Cover image for FiscalNote
Logo
See All Photos

FiscalNote

Engaged Employer

FiscalNote

Add a Review

FiscalNote Reviews

Updated Oct 6, 2022

Verify your email to use filters. Having problems? Resend email
Found 141 of over 149 reviews
3.7
66% Recommend to a Friend
65% Approve of CEO

Found 142 of over 149 reviews

3.7
66%
Recommend to a Friend
65%
Approve of CEO
FiscalNote CEO Tim Hwang (no image)
Tim Hwang
96 Ratings

The latest conversations about Tech

Join the conversation on

Tech

1y

a 

Technical Account Manager

Being a woman in tech, I only recently started advocating for myself at work about advancement opportunities. Because of this I wanted to ask this question to my male counterparts. When you have 1:1's with your direct reports and talk about career growth / aspirations what is your managers’ response typically? I’d like to gauge how my experience (negative) differs from others. For instance are you met with blockades, enthusiasm, dread, etc?

473

64 Comments

Join the conversation on

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
Cons
  • "This growth is something that is actively sought and appropriately recognized by leadership — it is common for someone to be promoted into a leadership role.(in 5 reviews)
  • "As a previous reviewer stated perfectly: Egotistical CEO(in 4 reviews)
  • "Limited salary compared to other companies(in 3 reviews)
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of FiscalNote and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Opportunities to grow

    Sep 16, 2022 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    This company has so much untapped potential. Given it’s size and maturity, employees of all levels have the opportunity to make an impact.

    Cons

    Fast pace, constantly iterating…but that’s not a bad thing

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Decent place to work

    Oct 1, 2022 - Lead Software Engineer 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - Stable company - Friendly, diverse culture - Lots of good technical challenges

    Cons

    - Can be a grind at times when there are big features we want to release

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. 4.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Mixed Review Generally Good

    Sep 28, 2022 - Associate Engineering Manager in Washington, DC
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Driven company intent on delivering to a global market

    Cons

    Acquisitions leave people who have enjoyed tenure on teams in the dust

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  4. 5.0
    Current Employee

    10/10

    Sep 27, 2022 - Sales Development Representative (SDR) 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    From management to the product, I couldn't have asked for a better place to begin my sales career.

    Cons

    I have no cons as of yet

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 4.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Wonderful people and experience but insulting and insufficient pay

    Sep 23, 2022 - Journalist/Reporter in Washington, DC
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Everyone here is brilliant and collaborative and it's probably one of the last legacy newsrooms in DC. Tons of people have worked here for well over 5-10, even 15-20 years, which is almost unheard of today. The Congress know-how is second to none and I was genuinely (but not in a bad way) intimidated by many people here who just have Capitol Hill down pat.

    Cons

    My biggest - and truly only - complaint was the pay. There was no room for salary negotiation but I was told they could match a substantially higher offer once I prepared to leave (and did). It's a shame, because to my surprise based on my thoughts coming in, I never would have considered leaving if the pay wasn't so insultingly low, and I didn't hesitate to let them know that on the way out. Work-life balance and upward trajectory were hard to suss out here, too. Unlike most current media companies that tend to promote people within a year or two at most, CQ Roll Call seems to wait 3-5 years before you get considered for a promotion, no matter what level you're at in the company. That's how it used to be done in the industry, but it feels like CQRC hasn't quite caught up to the present in that sense.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  6. 3.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    SDR

    Oct 3, 2022 - Sales Development Representative (SDR) in Washington, DC
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Work environment, facility, and product

    Cons

    Sales pressure with not much marketing support.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  7. 2.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Massive attrition over several years

    Sep 20, 2022 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Buzzy. Really nice office in DC. Recently listed on NYSE.

    Cons

    Massive turnover and repeated layoffs over a period of many years across most teams has left a fragmented workforce. Your co-workers will be smart, well-meaning, and have no idea what's going on or why. All of you will be trying to make the best situation out of poor decisions made by several generations of long-departed former FiscalNoters.

    3 people found this review helpful
  8. 3.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Up and down

    Sep 17, 2022 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - Great work-life balance - Opportunity to work on some exciting initatives (for a little while at least) - Lack of bureaucracy. No issues with "this is the way we've always done things."

