GCI Reviews | Glassdoor

GCI Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 131 reviews

3.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
73%
Recommend to a Friend
82%
Approve of CEO
GCI CEO Ronald Duncan
Ronald Duncan
87 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Upper management can be difficult to work with(in 10 reviews)

  • "Alaska has long winters for some(in 8 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great Company Overall"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at GCI full-time

    Pros

    Commissions, Amazing Benefits package, ability to move around within company, supports community

    Cons

    Treats employees poorly, lack of structure

    GCI2019-05-22
  2. "Company with Heart"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at GCI full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    GCI thinks and cares for their employees. I have worked for very large and mid size corporations. GCI does have heart and tries to do everything very respectfully. Most organizations aren't as upstanding with the hard conversations, GCI faces it head on with heart.

    Cons

    Communication doesn't filter down to Managers and Employees effectively. I am optimistic they have figured this out for the future.

    Advice to Management

    Going forward you need to win your employees with new technology for them to be the ambassadors for their neighbors and community.

    GCI2019-05-13
  3. "Good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service in Anchorage, AK
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at GCI full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    Provided opportunity to learn and grow.

    Cons

    One can get so busy that one misses opportunities that are close by.

    Advice to Management

    Provide even more development opportunities for employees. Focus even more on growing them. They in turn grow the company.

    GCI2019-05-11
  4. "Great local company getting too big for its britches"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Network Engineer 
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at GCI full-time for more than 20 years

    Pros

    Challenging work, latest technologies, good but declining benefits.

    Cons

    Frequent reorgs, no communication between the product managers and the groups that are supposed to make their vision happen. Frequent changes in scopes of work. Too many single points of failure in a positional sense. No equity in pay. You can come in very low, work your way up for years, and the unqualified person that replaces you makes magnitudes more than you ever did, when they decided not to promote you further...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Quit chasing ebitda growth in a saturated market. Find opportunities to grow, and quit relying on government subsidies to make your revenue targets. If you do, read the fine print and make sure that the terms of those subsidies are well understood.

    GCI2019-05-12
  5. "Senior Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I have been working at GCI

      Pros

      Great company that cares about their employees. Awesome 401K match of up to 10%. I’ve been with the company for 17 years and although it’s had it challenges with a state recession, it communicated its challenges to its employees.

      Cons

      It’s a very fast-paced company, which I like but some may find this challenging.

      GCI2019-04-10
    • "GCI is a great place to work"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Systems Administrator in Anchorage, AK
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at GCI full-time for more than 6 years

      Pros

      People company. They really try to take care of you

      Cons

      No sick leave is the only negative I can think of

      Advice to Management

      Do not make the company to corporate

      GCI2019-04-03
    • "Great entry level job"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in Juneau, AK
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at GCI full-time for more than 4 years

      Pros

      - Generous benefits including: discounts on products and services, 401k and health benefits, Alaska Airline miles for customer surveys, my team was always supportive and encouraging.

      Cons

      Major communication disconnect from Anchorage corporate to other Southeast Alaska stores, transitioning to another system has wreaked havoc on their services and wait times, angry customers.

      Advice to Management

      Take care of your employees, and show some love to the reps that put out fires everyday. Don't allow abuse to customer service reps, make sure stores are fully staffed so people can take a break.

      GCI2019-02-22
    • "Store Manager"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

        I worked at GCI

        Pros

        Growth, involved, innovative, forwarding thinking

        Cons

        Customers, needs better communication between departments

        Advice to Management

        Continue treating your employees with the upmost respect and keep wanting your employees to be the best they can be

        GCI2019-02-09
      • Helpful (3)

        "Poor politics"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Technician IIII in Anchorage, AK
        No opinion of CEO

        I worked at GCI full-time for more than 20 years

        Pros

        Life insurance, medical insurance, dental insurance, free cable, 401K, good benefits.

        Cons

        No job security, terminated after 17 years when new company took over.

        GCI2019-03-12
      • Helpful (2)

        "Replace all management!!"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Doesn't Recommend
        Negative Outlook
        Disapproves of CEO

        I have been working at GCI full-time for more than 6 years

        Pros

        Benefits. 'You must enter at least 5 words for Pros' (GlassDoor error message)

        Cons

        I am seriously sick of managing for my supervisor. At best, he/she should be at the first level in my department. Directors and VP's have no interest at all in the people below them or how the teams are managing. They think my supervisor has been managing my department all along when he/she does the absolute minimum every single day. If the pay and benefits were not so good, I would absolutely not still be at GCI. I...

        Show More

        Advice to Management

        Can you please make people manage? Seriously, management in this entire company is literally killing your bottom line.

        GCI2019-02-20
      Found 131 reviews