KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

Flipp

Engaged Employer

Flipp

Add a Review

Flipp Reviews

Updated Aug 5, 2022

Verify your email to use filters. Having problems? Resend email
Found 268 of over 313 reviews
3.8
66% Recommend to a Friend
Flipp Chief Consumer Officer Michael Silverman
76% Approve of CEO

Found 268 of over 313 reviews

3.8
66%
Recommend to a Friend
76%
Approve of CEO
Flipp Chief Consumer Officer Michael Silverman
Michael Silverman
62 Ratings

The latest conversations about Tech

Join the conversation on

Tech

1y

a 

Technical Account Manager

Being a woman in tech, I only recently started advocating for myself at work about advancement opportunities. Because of this I wanted to ask this question to my male counterparts. When you have 1:1's with your direct reports and talk about career growth / aspirations what is your managers’ response typically? I’d like to gauge how my experience (negative) differs from others. For instance are you met with blockades, enthusiasm, dread, etc?

434

62 Comments

Join the conversation on

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of Flipp and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?
  1. 5.0
    Former Employee

    Yeah

    Mar 14, 2021 - Flipper 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    It was pretty decent, ya.

    Cons

    It wasn't that bad, ya.

    1 person found this review helpful
  2. 4.0
    Current Employee

    Not an actual employee

    Nov 10, 2021 - Back End Developer in San Francisco, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Nice place to work for money

    Cons

    There are no cons In this review

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. 3.0
    Former Employee

    Good people but unorganized

    Mar 15, 2021 - Technology 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Some good people and friendly to newcomers. If you have a good account team there can be a lot of collaboration.

    Cons

    Short term gains outweighs long term planning so you can rush answers or ideas as the client does not get push back to help guide them on the right thing to do

    4 people found this review helpful
  4. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Unstable business and management. Trust me - don't do it. This is a sign for you.

    Feb 12, 2020 - Project Coordinator 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - Work with some great people - Free snacks - great Insurance plan

    Cons

    - You will witness cliques and preferential treatment; favouritism which left a very toxic environment - Management pretends to care about your growth and make you feel that you matter but its all a lie - Everyone gets a coach but they are absolutely are not trained in any way to guide you, its more like a power trip - You are expected to work long hours, even when you go home, at night, at weekends. They say they manage your hours but if something happens and its the weekend you have to get to work - Not stable business and management as many people were let go and they did not see it coming - The company does not actually follow their own policies, for example you can work from home but if you choose to do that they frown upon it and would rather have you work in office for "pod presence" - Also, they talk about trusting employees but they really don't - High stress job - If your project lead or management messes up, the blame is on you

    Continue reading
    10 people found this review helpful
  5. 1.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Choose your own adventure. Please make strongly informed decisions before working here.

    Mar 1, 2019 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Both pro and a con, the hustle of the people here. I admire just how much and how passionate people here care about Flipp and want to make things work. The pay. Flipp says they're a top competitor in compensation, but having shopped around quite a bit, i haven't found a company that could beat all of Flipp's extrinsic offerings. (Most) of the people you'll meet here. Can say that you will make friends here. People do try to make you feel included and they do fun, impromptu things to make each other happy and to feel inclusive.

