Forbes Reviews

Updated Apr 7, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.5
67%
Recommend to a Friend
89%
Approve of CEO
Forbes President and CEO Michael S. (Mike) Perlis (no image)
Michael S. (Mike) Perlis
57 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Pay is terrible and upper management could care less about employees(in 7 reviews)

  • "Certain editors get a free pass on the rules(in 7 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Journalist"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Journalist in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Forbes full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Good company to work with

    Cons

    No cons to work with

    Forbes2020-01-09
  2. "Good for name association, bad for money; erratic managing staff"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Contributor 
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Forbes

    Pros

    They offer a strong brand name to associate with. Their information systems are decent and they have a significant amount of guides and resources to utilize to assist with your work as a Contributor.

    Cons

    Terrible cost-benefit from a money standpoint. Very micro-managing and volatile staff and unclear expectations. You’ll spend endless amounts of time and may well not even get paid due to their high thresholds. I found the staff managing the Contributors to have issues with expectations, timeliness, and sometimes honesty too.

    Continue reading
    Forbes2020-03-04
  3. "Good place with good people"

    4.0
    Current Employee - Assistant Editor 

    I have been working at Forbes full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Morale is generally good, lots of young people, opportunities to be involved in major stories and projects in some capacity from the start

    Cons

    Contributor moderation is a pain

    Forbes2019-12-15
  4. Helpful (7)

    "A great place to work for a year or two then GET OUT!"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - N/A in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Forbes full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    -Some great people work here, unfortunately they are pushed out and treated poorly -A great brand name - will look good on your resume -A great place to work for a year a two then, get out -Good work life balance

    Cons

    -Management is a mess -Many continuous restructures in order to fix problems across the organization, instead of firing or fixing the actual problem -No career growth opportunity -Management only promotes employees that are incompetent and white - so they can control you -Unless you're on the sales or product team - you won't be treated with any respect -Underpaid because they use the Forbes brand name -Located in JERSEY CITY -Many mean internal departments -HR is useless and let's racism and poor treatment slide

    Continue reading
    Forbes2019-09-24
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Great enviroment"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Jersey City, NJ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Forbes part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Location, environment, staff, clean, modern

    Cons

    None that I can think of

    Forbes2019-05-30
  6. "Great place to work."

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Operations Manager in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Forbes full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Top brand with professional people dating back to when Malcolm Forbes was still in charge!

    Cons

    I cannot think of any major detractors.

    Forbes2018-12-21
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Like Family: Loving and Dysfunctional."

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Forbes full-time

    Pros

    The people the people the people the people. Incredible, driven, smart, fun, great people. Among the best in media.

    Cons

    The business has been under painful pressure for a decade, skidding from one bad PE ownership structure to another. This has created a lot of problems as the numbers never, ever match up with the projected expectations of the pitchbooks during the sales. It's a never-ending scramble for User growth, page views, ad impressions, slideshows, and on and on. It will never end. That's the reality of the industry, and Forbes, with no larger organization to lean on for help, has been hit harder than most.

    Continue reading
    Forbes2018-11-02
  8. "Good company, great benefits"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Forbes full-time

    Pros

    Exposure to great content, great benefits

    Cons

    Doesn't pay too well, not a fan of company culture

    Continue reading
    Forbes2018-10-31
  9. "Manager"

    4.0
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Forbes full-time

    Pros

    Enjoyed working with various teams.

    Cons

    Salary can be challenging.

    Forbes2018-09-07
  10. Helpful (5)

    "Boss was a micromanager"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Event Manager in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Forbes full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Access you get to plan events with amazing sponsors, high networth people, influencers and world changers

    Cons

    My boss was a total micromanager and she has been there for decades. If you're not working in sales or editorial then the company culture is super old school, especially in the events department. Very little room for growth and mentorship in her department. Base pay is very low and small raises come every 2 years or so.

    Continue reading
    Forbes2018-09-12
Found 127 reviews