First Citizens Bank Reviews | Glassdoor

First Citizens Bank Reviews

Updated Jul 27, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 330 reviews

3.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
71%
Recommend to a Friend
89%
Approve of CEO
First Citizens Bank CEO Frank B. Holding Jr.
Frank B. Holding Jr.
139 Ratings
Pros
  • "New ideas are appreciated for a better work flow and work environment(in 21 reviews)

  • "Good Benefits and Co-Workers and a nice schedule(in 18 reviews)

Cons
  • "Too much upper management telling lower employees what to do(in 8 reviews)

  • "When I left in 2007, there was little room for advancement and salaries were not very competitive(in 7 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review

    "Fantastic place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Systems Engineer in Raleigh, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at First Citizens Bank full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Open, creative thinking Plenty of room to advance and grow Great culture

    Cons

    Being a bank not a lot of cloud technology

    First Citizens Bank2019-03-09
  2. "Great Company with great benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Csr1 in Raleigh, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at First Citizens Bank full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Positive and supportive enviroment

    Cons

    I have not cons for this company

    Advice to Management

    none

    First Citizens Bank2019-07-17
  3. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales and Service Representative III in Raleigh, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at First Citizens Bank full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Like a family--welcoming and helpful

    Cons

    Training isn't as up to date as it could be---hands on training would be more beneficial than how it is done

    First Citizens Bank2019-07-17
  4. "Another Job With The Public"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - SSR II 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at First Citizens Bank full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Management is great Co-workers are nice

    Cons

    Working with the public is exhausting

    First Citizens Bank2019-07-27
  5. "Great Company - Great Atmosphere"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Systems Engineer III in Raleigh, NC

    I have been working at First Citizens Bank full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Department offers opportunity to learn and assist with all technologies. Management encourages looking for new ways to do things and automation

    Cons

    Some people are stuck in the mentality of "this is how we have always done it" and resist improvements

    Advice to Management

    Keep pushing for things to be organized and looking for a better way to serve our clients.

    First Citizens Bank2019-07-02
  6. "Good place to work but need to network to move up."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - SSR3 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at First Citizens Bank full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good work environment depending on the branch. Great people, good benefits. Room to move up.

    Cons

    Not great pay unless you move up and they are a stereotypical big bank so they push and push and push and micro manage and push sales like credit cards or loans to people who have no business having one and will never be able to pay it. *they expect tellers to be lawyers and give legal advice and fully explain legal contracts without going to law school.

    Advice to Management

    Chill on the goals and tracking every single thing and pay more. Get back to small town roots instead of impressing shareholders.

    First Citizens Bank2019-06-26
  7. "Great entry position with reasonable opportunities for advancement if you excel in sales."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Financial Services Representative in Winston-Salem, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at First Citizens Bank full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Family owned, solid foundation to sell.

    Cons

    Hard push to open up a million checking, savings and money market accounts, along with debit cards and lines of credit.

    Advice to Management

    No advice to management, local managers were amazing. Advice to CEO/CFO/COO- enough with the tick marks for loans and dda accounts...it makes employees feel desperate and not always make the right decisions for the customer.

    First Citizens Bank2019-06-19
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Pretty decent"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Resolution Specialist in Raleigh, NC
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at First Citizens Bank full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Ample PTO, great benefits and fair pay

    Cons

    Impossible to move up, micromanaging extremely

    Advice to Management

    Trust your employees. You hired them to do a job, now let them.

    First Citizens Bank2019-06-26
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Ok"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Operations Manager 

    I have been working at First Citizens Bank full-time

    Pros

    Work and family balance, closed on Sunday

    Cons

    Political. They promote based on friendship

    First Citizens Bank2019-06-18
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Stressful, demanding, discouraging, frustrating and, exhausting."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Mortgage Loan Processor in Columbia, SC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at First Citizens Bank full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I enjoyed being able to work remotely when necessary.

    Cons

    In my opinion, the challenges were surrounding the fact of how much work, time, stress and, effort I personally put in everyday to in return to work in a hostile environment while not being heard regarding problems while being demanded to work under large amounts of pressure, workload and, impossible dead lines / time frames.

    Advice to Management

    Listen to the ‘smaller’ people who actually complete larger amounts of work in order to keep things running. Give credit where credit is due. Humanize the process. Train people well enough so that they can leave, TREAT them well enough so that they don’t want to.

    First Citizens Bank2019-07-11
Found 330 reviews