    Cons

    I've had a good time here, but this is where you need to choose your own adventure. I'll preface this with the mentality of "chopping wood vs axe sharpening". And frankly, the long you're here, the longer you'll feel that your chopping bricks with your face. But in seriousness, there are moral decisions that you will have to make and live with amongst yourself, your contribution to your team, your absolute loyalty to the company, and your obligations to leadership. The hustle here is contagious. You want to be part of the energy that leads to success and ride that rush when you win together. What you'll start to notice over time is what that win costed you personally and whether or not that was a win worth making. This is where the downfalls start. Winning for the sake of winning, isn't winning. Flipp is incredibly win oriented without thinking about what the win really means for everyone. These wins often come from ideas that contradict the product as a whole, statements about vision from only months before, or completely breaking the technology to something less serviceable just because it seemed like a good idea in someone's head (with no recovery strategy). It's been stated here before, but the cult-ish mentality is quite prominent and often, will affect your performance here. Being of "one-mind" of "one-goal" sounds like one cohesive team working in one direction, but what happens in practice is the need to conform. Opinions and directions here are completely absolutist. If you have an opinion/idea outside of the "current vision", be prepared to have a terrible time here. There's such a thing as to do the right thing vs doing the thing that keeps yourself off of the crosshairs of upper management. . ******THOUGHTS TO TAKE HOME******* Choose: do what you're told or do what's right. You will do well if you stay within your own bubble and do what you're told. Going above and beyond just isn't worth the risk you take with yourself and your health. Choose: work with your team or work with your company Your interaction with your immediate peers within your team is fantastic (most of the time). As you start to move up and get more involved with other teams, it starts to become more toxic. There's a lot of throwing over the fence here. You start to question the integrity of people when they're more than willing to sell you out and heighten their career at your expense. Choose: your work or your career Learning opportunities here will fizzle out within the first few years. To be honest, this might be the lifecycle of any large product company, including giants like Shopify. Flipp's tech stack can't really move because of the number of things we have to support. The tech stack and practices here are antiquated and it's really hard to change things. There aren't a lot of leaders that can help you grow with 2018 tech, let alone anything that came from 2015 and beyond. Think carefully about how you want to grow and what you want to do. You'll get some of that at Flipp. But start keeping track of what you're actually learning and where you can get better knowledge fostering from. Choose: company integrity or moral integrity At some point, you will be forced to choose to make decisions that will make you feel like crap inside. The lying, the deceit, the word crafting to elude others from the real truth. In the short term, this could mean a bigger pay cheque for you or getting upper management to give you praise. In the real world, this decision has made a negative impact on how we will learn to treat others and how we can abuse the trust of our customers and clients. Choose: spending time with people you value at work or spending time with people you value in your life There might be some intersections here. If there's one thing I regret at my time here so far is how many people i've blown off and taken for granted. There are some really cool people i work with here but that had to come at the expense of pushing off time with my family and my childhood friends. Flipp is so good and making you feel "at home" that you don't want to leave either because of the awesome peers, or the multitude of distractive work to keep you here. I've given the excuse that "im too busy at work" or "i can't make it any more" so often that I failed to realize how many people in my life i've let down. It's reached a point where they just dont bother any more. Trust me, you won't notice this before it's too late. Choose: following a leader or following an model example Being the most outspoken person in the room does not make this person the wisest. Yes, this is drinking the Kool-Aid. There's no denying the charisma and power of influence that our CEO has. That's why he's such a great speaker. Not to mention, every Monday feel like Flipp Church. There's something deceptively inspirational that you believe you're feeling every week and so you keep going back. But as the years go on, you realize that this form of inspiration porn is no different from listening to a TED Talk. They're thoughts, not actions. They're things you should consider, not things you should blindly agree to. They're ideas that open a landscape of creativity, not requirement you should be working on. If you've read all the above and are still considering employment here, I hope Flipp does not have any other surprises in store. If you've read all the above and are employed here, I hope I'm not misrepresenting the truths that Ive witnessed here. In either case, think about the trade-offs and decide what's right for you.

    Continue reading
    35 people found this review helpful
  6. 4.0
    Former Employee

    Director, Business Development

    May 25, 2018 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    andidly, Im surprised and disappointed to see the amount of negative reviews of Flipp on Glassdoor. Over the course of 3.5 years I realized 10x growth(professional & personal) and watched several of my peers grow into leaders and stars. This is a direct result of the consistent investment in employee engagement and development and the unique growth experience Flipp provides to all it's employees who are HUNGRY FOR GROWTH. As a sales professional, Flipp checks all the boxes(Compensation, Vision, Product/Market Fit, Hard ROI, Customers that actually want to meet with you to partner to solve complex problems and most importantly a world class team to learn and win with). Most importantly, Sales Leadership truly cares and provide an incredible amount of opportunity to grow and broaden your career as a professional. Flipp also offers a tremendous amount of perks and flexibility for you and your family.

