Commvault Reviews

Updated May 25, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.3
63%
Recommend to a Friend
69%
Approve of CEO
Commvault CEO and President  Sanjay Mirchandani
Sanjay Mirchandani
43 Ratings
Pros
  • "The work life balance is great and management is very supportive of your career path choices and works with you to make sure you can achieve your goals(in 43 reviews)

  • "Great product and people while I was there(in 41 reviews)

Cons
  • "Office politics, senior management, structure(in 25 reviews)

  • "Not a lot of work life balance in finance as we are held to very long hours with quarter ends(in 21 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (1)

    "Great product and work life balance"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Engineer 

    I worked at Commvault full-time

    Pros

    Awesome work life balance. Extensive product with lots to work on.

    Cons

    Leadership was a little lacking in vision previously. This has improved due to the recent changes in management.

    Commvault2019-10-12

    Commvault Response

    January 16, 2020Employee Experience Team

    Thank you for calling out work-life balance – or as I think of it: work-family life integration - that is very important to us. We know that we ask a lot from every Vaulter but we also believe we will only be successful if we create an environment where family and work feed off versus compete against each other. Be it through our unlimited vacation policy, family first principle, scholarship programs, premium-free healthcare or events such as our hallmark Bring Your Kids to Work Day, Halloween and Holiday party or family picnic that allow us to bring family and work together. We are all one team at Commvault marching on the same path. If you have any other feedback feel free to reach out. – Jesper Helt – CHRO

  2. Helpful (1)

    "Greatest tech company in the state"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Automation Engineer in Tinton Falls, NJ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Commvault full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Flexible work from home and great culture

    Cons

    Office politics, senior management, structure

    Commvault2020-04-27
  3. Helpful (7)

    "Activists killed a once great company"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Newark, NJ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Commvault full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    None -anymore - losing market share every quarter, lost 1.6 billion in market value in 12 months.

    Cons

    New executive teams have no clue how to continue to build on the 20 years of success cvlt had. Egos eliminated the talent and experience on how this business was built. Well how's the NEW Commvault... stale and losing ground to competition sad to see.

    Continue reading
    Commvault2020-05-14

    Commvault Response

    May 14, 2020Employee Experience Team

    Sorry to hear that you feel that way. Not only do we continue to lead the industry, receiving numerous accolades for our heritage of innovation, but we made critical improvements over the past year to get the company back to growth. This includes investing in organic and inorganic innovation to move us into new markets and seize new opportunities. It takes time, but we’re confident we’re on the right path. That said, please feel free to discuss your concerns with your manager or HR business partner. – Brian Carolan – Chief Financial Officer

  4. "Best place to work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Development Engineer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Commvault full-time

    Pros

    have a good work-life balance. There are lot of celebrations and activities conducted.

    Cons

    It depends on how much you want to learn. The more enthusiastic you are, the more oppurtunities come to your plate.

    Commvault2020-03-22

    Commvault Response

    March 27, 2020Employee Experience Team

    Thank you so very much for your feedback! This is exactly some of the reasons I choose to call Commvault home. We’ve always prided ourselves on making Commvault more than a place to work – it’s about fostering a culture, community, and experience. To accomplish we always strive to offer the development, learnings, and opportunities for our Vaulters to thrive. If you have any other feedback feel free to reach out to me directly. – Martha Delehanty – Chief People Officer

  5. "leader in backup software"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Subject Matter Expert in Tinton Falls, NJ
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Commvault full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    leader in their space, large happy customers, well situated strategically

    Cons

    hard to change tires while staying in the race

    Continue reading
    Commvault2020-02-24
  6. Helpful (5)

    "Worst HR ever"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Commvault

    Pros

    Unfortunately there is No pros

    Cons

    I experienced Very bad HR team

    Continue reading
    Commvault2020-03-19
  7. Helpful (3)

    "SW sales at a legacy company"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Enterprise Account Executive 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Commvault full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Strong legacy brand recognition - the sw works

    Cons

    no real direction as they trying to re-invent themselves

    Continue reading
    Commvault2020-02-10

    Commvault Response

    March 4, 2020Employee Experience Team

    Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. Although we’ve been transforming our business for the future, we’ve never taken our eye off our industry-leading technology and our exciting innovation roadmap. That’s why our customers keep coming back, and why prospects will take a closer look at us. If you would like to discuss this further please feel free to reach out to me directly. Riccardo Di Blasio – Chief Revenue Officer

  8. Helpful (3)

    "You can do much better"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Director - Marketing 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Commvault full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Easy culture - Lots of people get by

    Cons

    Lots and lots of people from the past days have cushy management roles and are not going anywhere. If you have another option, take it.

    Continue reading
    Commvault2020-03-05
  9. Helpful (3)

    "Too Much Change Killed a Great Culture"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Director in Tinton Falls, NJ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Commvault full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Incredible technology and Customer Support

    Cons

    Excessive turnover, turmoil, growing unwillingness to work together out of fear of losing jobs.

    Continue reading
    Commvault2020-01-29

    Commvault Response

    March 6, 2020Employee Experience Team

    Thanks for taking the time to leave your feedback. I appreciate your perspective - I’ve been here for 14 years myself and know change is a challenge. That said, we do need to continuously evolve to led the market and create more value for our customers and opportunity for our people. Our strategy is solid and the team has come out of the transition ready to seize the opportunity and help our customers on their evolving journey. If you want to discuss anything specific or in more detail please feel free to reach out to me directly keen to understand and learn from your experience. Eugene Trautwein - WW, VP of Customer Support

  10. Helpful (2)

    "New Management are saying the right things Products and Dev still struggling"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Product Management 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Commvault full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Core product and existing customer base is very strong New Management seem to have recognized and are fixing many of the issues

    Cons

    New Management seem to have a blind spot with Products and Dev. It has done well sustaining the core product, but has been a perpetual failure forand new ideas

    Continue reading
    Commvault2020-01-06

    Commvault Response

    March 4, 2020Employee Experience Team

    Thank you for taking the time to share your insight. As an innovative software company, we encourage everyone to bring innovative ideas to the table. If you feel like you haven’t been heard, reach out to me. Ranga Rajagopalan – VP of Products

Found 522 reviews