Emory University Reviews

Updated May 26, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.2
88%
Recommend to a Friend
91%
Approve of CEO
Emory University President Jim Wagner
Jim Wagner
355 Ratings
Pros
  • "Chill environment, great learning opportunities, great benefits(in 97 reviews)

  • "good work life balance, diverse community, good research(in 78 reviews)

Cons
  • "Summers in Atlanta can be extremely hot and humid and of course walking in the rain is never fun(in 32 reviews)

  • "Work/Life balance not afforded to all(in 19 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Loved Emory University"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Cloud Systems Engineer in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Emory University full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    There are really great people at Emory, the culture is amazing. One of the best jobs I've ever had.

    Cons

    Public sector, so can't always pay market value in regards to salary. Other than that no other cons. Really awesome place to work.

    Emory University2020-05-26
  2. "Great"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Supplemental Instructor in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Emory University part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great to learn and help you make more friends

    Cons

    Only get minimum wage as your pay

    Emory University2020-05-18
  3. "Excellent company to work for!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Coordinator of Advancement and Alumni 
    Recommends

    I worked at Emory University full-time

    Pros

    I had a very pleasant experience and will always remember the time I spent there.

    Cons

    It’s a huge campus so depending on your job duties and location you might be doing a lot of walking.

    Emory University2020-05-18
  4. "A great student work environment"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Graduate Research Assistant in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Emory University part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    great learning environment for students

    Cons

    much work for little pay

    Continue reading
    Emory University2020-05-14
  5. "current scientist"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Scientist in Decatur, GA
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Emory University full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Very nice place to work, very positive environment

    Cons

    There are no any cons

    Emory University2020-05-14
  6. "Phenomenal place for doctoral studies in the biological sciences"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - PhD Candidate in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Emory University full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Super collaborative environment between labs There is a strong, positive work ethic across laboratories Departments really care about students' interests The stipend is good, considering it is for students Opportunities to take classes outside of specialization Vibrant, friendly campus environment Professors are always open to meeting up and talking Healthcare, counseling, career advice, extracurriculars Availability of job opportunities after graduation University prestige

    Cons

    I can't think of any cons

    Emory University2020-05-13
  7. "FWS"

    4.0
    Former Employee - Federal Work Study 

    I worked at Emory University full-time

    Pros

    professional breadth pursuing academic depth

    Cons

    limited opportunities to escape emory bubble

    Emory University2020-05-26
  8. "Good place to work"

    5.0
    Current Employee - Medical Physics Imaging Resident in Atlanta, GA

    I have been working at Emory University full-time

    Pros

    Work from home flexibility Good benefits package

    Cons

    Parking is expensive on campus

    Emory University2020-05-08
  9. "Invested Faculty in a Beautiful City"

    5.0
    Current Employee - PhD Graduate Student 

    I have been working at Emory University full-time

    Pros

    BCDB program faculty are supportive and invested in student success

    Cons

    Lack of diversity and scarcity of platforms for students to express concerns

    Emory University2020-05-08
  10. "Student worker at the DUC"

    4.0
    Former Employee - Desk Associate in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends

    I worked at Emory University part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    As a student, it was a fun job opportunity. I not only had support in developing my career prospect, but also really enjoyed connecting with my coworkers.

    Cons

    I disliked having to close the building when I was by myself because the halls and rooms were empty.

    Emory University2020-05-20
Found 1130 reviews