    Cons

    Outside of frequent travel slim to None! if you don't like ambiguity, working closely to executives, stretching yourself or going above and beyond for your customers and teammates Flipp IS NOT FOR YOU.

    Continue reading
    5 people found this review helpful
  7. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Great company to work at

    Feb 11, 2016 - Software Engineer 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Many great perks, work-life balance, and smart people all around

    Cons

    Nothing really bad to say about this company

    11 people found this review helpful
  8. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Reimagining the work week 60+ hours at a time...

    May 20, 2015 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - Company retreats (if you can actually attend and aren't occupied with work) - Friday Lunches - The concept behind the app is great - Front line/ops team has an incredible sense of comradery

    Cons

    - Overworked (expect to easily put in 60-70 hrs a week continuously) - No overtime compensation (the argument of being passionate to work these hours gets thin real fast). - Micromanagement for several different sources can actually negatively impact productivity with all the status updates being asked - Visible inexperience and lack of maturity from "Sales/BD facing Executive team" that have led to instances of personal insults being used on team members as a means of delivering feedback. - Consistent use of rhetoric on the "if's" and "what could be" with little action to address the fundamental issues affecting employee morale on the day to day.

    Continue reading
    33 people found this review helpful
  9. 2.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    2 of 5

    Aug 5, 2022 - Designer in Etobicoke, ON
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - Competitive salary and benefits packages - Consistent drive for innovation, teams that are hungry - Good start-up perks: Flexible hours, events

    Cons

    - Lack of resourcing means having to “do it all”; difficult for too many hats to wear - Leadership has high expectations, but provide very little coaching - Too many pivots in company outlook

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  10. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Great results, big upside

    Jul 7, 2022 - Product Manager in Toronto, ON
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - The results speak for themselves. Weekly Actives are growing again, the company is very profitable, just made a big acquisition, and cleaned up low performers.

    Cons

    - Flipp has high standards. Some people can't take it and are let go and complain or just sit around complain as you can see from the reviews below. Those who want to make a difference are able to actually do it, leadership empowers them. Those who can't do good work just end up complaining. Basically don't come to Flipp if you like complaining and don't like actually doing things to grow.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 268 Reviews
</>Embed

Flipp Reviews FAQs

Flipp has an overall rating of 3.8 out of 5, based on over 313 reviews left anonymously by employees. 66% of employees would recommend working at Flipp to a friend and 55% have a positive outlook for the business. This rating has decreased by -7% over the last 12 months.

According to anonymously submitted Glassdoor reviews, Flipp employees rate their compensation and benefits as 3.9 out of 5. Find out more about salaries and benefits at Flipp. This rating has decreased by -4% over the last 12 months.

66% of Flipp employees would recommend working there to a friend based on Glassdoor reviews. Employees also rated Flipp 3.5 out of 5 for work life balance, 3.8 for culture and values and 3.6 for career opportunities.

According to reviews on Glassdoor, employees commonly mention the pros of working at Flipp to be benefits, career development, culture and the cons to be management, senior leadership.

Popular Careers with Flipp Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Flipp? Share Your Experiences

or

Flipp Photos

+ Add Photo
Flipp photo of: Lunch in the office every Friday
Flipp photo of: Practice yoga with the team on Tuesdays
Flipp photo of: Flipp at the Collision Conference in 2019
Flipp photo of: We've got a summer softball league
Flipp photo of: #InsideFlipp
Flipp photo of: Every Monday we all come together as a team for Big Scrum
Flipp photo of: One of our favourite nooks in the office
See All Photos

Glassdoor has 313 Flipp reviews submitted anonymously by Flipp employees. Read employee reviews and ratings on Glassdoor to decide if Flipp is right for you.