Codexis Reviews

Updated Jan 3, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
2.9
39%
Recommend to a Friend
65%
Approve of CEO
Codexis President & CEO John J. Nicols
John J. Nicols
24 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Upper management lack of recognition of lower level employee contributions(in 5 reviews)

  • "Any position below scientist is purely low paid labor with little to no career development prospects(in 3 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Excellent workplace with interesting science but limited innovation"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Research Associate in Redwood City, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Codexis full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Very friendly and approachable employees. Company morale seems to be quite good. Management is friendly and encouraging. Fairly low stress for lower positions without being pushed into too much overtime.

    Cons

    Fair portion of work in most departments is quite routine, although there is some really exciting research going on. Some challenges with some of the equipment that is aged and in need of replacement.

    Continue reading
    Codexis2018-05-08
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Great job if you're applying for grad school."

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Research Associate in Redwood City, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Codexis full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Nice commuter benefits. Good Healthcare benefits. Full 401K matching if you can afford to contribute to it.

    Cons

    Any position below scientist is purely low paid labor with little to no career development prospects. The company does not seem to care about their employees professional development. If you are looking for a place to garnish your resume with experience this is a good fit but don't expect a livable salary in the meantime. Passive aggressive management and aggressive aggressive management leads to massive turnover rates.

    Continue reading
    Codexis2020-01-03
  3. "Great People - Rapid Growth"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Scientist 

    I worked at Codexis full-time

    Pros

    Free parking and coffee, nice co-workers,

    Cons

    Rapidly growing company and some processes not in place yet

    Codexis2019-10-16
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Great learning environment"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Research Assistant in Redwood City, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Codexis full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great work life balance, Good learning space

    Cons

    Under paid, limited promotion chances

    Codexis2019-03-11
  5. "Excellent work-life balance and benefits but compensation is not competitive"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Scientist in Redwood City, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Codexis full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Interesting projects, excellent work-life balance, good corporate culture and benefits

    Cons

    Each employee has to take on additional responsibilities due to limited resources, compensation is not competitive relative other biotech companies in the area

    Continue reading
    Codexis2018-02-08
  6. "Good company to work for"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Codexis full-time

    Pros

    Great work life balance. Company appreciates and provides growth opportunities for employees

    Cons

    Small company's pain- feels like there is never enough time or resources (busy but not overwhelmed)

    Continue reading
    Codexis2017-09-15
  7. "Engineer"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Codexis

    Pros

    Work-life balance, amazing technology, interesting projects.

    Cons

    Too bad they had to downsize after losing funding from Shell.

    Codexis2016-10-11
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Good culture, bad outlook"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Research Associate in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Codexis full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The community was supportive and encouraged learning and personal growth. The work was addressing interesting projects.

    Cons

    The company culture has changed a lot since the company has started to struggle. People are generally demoralized. There is perpetual fear of future layoffs.

    Continue reading
    Codexis2015-08-12
  9. Helpful (1)

    "The Little Company the could but didn't but maybe still could"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Bioprocess Technologist in Redwood City, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Codexis full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    i liked working here. Great and Talent people. Everyone I encountered with was nice and always pleasant to work with. At the time we had some nice perks with catered lunch and the local deli. Before i left they changed deli catering companies and it was downhill from there. Overall I enjoyed my 5+yrs working there.

    Cons

    Some higher ups at the time didn't know what they were doing. Misdirection on projects and schedules occurred frequently. Nothing we couldn't handle but too much of that scared the company. When the guy that created the company steps down and leaves to another company that's when I knew the company will longer be the same. A HUGE company wide layoff happened which I was apart of. Not sure how they're doing now at days but I definitely would not go back.

    Continue reading
    Codexis2015-07-11
  10. "Scientist II"

    3.0
    Staff Scientist II in Redwood City, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Codexis

    Pros

    Great Colleagues. Good science, Great benefits

    Cons

    Long term strategy was missing

    Continue reading
    Codexis2015-06-10
Found 50 reviews