KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

Flipp

Is this your company?

Flipp

Add a Review

Flipp Reviews

Updated Jul 26, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 227 of over 266 reviews

4.1
74%
Recommend to a Friend
92%
Approve of CEO
Flipp Chief Consumer Officer Michael Silverman
Michael Silverman
39 Ratings
Pros
  • "You can work from home for the entire term(in 23 reviews)

  • "Team - there are really great people here(in 21 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Work-Life balance is non-existent(in 17 reviews)

  • "Each mistake or new product that didn't do as well as expected means senior management will yell at employees accusing them of under-performing(in 11 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Former Employee

      Yeah

      Mar 14, 2021 - Flipper 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      It was pretty decent, ya.

      Cons

      It wasn't that bad, ya.

      1 person found this review helpful
    2. 3.0
      Former Employee

      Good people but unorganized

      Mar 15, 2021 - Technology 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Some good people and friendly to newcomers. If you have a good account team there can be a lot of collaboration.

      Cons

      Short term gains outweighs long term planning so you can rush answers or ideas as the client does not get push back to help guide them on the right thing to do

      3 people found this review helpful
    3. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Unstable business and management. Trust me - don't do it. This is a sign for you.

      Feb 12, 2020 - Project Coordinator 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Work with some great people - Free snacks - great Insurance plan

      Cons

      - You will witness cliques and preferential treatment; favouritism which left a very toxic environment - Management pretends to care about your growth and make you feel that you matter but its all a lie - Everyone gets a coach but they are absolutely are not trained in any way to guide you, its more like a power trip - You are expected to work long hours, even when you go home, at night, at weekends. They say they manage your hours but if something happens and its the weekend you have to get to work - Not stable business and management as many people were let go and they did not see it coming - The company does not actually follow their own policies, for example you can work from home but if you choose to do that they frown upon it and would rather have you work in office for "pod presence" - Also, they talk about trusting employees but they really don't - High stress job - If your project lead or management messes up, the blame is on you

      Continue reading
      9 people found this review helpful
    4. 1.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Choose your own adventure. Please make strongly informed decisions before working here.

      Mar 1, 2019 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Both pro and a con, the hustle of the people here. I admire just how much and how passionate people here care about Flipp and want to make things work. The pay. Flipp says they're a top competitor in compensation, but having shopped around quite a bit, i haven't found a company that could beat all of Flipp's extrinsic offerings. (Most) of the people you'll meet here. Can say that you will make friends here. People do try to make you feel included and they do fun, impromptu things to make each other happy and to feel inclusive.

