their company and their job will be there in six months.

    Codexis2015-08-12
  7. Helpful (1)

    "The Little Company the could but didn't but maybe still could"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Bioprocess Technologist in Redwood City, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Codexis full-time for more than 6 years

    Pros

    i liked working here. Great and Talent people. Everyone I encountered with was nice and always pleasant to work with. At the time we had some nice perks with catered lunch and the local deli. Before i left they changed deli catering companies and it was downhill from there. Overall I enjoyed my 5+yrs working there.

    Cons

    Some higher ups at the time didn't know what they were doing. Misdirection on projects and schedules occurred frequently. Nothing we couldn't handle but too much of that scared the company. When the guy that created the company steps down and leaves to another company that's when I knew the company will longer be the same. A HUGE company wide layoff happened which I was apart of. Not sure how they're doing now at days...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Keep it Simple and know the process and equipment that gets used to create the product. It's one thing to be good on the book smarts of the science that we're doing but please get hands on in the lab. Creativity spills in the lab.

    Codexis2015-07-11
  8. "Scientist II"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Staff Scientist II in Redwood City, CA
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at Codexis

      Pros

      Great Colleagues. Good science, Great benefits

      Cons

      Long term strategy was missing

      Advice to Management

      Keep employee satisfaction in mind and also egt rid of nepotism and favoritism

      Codexis2015-06-10
    • "Innovation is limited if you are a non-bioinformatics scientist"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - California in Redwood City, CA
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook

      I have been working at Codexis full-time

      Pros

      Good life-work balance. People are generally nice and easy to work with

      Cons

      "promotes" doing more than innovative science.

      Advice to Management

      Saving money keeps the company afloat but innovation can grow the business.

      Codexis2015-03-15
    • "Opportunity after the rebuild?"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Scientist in Redwood City, CA
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Codexis full-time for more than 6 years

      Pros

      The people were generally great. Codexis once had a turnover rate substantially under the mean. Health benefits and time off were very good. Hopefully Codexis has now shed the complications associated with the biofuels business and is focussing on its original strengths

      Cons

      Growth pains meant extra layers of management, additional sites, two of which were international. There was also a dangerous reliance on enzyme evolution to solve all problems. It works well for some problems, but isn't a magic bullet. Limited personal growth opportunities

      Advice to Management

      good luck guys

      Codexis2014-08-27
    Found 48 reviews