Filter Reviews | Glassdoor

Filter Reviews

Updated Jul 5, 2018

To filter reviews, or .

Found 56 reviews

3.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
66%
Recommend to a Friend
84%
Approve of CEO
Joe Melanson
6 Ratings
Pros
  • "Everyone works diligently, yet the company promotes a healthy work-life balance(in 7 reviews)

  • "(in 3 reviews)

Cons
  • "The corporate offices have become a revolving door, with nearly a 100% turnover in full-time staff over the course of less than a year(in 4 reviews)

  • "The much-touted tribal values strike me as fairly gimmicky, so it requires sincerity for them to be truly meaningful(in 3 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Nice folks!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Filter full-time

    Pros

    Great people with a lot of integrity - loved working for Filter

    Cons

    None, I worked for Filter over 10 years off and on

    Filter2018-05-09
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Great culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Filter full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great culture; very supportive team and company

    Cons

    No room to advance/career opportunities

    Filter2018-06-05
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Even small companies have politics too!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Filter full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    My team was the best and so were the other teams we worked with.

    Cons

    Leadership had a one tracked mind...profit over quality.

    Advice to Management

    Remember the worker bees support the queen and without them the hive won’t thrive.

    Filter2018-06-14
  4. Helpful (6)

    "Say one thing, do another"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Designer, Asset Manager, Retoucher in Seattle, WA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Filter full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Lots of generic production design work to be had. Working in the CBD is nice. Other contractors are friendly.

    Cons

    Most of the PM's are, at best, semi-competent and nearly all of them are serial micro-managers. Filter takes a huge cut of your hourly rate (nearly 40% of my Microsoft rate) and will actively lie about it if asked for transparency. Once your contract is over... that's it. They won't actively look for other positions for you. I once had a recruiter try to pay me less when my contract was renewed. When I asked my...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Own up to what you are: a staffing firm for mid-low tier tech jobs.

    Filter2017-06-08
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Happy employee centric culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Filter full-time

    Pros

    Filter is still small enough that one person can make a significant impact. The people are generally great to work with, and happy to be here. The business focus is obviously there and strong, but it is tempered by a desire to make Filter a great place to work, too.

    Cons

    Each team has a different working style, so make sure that you like the style of the team that you're joining. Filter isn't huge, so if you are a staff member there may be limited growth opportunities. Obviously that doesn't apply if you are talent.

    Advice to Management

    Stay on track!

    Filter2017-03-02
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Amazing Team and Culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Filter

    Pros

    You really get to know everyone and each employee has something unique to offer! Very supportive and encouraging team with an inspiring upper management. Everyone works diligently, yet the company promotes a healthy work-life balance. Overall, I had a great experience working for Filter.

    Cons

    The view from the office is so beautiful and can be distracting! That was the only downside.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work encouraging employees to succeed. It is very motivating and makes employees excited to come to work.

    Filter2016-12-29
  7. "Great company, great culture!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sr Program Manager in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Filter full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Very positive work environment. People are friendly and engaging, and there are zero politics. Filter really values having a positive culture and great team fit for everyone. - Exceptional transparency about company operations. I've never worked for a more open and honest company. - Strong customer orientation. Everyone wants to give clients and candidates the best experience possible. It's like the have a mission...

    Show More

    Cons

    - The actual owner is rarely seen, but it has no negative impact on the company. The CEO Joe runs the show and is very engaged. - The only true negative I can think of is that in a company this small, there's limited opportunity for advancement. For FTEs, a smaller company with a flat organization simply doesn't have 10 different levels and title variations for each discipline. And contractors are assigned to one gig...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    - Keep up the transparency and focus on company culture - it's what makes Filter a great and unique place to work! - Consider offering a discount on the spouse & family options for health insurance. I get that health insurance is super expensive, but even 10% would be a good gesture that would put you ahead of the competition.

    Filter2016-11-29
  8. Helpful (1)

    "The best in the business"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Client Partner in Portland, OR
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Filter full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Very innovative company in the field of digital talent. Highly engaged CEO and direct reports. Multiple streams of revenue. Cutting edge business plan.

    Cons

    Company has made an attempt to stabilize its delivery model and it seems to be paying off.

    Advice to Management

    Invest in a more affordable family health plan for everyone.

    Filter2016-11-21
  9. "A pretty good service for contract work."

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I worked at Filter

      Pros

      The flexibility of working your own schedule is great and if that's your work style it's a great fit.

      Cons

      There's no guarantee of when work will come in, which is kind of the nature of the structure.

      Advice to Management

      Always communicate with your candidates. I'd even say over-communicate so they know you haven't forgotten them.

      Filter2016-11-07
    • Helpful (9)

      "Circling the drain of CULTure"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Talent Manager in Seattle, WA
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at Filter full-time

      Pros

      You can be yourself at Filter – when you walk in the door every day, you walk in as the same person you are in your non-work life. (Until you actually bring up something that is inappropriate and causes us to look at who we are and how we favor others. Then, you're labeled a problem, instead of taking the feedback and actually doing something with it. Make no mistake: we WILL get rid of you ASAP. We can't have people...

      Show More

      Cons

      Favoritism is THE management practice. (redirecting commissions after an employee leaves -um, yah - we all know what you did in the Spring, and what you'll likely continue to do after this last round of layoffs.) Accounts are dropping and being lost left and right. San Francisco has no physical representation. LA is long gone. TX is managed remotely. It's ALL smoke and mirrors.

      Advice to Management

      Your business is failing at a rapid pace because you have the wrong people managing. Dumbing down your teams to be a bunch of yes people who stroke your egos is a sure fire way to circle the drain. Trauma queens should not be financially rewarded at the expense of other teammates. Your revolution has failed. Your job fitness and mind expanding opportunities are no more than myth. See you on the unemployment line.

      Filter2016-10-25
    Found 56 reviews