KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

Critical Software

Engaged Employer

Critical Software

Add a Review

Critical Software Reviews

Updated Jul 1, 2022

To filter reviews, or .

Found 189 of over 236 reviews

4.2
96%
Recommend to a Friend
91%
Approve of CEO
Critical Software CEO João Carreira
João Carreira
64 Ratings

The latest conversations about Tech

Join the conversation on

Tech

1y

a 

Technical Account Manager

Being a woman in tech, I only recently started advocating for myself at work about advancement opportunities. Because of this I wanted to ask this question to my male counterparts. When you have 1:1's with your direct reports and talk about career growth / aspirations what is your managers’ response typically? I’d like to gauge how my experience (negative) differs from others. For instance are you met with blockades, enthusiasm, dread, etc?

403

60 Comments

Join the conversation on

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 10 years

    A company for life

    Dec 24, 2021 - Senior Engineer 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great environment, projects that make a difference to the world (no call centre crappy software being developed here): trains, planes, aerospace, space, banking, smart meters, etc.. Parts of Exomars SW were made here. Same for Solar Orbiter and 20+ space missions. This is about changing the world, for the better, while staying in Portugal (or UK, or Germany, or anywhere that suits you - remote is the new norm). Human resources are valued. Several process improvement initiatives are NOT related to the core technical standards and/or technologies but to People and sustainability (Investors in People, B-Corps). One of the few CMMI-L5 companies in the world (~1000), which rates the capability maturity level of the organization.

    Cons

    Got to know what is involved in working for safety-critical projects and domains. Not a company developing pretty much simple web software. Coding is only one of the many tasks to be performed before release. If you don't care about quality (doing things right, processes and doing the right thing and your business is the salary at the end of the month), go somewhere else.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Critical Software Response

    Thank you so much for sharing your thoughts with us. We work across a range of the most demanding industries, all with the goal of making the world a safer and better place. We're always ready to face the toughest of challenges, but it's important that we can enjoy the experience at the same time!

  2. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Best culture ever

    Jul 1, 2022 - Junior Software Engineer in Coimbra, Coimbra
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Perks at the offices, benefits to every employee. Every member of the company os treated like a real person.

    Cons

    Until now i didn't have anything bad to say.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    It's the best company to start your career

    Jun 14, 2022 - Software Engineer in Coimbra, Coimbra
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - They care about your well-being and mental health - In general people are very kind - Take part in complex projects where you can participate in the full cycle of software development - Learn and apply good practices of software development

    Cons

    - Not not full remote - Salary is bellow average for software development

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  4. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Great!

    May 27, 2022 - Software Engineer in Lisbon, Lisbon
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Interesting projects, broad software engineering options, culture and benefits.

    Cons

    Salary could be more, but Portugal is the real problem

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Good company to learn

    Jun 8, 2022 - Data Scientist in Coimbra, Coimbra
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Excellent work-life balance Environment is really good Good company to learn

    Cons

    Pay is low The benefits are poor

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 10 years

    Excellent opportunities and big challenges!

    May 22, 2022 - Senior Manager in Coimbra, Coimbra
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Strong Culture Team work and peer relations Maturity of processes and tools Leadership Career opportunities Training

    Cons

    Workload Work and life balance sometimes affected

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  7. 3.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Relaxed setting but bad salary

    May 26, 2022 - Software Engineer in Lisbon, Lisbon
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Company culture leads to a relaxed environment where everyone has freedom to work at their pace without too much pressure and control from management.

    Cons

    Salary is really bad. Long period without a project. Performance evaluations, raises and positions do not reflect effort or proefficiency. Note: this may be my biased vision because it happened during the first year working remotely.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  8. 2.0
    Current Employee

    Good company to start, leave after 3 ou 4 years

    May 20, 2022 - Junior Software Engineer 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great workplace environment, good offices, remote work allowed

    Cons

    Really low salary; not being rewarded by effort done; no certified trainings and no investment in people; biased towards some people who get promoted instead of the ones that do the work

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  9. 4.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Great work place

    May 11, 2022 - Junior Software Engineer in Southampton, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Very friendly work colleges and environment.

    Cons

    Learning feels restricted at present.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  10. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    CSW Review

    Apr 21, 2022 - Software Engineer 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    They invest in people Great people and environment Learn a lot

    Cons

    Salary could be way better

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Critical Software Response

    We're delighted to know that you're pleased with the working environment and culture we offer at Critical. We definitely believe that it is something to shout about! As for salaries, we take the remuneration of our Critical family members seriously and always keep them under frequent review.

Viewing 1 - 10 of 189 Reviews

Critical Software Reviews FAQs

Critical Software has an overall rating of 4.2 out of 5, based on over 236 reviews left anonymously by employees. 96% of employees would recommend working at Critical Software to a friend and 85% have a positive outlook for the business. This rating has decreased by -3% over the last 12 months.

According to anonymously submitted Glassdoor reviews, Critical Software employees rate their compensation and benefits as 3.6 out of 5. Find out more about salaries and benefits at Critical Software. This rating has decreased by -4% over the last 12 months.

96% of Critical Software employees would recommend working there to a friend based on Glassdoor reviews. Employees also rated Critical Software 4.3 out of 5 for work life balance, 4.5 for culture and values and 3.9 for career opportunities.

According to reviews on Glassdoor, employees commonly mention the pros of working at Critical Software to be management, career development, culture and the cons to be benefits, compensation.

Popular Careers with Critical Software Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Critical Software? Share Your Experiences

or

Critical Software Photos

+ Add Photo
Critical Software photo of: Critical Software 18 Years.
Critical Software photo of: Official opening of our new Porto office.
Critical Software photo of: CEO of Critical Software, Gonçalo Quadros opening our new Porto office.
Critical Software photo of: A meeting at our Southampton office.
Critical Software photo of: Our 18th birthday.
Critical Software photo of: Our 18th birthday.
Critical Software photo of: Our 18th birthday.
See All Photos