      Cons

      I've had a good time here, but this is where you need to choose your own adventure. I'll preface this with the mentality of "chopping wood vs axe sharpening". And frankly, the long you're here, the longer you'll feel that your chopping bricks with your face. But in seriousness, there are moral decisions that you will have to make and live with amongst yourself, your contribution to your team, your absolute loyalty to the company, and your obligations to leadership. The hustle here is contagious. You want to be part of the energy that leads to success and ride that rush when you win together. What you'll start to notice over time is what that win costed you personally and whether or not that was a win worth making. This is where the downfalls start. Winning for the sake of winning, isn't winning. Flipp is incredibly win oriented without thinking about what the win really means for everyone. These wins often come from ideas that contradict the product as a whole, statements about vision from only months before, or completely breaking the technology to something less serviceable just because it seemed like a good idea in someone's head (with no recovery strategy). It's been stated here before, but the cult-ish mentality is quite prominent and often, will affect your performance here. Being of "one-mind" of "one-goal" sounds like one cohesive team working in one direction, but what happens in practice is the need to conform. Opinions and directions here are completely absolutist. If you have an opinion/idea outside of the "current vision", be prepared to have a terrible time here. There's such a thing as to do the right thing vs doing the thing that keeps yourself off of the crosshairs of upper management. . ******THOUGHTS TO TAKE HOME******* Choose: do what you're told or do what's right. You will do well if you stay within your own bubble and do what you're told. Going above and beyond just isn't worth the risk you take with yourself and your health. Choose: work with your team or work with your company Your interaction with your immediate peers within your team is fantastic (most of the time). As you start to move up and get more involved with other teams, it starts to become more toxic. There's a lot of throwing over the fence here. You start to question the integrity of people when they're more than willing to sell you out and heighten their career at your expense. Choose: your work or your career Learning opportunities here will fizzle out within the first few years. To be honest, this might be the lifecycle of any large product company, including giants like Shopify. Flipp's tech stack can't really move because of the number of things we have to support. The tech stack and practices here are antiquated and it's really hard to change things. There aren't a lot of leaders that can help you grow with 2018 tech, let alone anything that came from 2015 and beyond. Think carefully about how you want to grow and what you want to do. You'll get some of that at Flipp. But start keeping track of what you're actually learning and where you can get better knowledge fostering from. Choose: company integrity or moral integrity At some point, you will be forced to choose to make decisions that will make you feel like crap inside. The lying, the deceit, the word crafting to elude others from the real truth. In the short term, this could mean a bigger pay cheque for you or getting upper management to give you praise. In the real world, this decision has made a negative impact on how we will learn to treat others and how we can abuse the trust of our customers and clients. Choose: spending time with people you value at work or spending time with people you value in your life There might be some intersections here. If there's one thing I regret at my time here so far is how many people i've blown off and taken for granted. There are some really cool people i work with here but that had to come at the expense of pushing off time with my family and my childhood friends. Flipp is so good and making you feel "at home" that you don't want to leave either because of the awesome peers, or the multitude of distractive work to keep you here. I've given the excuse that "im too busy at work" or "i can't make it any more" so often that I failed to realize how many people in my life i've let down. It's reached a point where they just dont bother any more. Trust me, you won't notice this before it's too late. Choose: following a leader or following an model example Being the most outspoken person in the room does not make this person the wisest. Yes, this is drinking the Kool-Aid. There's no denying the charisma and power of influence that our CEO has. That's why he's such a great speaker. Not to mention, every Monday feel like Flipp Church. There's something deceptively inspirational that you believe you're feeling every week and so you keep going back. But as the years go on, you realize that this form of inspiration porn is no different from listening to a TED Talk. They're thoughts, not actions. They're things you should consider, not things you should blindly agree to. They're ideas that open a landscape of creativity, not requirement you should be working on. If you've read all the above and are still considering employment here, I hope Flipp does not have any other surprises in store. If you've read all the above and are employed here, I hope I'm not misrepresenting the truths that Ive witnessed here. In either case, think about the trade-offs and decide what's right for you.

      Continue reading
      35 people found this review helpful
    5. 4.0
      Former Employee

      Director, Business Development

      May 25, 2018 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      andidly, Im surprised and disappointed to see the amount of negative reviews of Flipp on Glassdoor. Over the course of 3.5 years I realized 10x growth(professional & personal) and watched several of my peers grow into leaders and stars. This is a direct result of the consistent investment in employee engagement and development and the unique growth experience Flipp provides to all it's employees who are HUNGRY FOR GROWTH. As a sales professional, Flipp checks all the boxes(Compensation, Vision, Product/Market Fit, Hard ROI, Customers that actually want to meet with you to partner to solve complex problems and most importantly a world class team to learn and win with). Most importantly, Sales Leadership truly cares and provide an incredible amount of opportunity to grow and broaden your career as a professional. Flipp also offers a tremendous amount of perks and flexibility for you and your family.

      Cons

      Outside of frequent travel slim to None! if you don't like ambiguity, working closely to executives, stretching yourself or going above and beyond for your customers and teammates Flipp IS NOT FOR YOU.

      Continue reading
      5 people found this review helpful
    6. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Great company to work at

      Feb 11, 2016 - Software Engineer 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Many great perks, work-life balance, and smart people all around

      Cons

      Nothing really bad to say about this company

      11 people found this review helpful
    7. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Reimagining the work week 60+ hours at a time...

