Element K Reviews | Glassdoor

Element K Reviews

Updated Nov 2, 2017

To filter reviews, or .

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
67%
Recommend to a Friend
0%
Approve of CEO
Element K CEO Chuck Moran (no image)
Chuck Moran
1 Ratings
  1. "Element K rocks"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Element K

    Pros

    Best company I ever worked for.

    Cons

    Wished it still existed today.

    Element K2017-11-02
  2. "Submitted notice hours before Skillsoft takeover announcement"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Systems Administrator in Rochester, NY
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Element K full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    - Good coworkers - Encouraged, or at least facilitated career progression including lateral moves - Decent location - Nice company events and parties

    Cons

    - Mediocre products (outdated due to lack of investment) - Mismanagement (e.g. differentiating factors lost most) - Drab office (not terrible, but nothing special) - Outdated equipment - Horrible HR personnel

    Element K2015-05-09
  3. "Element K was the best work-family I've ever known."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Element K full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    The people that I worked with at Element K are incredibly fun, honest, hardworking geniuses. People were creative, working together to offer the best in class online training options to corporate clients. I learned more from the people at Element K that I could have learned in 20 years of collage. The corporate and personal values were unparalleled.

    Cons

    Element K was located in Rochester, NY where the is never enough good weather. In good times, employees were hired at high wages, and longer term employees that were hired at lower salaries often were not compensated equally to new hires.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to listen to the employees who make things happen. Value those that work hard and support them in their efforts to do things well for long term goals. Identify those who always try to find the easy way out and limit their influence/power.

    Element K2013-10-05
  4. "A casual and relaxing place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Rochester, NY
    Recommends
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Element K full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    No dress code and casual atmosphere. Great people.

    Cons

    Production likely suffered from the laid back culture

    Advice to Management

    Don't sell the company....never mind

    Element K2013-06-07
  5. "Great people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Instructional Designer in Rochester, NY
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Element K full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Smart, hardworking, loyal employees Flexibility Great friendships Good tools and processes

    Cons

    Low salary Changing management Growth/advancement was slow

    Element K2013-02-11
  6. "Fantastic Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Rochester, NY
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Element K

    Pros

    Work/Life Balance Dynamic Company Many of Different Types of Projects

    Cons

    Can be some long hours (working weekends, etc.)

    Advice to Management

    You guys were great. Keep your heads up.

    Element K2012-03-07
  7. "Great company, great culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    District Manager in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Element K

    Pros

    Freedom, ability to learn, competitive salaries

    Cons

    Small company, needs product investment

    Element K2012-02-12
  8. "A positive place to grow and many fabulous people to work with."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Engagement Manager in Rochester, NY
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Element K

    Pros

    You can grow into different fields with the company, the evinornement is very laid back, and the people in this company make it worth coming in every day.

    Cons

    The pay is not that great and there are many long hours. Its hard to change things that haven't worked in years because management is set in their ways.

    Element K2011-11-02
  9. "A nice place to work, but watch your head on the ceiling..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Instructional Designer in Rochester, NY
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Element K

    Pros

    Excellent benefits, time-off policies, chance to work with wonderful, caring, and bright people.

    Cons

    No career advancement, no internal training (although emphasis is put on personal growth during performance appraisals - so just do it on your own time and your own dime). There is only so far the company will let you grow. Once you are there, they would rather hire from outside the company and keep your talents in the dead end job.

    Advice to Management

    Develop from within...

    Element K2011-11-03
  10. "Used to be great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Rochester, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Element K

    Pros

    Great Coworkers, Product, Legacy and Technology

    Cons

    Layoffs, Benefit and Current HR

    Element K2011-11-02
Found 33 reviews