Corwin Reviews | Glassdoor

Corwin Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 16 reviews

2.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
25%
Recommend to a Friend
0%
Approve of CEO
Michael Soules
1 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Current employee"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Current Employee in Thousand Oaks, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Corwin full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Incredible culture, fast paced environment, people who care. It's only getting better. After nearly a decade with Corwin I can't say enough about the opportunities my colleagues and I have been given. Benefits are off the charts.

    Cons

    Need to move more into online and open educational resources.

    Advice to Management

    Would like a little more work life balance. Appreciate your openness to feedback- and suggest spending time listening to the team as the company grows.

    Corwin2017-10-18
  2. Helpful (3)

    "Poor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Thousand Oaks, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Corwin full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    None that I’m aware of.

    Cons

    *Look at the product *Read the other reviews

    Advice to Management

    The bad reviews are accurate and well-earned.

    Corwin2018-11-04
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Don't believe all the bad press"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Corwin full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Let it be said that Mike Soules is an amazing leader. Only issue is growing pains.

    Cons

    Still need to figure out work/life balance, and Yes, favoritism is an issue.

    Advice to Management

    Create a culture where personnel where employees are unafraid to speak out on unpopular topics. Listen and act upon them.

    Corwin2017-12-21
  4. Helpful (6)

    "Terrible Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I have been working at Corwin full-time

    Pros

    Dental and medical benefits are great

    Cons

    No trust in management Management more focused on office relationships than work load Over worked and under paid No career plans for employee to move up in the company

    Corwin2017-10-04
  5. Helpful (8)

    "bad management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Corwin full-time

    Pros

    good benefits, free friday lunch

    Cons

    Executives don’t know what’s going on within the company. They are isolated and out of touch. Management rewards employees who tell them what they want to hear. Employees with independent thought are punished. Too many useless planning meetings and committees that go nowhere. Management pretend to listen to employees. They just do what they want to do. They promote who they want to promote. Employees are quitting every...

    Show More
    Corwin2017-09-20
  6. Helpful (9)

    "Not Satisfied"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Corwin full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The health benefits are good. Vision coverage is okay.

    Cons

    The work feels boring, tedious and unfulfilling. I find the work environment stressful and dramatic. Promotions seem to mostly go to the upper levels of management. Pay is below industry standards. Overall, I've been disappointed with my experience at Corwin.

    Advice to Management

    I reccomend reading (or re-reading) the 7 Habits of Highly Effective People, particularly the section on "emotional bank accounts." Things like layoffs, unfulfilled promises, favortism, and deaf ears to employees' problems and ideas, in my opinion, rob employees' emotional bank accounts and make it hard for us to buy into your grand visions.

    Corwin2017-07-07
  7. Helpful (5)

    "Sales"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Corwin full-time

    Pros

    Fun place to work if you're liked by the management

    Cons

    They treat you like a dog. You'll never be as good as their managers

    Advice to Management

    Don't forget where you come from

    Corwin2017-06-14
  8. Helpful (8)

    "Professional Development for the Elite"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Editorial Assistant in Thousand Oaks, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Corwin full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -Gain a lot of valuable experience in Editorial -Free lunch once a week -Amazing benefits

    Cons

    -Not much opportunity for growth from the bottom -Strong focus on promoting executives -The office is drab -Low pay for a TON of work -A lot of talk about professional development and supporting growth, but minimal action to back that up -SO MUCH FAVORITISM

    Advice to Management

    Stop promoting executives regularly so people lower on the totem poll can also have opportunities for promotion or raises "in the budget."

    Corwin2017-06-07
  9. Helpful (5)

    "Needs improvement and better growth strategy"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Editorial in Thousand Oaks, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Corwin

    Pros

    Great benefits and a part of the Sage family.

    Cons

    Under performing and not hitting sales targets, but still trying the same old. Looking for fast growth instead of solid well planned out solid publications. Behind the times in digital publishing

    Corwin2016-10-27
  10. Helpful (4)

    "good product - poor management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Associate Editor in Thousand Oaks, CA

      I worked at Corwin full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Corwin does have a commitment to producing quality materials and the benefits are good.

      Cons

      The management team (specifically the President of the company) provide no real leadership and direction for the staff. At times it felt like we were riding an rudderless ship. Also, most of the senior management have no actual teaching experience or haven't worked in any aspect of school administration. I think having actual experience as an educator would help management to connect better w/ their audience.

      Advice to Management

      Stronger leadership to help employees grow and provide some direction. Corwin is still a small fish in a large pond and it seems like mgt, has no desire to see it grow into anything bigger.

      Corwin2015-12-07
    Found 16 reviews