EOG Reviews | Glassdoor

EOG Reviews

Updated Aug 13, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 126 reviews

3.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
55%
Recommend to a Friend
88%
Approve of CEO
EOG CEO William R. Thomas
William R. Thomas
47 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great company, great people, huge potential for professional development(in 12 reviews)

  • "great company to work for, great benefits(in 11 reviews)

Cons
  • "Ups and downs inherent to the oil and gas market(in 4 reviews)

  • "not full time permanent, not temporary, not anything(in 4 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Solid Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Div Support 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at EOG full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great work-life Balance. Stability. Good pay and great benefits.

    Cons

    Not a lot of room for advancement without relocating.

    EOG2019-08-13
  2. "Freedom to contribute"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Software Engineer 

    I have been working at EOG full-time

    Pros

    Entrepreneurial in spirit, you are not micromanaged and are free to contribute as you see fit.

    Cons

    Expensive to park in downtown houston

    EOG2019-08-07
  3. "Everything I could have hoped for in a tech job fresh out of school"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Data Scientist II in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at EOG full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    On the data science team, there's incredible freedom/flexibility/creativity/support for working on whatever you want, and learning/applying whatever technical skills you want. Honesty and meritocracy rule, and my team is like my family.

    Cons

    Our onboarding process could be stronger.

    Advice to Management

    Great job and keep it up. Our management embodies our culture and values 100%.

    EOG2019-07-25
  4. "Great place to learn about oil and gas"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Pipeline Technician 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at EOG full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    they are very well established

    Cons

    They loose a lot of good workers because they do not roll enough people over to company. Know people that have been working contract 7-8 yrs and are still contract

    EOG2019-07-17
  5. "Great place to work if you don't work at HQ in Houston"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Systems Administrator in Fort Worth, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at EOG full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    99.5% awesome people, very laid back, flexible time, compressed work week, stock, bonuses, yearly raises, business casual dress attire, matching 401k, paid holidays and plenty of vacation/sick time.

    Cons

    No cons if you have the right manager. Worst place to work if you're put under a manager who can hardly read and write at a 1st grade level, micromanages everything and doesn't know his job responsibilities or how to do their job, let alone yours.

    Advice to Management

    Don't promote people to mgmt just based off years of service, brown nosing or because they're your buddy. Don't lie to people or hide information about the state of the business.

    EOG2019-06-17
  6. "automation technician"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at EOG full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    great company to work for, great benefits

    Cons

    long drives to different work locaiton

    EOG2019-06-16
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Not what EOG used to be"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Denver, CO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at EOG full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Benefits are fantastic and there's a lot of work life balance

    Cons

    Becoming a toxic environment. Unless you're from Texas, good luck getting anywhere. They are forcing everyone out and bringing in the Houston squad. They are clueless about how the Rockies operates. Federal minerals? What are those??

    EOG2019-06-20
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Sr. Accountant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Accountant 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at EOG full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Fantastic management. They really care about their employees. The benefits are the best I have ever seen. They do a good job of making their employees feel appreciated. The flexible schedules are also a major plus.

    Cons

    This is a really great place to work.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what your doing.

    EOG2019-05-10
  9. "Safety consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Safety Specialist in Roswell, NM
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at EOG full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Some people are great but that’s few and far between...

    Cons

    Management is horrible, at least in southern New Mexico. They can’t ever decide what rules to enforce and the standards only apply for for the bottom ranks of the company. Safety is only a priority if it means keeping investors happy and law suits a bay.

    Advice to Management

    Think about your workers and contact employees. Don’t take short cuts on people’s lives or wellbeing.

    EOG2019-06-18
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Denver Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Engineer in Denver, CO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at EOG full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    -Salary, annual bonus & vacation time

    Cons

    Extreme micromanagement and very weak leadership. Managers in Denver are only capable of receiving and executing orders from the VP and consistently fail to provide thoughts and ideas of their own.

    Advice to Management

    Look beyond the “fast talkers” and individuals that over-sell themselves for management. This will be difficult for them since Houston only wants spineless individuals for management that can only say “yes sir”!

    EOG2019-05-08
Found 126 reviews