      May 20, 2015 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Company retreats (if you can actually attend and aren't occupied with work) - Friday Lunches - The concept behind the app is great - Front line/ops team has an incredible sense of comradery

      Cons

      - Overworked (expect to easily put in 60-70 hrs a week continuously) - No overtime compensation (the argument of being passionate to work these hours gets thin real fast). - Micromanagement for several different sources can actually negatively impact productivity with all the status updates being asked - Visible inexperience and lack of maturity from "Sales/BD facing Executive team" that have led to instances of personal insults being used on team members as a means of delivering feedback. - Consistent use of rhetoric on the "if's" and "what could be" with little action to address the fundamental issues affecting employee morale on the day to day.

      Continue reading
      33 people found this review helpful
    8. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Smoke and Mirrors, Don't be fooled . Unrealistic hours. Good Culture

      Jul 17, 2021 - Partner Account Manager in Toronto, ON
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Development and culture are top tier in the city. Great exit and learning opporutinies.

      Cons

      Smoke and mirrors. Feels like the equity and perks are utilized to milk you of your input hours. Hours are unrealistic, 55 hrs typical. Busy season 60+. "Unlimited Vacation" claim should be held accountable for misleading and false advertising. You're lucky if you get a week off with 3 weeks notice. Dishonest answers to interview questions when asked about work-life balance. Lots of read flags I ignored naively. Must be reachable even when your on your death bed, will follow up.with feedback if you happen to pass away. Plethora of shady practices in more than one department. The type of place to discuss mental health issues and their commitment towards tackling it and then conduct visceral and punitive behaviour. Sorta like getting therapy from your drug dealer. Lots of complaining about issues - very little action by management. Typical place that will not accept their responsibilities as an employer, but rather rely on the high demand + turnover strategy to onboard, forget and ignore and offload their problems. Pay is weak for entry level BD, in exchange for the high blood pressure you may find it better to work elsewhere unless you want to climb fast and hard and drink harder

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    9. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Amazing Place to Accelerate your Career

      Jun 10, 2021 - Senior Manager in Toronto, ON
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Amazing place to learn and grow - I've been challenged and pushed to grow far faster and better than any other company i've worked for. Company recently announced $1300 L&D spend for every employee to help with career growth. Great culture - We practice what we preach with regards to being hungry, humble and highly intelligent. We are a highly collaborative and team-based culture and everyone is always willing to help you out. Open and Transparent Leadership - company does a monthly town hall with open Q&A and every topic is on the table. Throughout the pandemic, no layoffs and company continued to grow and was very open about company decisions and considerations Fun - the people are incredible to work with, they care for each other, helpful and extremely bright. I feel I learn from those around me and that is very motivating for me as I continue to build my career Competitive pay, bonus and long term incentives - company has always paid out bonuses and merit increases and offers very competitive stock options

      Cons

      We are growing and that comes with pioneering new initiatives and rolling up your sleeves to build and create. This can require lots of energy but it's highly rewarding if you have an entrepreneurial spirit. You will not thrive here if you're looking for a complacent, comfortable place to work

      Continue reading
      4 people found this review helpful
    10. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      THIS is where you want to work!

      Jul 17, 2021 - Culture Advisor 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Heavily invested in People & Culture Flexible work options Robust Learning & Development Program w/ $$$ for desired courses/programs/e-certifications Amazing onboarding program Talented Creative & Communications team Strong Executive & Leadership teams Manager Training Focus on employee wellness & mental health On-site practitioners Robust benefits package Opportunities to join volunteer led teams (D&I, Outreach, Environmental, Social & Culture) Annual recognition & awards ceremony Internal & External Flipp Talks Open public feedback forum between employees/executives Live out their culture & values Awesome team members to work alongside

      Cons

      Fast paced environment, some may find it difficult to keep pace

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 227 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Flipp Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Flipp? Share Your Experiences

    Flipp logo
    or