    Cons

    - Chaotic work environment - Layoffs happen frequently. If you're in product, design, or engineering, keep your resume updated

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  9. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Headed for the cliffs

    Oct 6, 2022 - Director 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Higher profile tech company with recent listing on NYSE to boost resume

    Cons

    Complete and utter disorganization internally with no sense of clear vision. Abusively and offensively low pay that seems initially like decent offer until you realize the comp is tied to highly unrealistic goals. C Suite seems to live on another planet - fast-paced acquisitions without any plan for integration, constant comparisons to Oracle and Bloomberg as if the company is in the same league, management is complete detached from the rest of the organization and seems more interested in nominating themselves for and collecting awards, marketing, undertaking vanity projects like financing other random startups and projects, living large with travel, and shmoozing with other CEOs and C suite industry execs without taking time to understand the significant and serious issues with the company. The core product is mediocre in a saturated space and despite customer attrition the CEO has "shiny new thing" syndrome. Once you are in the company, there is no room for growth, zero support, and constant pressure and shaming to reach wildly unrealistic revenue goals.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  10. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Was laid off for no reason

    Oct 3, 2022 - Engineer 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    hard-working colleagues and flexible working hours

    Cons

    1. lay off an employee without a reason, shut down the e-mail and slack access immediately 2. the worst thing is the severance payment is not even half of my monthly salary

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 142 Reviews
</>Embed

FiscalNote Reviews FAQs

FiscalNote has an overall rating of 3.7 out of 5, based on over 149 reviews left anonymously by employees. 66% of employees would recommend working at FiscalNote to a friend and 56% have a positive outlook for the business. This rating has decreased by -4% over the last 12 months.

According to anonymously submitted Glassdoor reviews, FiscalNote employees rate their compensation and benefits as 3.9 out of 5. Find out more about salaries and benefits at FiscalNote. This rating has decreased by -1% over the last 12 months.

66% of FiscalNote employees would recommend working there to a friend based on Glassdoor reviews. Employees also rated FiscalNote 3.7 out of 5 for work life balance, 3.7 for culture and values and 3.5 for career opportunities.

According to reviews on Glassdoor, employees commonly mention the pros of working at FiscalNote to be management, career development, benefits and the cons to be compensation, senior leadership.

Popular Careers with FiscalNote Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at FiscalNote? Share Your Experiences

or

FiscalNote Careers

Cover image for FiscalNote

Find team member-sourced essays via our Medium publication "FiscalNoteworthy." F(N)novate: our technical blog Our DEIBA blogMore

  • Our Clients
  • Our Tech
  • Work Here
  • Our Core Values
This is the employer's chance to tell you why you should work for them. The information provided is from their perspective.

Reviews by Job Title

Company Updates

Logo

FiscalNote

324 days ago

Company News
Shared image - FiscalNote Announces Plans to Become Publicly Traded
FiscalNote Announces Plans to Become Publicly Traded
fiscalnote.com
Logo

FiscalNote

354 days ago

In addition to our recent observance of Hispanic Heritage Month (September 15 - October 15), FiscalNote both honors and celebrates Disability Awareness Month (October 1 - October 31).
Shared image
See all

FiscalNote Photos

+ Add Photo
FiscalNote photo of: Our Mobile team celebrated a recent milestone with a virtual Pizza party!
FiscalNote photo of: International Women's Day- 3/9/2020
FiscalNote photo of: Hosting Women Who Code's How to Navigate a Technical Interview Forum
FiscalNote photo of: R&amp;D Global Fly-in!
FiscalNote photo of: D for Design... and Dabbing!
FiscalNote photo of: Girls in Tech orientation at our DC HQ!
FiscalNote photo of: Coffee and Code at our DC HQ!
See All Photos

Expert Career Advice

Guide to Getting Your First Job

Find a Great First Job to Jumpstart Your Career

How to Get a Job

Getting a Job Is Tough; This Guide Makes it Easier

How to Get a Promotion

Climb the Ladder With These Proven Promotion Tips

How to Negotiate Your Salary

A Guide to Negotiating the Salary You Deserve

How to Write a Resume

Write a Resume Recruiters Can't Resist

FiscalNote Job Seekers Also Viewed

Social Tables Logo
Social Tables

3.8

72 Reviews
Compare

Glassdoor has 149 FiscalNote reviews submitted anonymously by FiscalNote employees. Read employee reviews and ratings on Glassdoor to decide if FiscalNote is right for you.