FibroGen Reviews | Glassdoor

FibroGen Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 63 reviews

3.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
61%
Recommend to a Friend
74%
Approve of CEO
Thomas B. Neff
40 Ratings
Pros
  • "It’s a fast paced work environment but bosses encourage good work-family balance(in 8 reviews)

  • "good stock options, good location in Mission Bay(in 6 reviews)

Cons
  • "Upper management does not appear overly concerned with this(in 8 reviews)

  • "Micro-management by unqualified staff who shift blame onto anyone other than themselves, toxic culture, unethical decisions made daily(in 4 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (13)

    "Good company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at FibroGen full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    The people, pipeline, and opportunity for growth is exciting! The work environment is collaborative and everyone is engaged.

    Cons

    The CEO is not visible and employees would like to hear from him. They can do a better job creating a work culture.

    Advice to Management

    Listen to what the employees are asking for. We are doing good work but we can do good work at any other biotech company.

    FibroGen2018-02-10
  2. Helpful (13)

    "Good Company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Clinical Trial Manager in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at FibroGen full-time

    Pros

    Good benefits, nice people, flexible hours, beautiful location.

    Cons

    A little unorganized. Must have patience to work here.

    FibroGen2019-01-10
  3. Helpful (18)

    "An honest review from someone who was concerned by GlassDoor reviews, but took the job anyways"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at FibroGen full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Like many others, I read GlassDoor reviews and they weighed heavily on my mind as I walked into the interview room. Like others, I was concerned. So, as someone just like you, reading these reviews, I thought it would be helpful to future interviewees to detail my experience. Despite the negative reviews, I took a leap of faith and accepted the job offer. Coming from a previous job with an immensely toxic culture,...

    Show More

    Cons

    - Complacency; some management have a myopic view of how things should be done and are resistant to change - Unyielding budget; most of FibroGen's money is tied up in clinical trials and this means budget allocation only trickles down to other departments

    Advice to Management

    Invest in your employees' happiness. We could do more to foster a good work culture; take a cue from other younger businesses in the Bay Area - perks and work culture contribute to employee happiness, which contributes to significant gains in productivity. Also, don't be so afraid to spend money. A process made inefficient by budgetary constraints is a process that loses you money in the long run.

    FibroGen2018-11-01
  4. Helpful (13)

    "Great research group"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at FibroGen full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    Great group of people in research department. Friendly, knowledgeable, collaborative, and always happy to help. A lot of exploratory research so intellectually very stimulating. It’s a fast paced work environment but bosses encourage good work-family balance.

    Cons

    Research is a little isolated from other departments. Lacks transparency. But HR is working on improving it.

    Advice to Management

    More career development

    FibroGen2018-09-21
  5. Helpful (14)

    "Superb Pipelines"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at FibroGen full-time

    Pros

    Excellent pipelines internally developed and close to market. Many nice and talented people.

    Cons

    Some departments can improve the culture.

    FibroGen2018-08-23
  6. Helpful (3)

    "Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I worked at FibroGen full-time

      Pros

      Manager is good. Opportunities to try different things.

      Cons

      HR needs to be professional. You may turn good people away.

      FibroGen2018-10-03

      FibroGen Response

      October 10, 2018VP, Human Resources

      Our HR team strives to be highly professional and would like to better understand your specific feedback. We encourage you to contact either someone in Human Resources or a member of the management team to share your specific concerns so that they may be quickly addressed. Thank you.

    • Helpful (15)

      "Don't believe any good reviews they are fake from Human Resources"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Manager 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at FibroGen full-time for more than 2 years

      Pros

      Relatively good pipeline. Two drugs in the pipeline but both seem promising, especially the anemia drug.

      Cons

      Before taking the position at Fibrogen I checked the reviews and there was this review about employees being like Orcs from Lord of the Rings. And if you go there and stay to long you will turn into one. Most accurate review I have read about a company. But for some reason it is not up anymore. Fake positive reviews of the company are being posted by Human Resources. Unfortunately, the bad reputation of this company precedes...

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      Start over, hire managers that are not sexist pigs. Hire people that want to collaborate. Create a new positive work culture.

      FibroGen2018-08-23
    • Helpful (9)

      "The Most TOXIC Company"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Positive Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at FibroGen full-time for more than 2 years

      Pros

      Relatively good pipeline.. only 2 drugs in the pipeline but both seem promising, especially the anemia drug.

      Cons

      FibroGen reminds me of the Michael Jackson Thriller video. The upper management is like a whole bunch of zombies headed by CEO Thomas Neff, the Zombie King. It is the most toxic culture I have experienced in my more than 20 years in the pharmaceutical industry. There is absolutely no law and order and the upper management run around yelling and throwing tamper tantrums as if they are 2-year olds. Personally I was shocked....

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      None. Management is beyond HELP

      FibroGen2018-08-17
    • Helpful (8)

      "Not recommended"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Francisco, CA
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at FibroGen full-time for more than 4 years

      Pros

      Competitive salary, decent location (although it is starting to decline given recent construction and crime in the area), there are some extremely knowledgeable people both in lower level staff and in management who are passionate about the company's mission.

      Cons

      If you are not part of the group of people who have been at the company 10 years or more, you are alienated. There is little to no training offered to new hires. A lot of policies and procedures are terribly outdated and inefficient (or nonexistent) - and no one is willing to update them. Upper management is disorganized, doesn't know how to delegate, secretive, and at times behave like children throwing tantrums. Employees...

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      Learn to value your employees and make company culture a priority. Delegate more and trust that the people you have hired are competent enough to do their jobs.

      FibroGen2018-05-09
    • Helpful (7)

      "Director of Compliance"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Director in San Francisco, CA
      Doesn't Recommend
      Positive Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at FibroGen full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      good stock options, good location in Mission Bay. Some people are nice to work with. Company tries to do the right thing.

      Cons

      Senior leadership management is not well structured. Culture can be territorial in certain groups, which is not conducive for productivity at times . Small company but environment can sometimes be as political as in big corporations.

      Advice to Management

      More transparency on company's visions and strategic goals. Focus on developing internal talents to move things forward

      FibroGen2018-03-19
    Found 63 reviews