GNC Reviews | Glassdoor

GNC Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 2171 reviews

2.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
46%
Recommend to a Friend
38%
Approve of CEO
GNC CEO Ken Martindale
Ken Martindale
202 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Upper management likes to threaten your job over pro access sales(in 165 reviews)

  • "Sales goals can be unreasonable(in 138 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at GNC full-time

    Pros

    Good company culture and training

    Cons

    Partially commission based, huge pressure on pro and adas

    GNC2019-03-06
  2. "Great Comany!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager in Grand Haven, MI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at GNC full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great team, Great Boss, employee discount

    Cons

    Low pay, unorganized at times, and raises are small and very seldom

    Advice to Management

    Take better care of the little guys out there selling day in and day out.

    GNC2019-04-21
  3. "Very Laid Back and Relaxing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at GNC part-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    The job is easy. If you know your products, your hourly rate has the potential to skyrocket through the roof. Good source of income for college students looking to get by.

    Cons

    Forced to up sell customers. For example, I do not agree with shoving products in the customers face if they are coming in looking for a protein bar or an energy drink. I am pretty sure GNC is going downhill and the upper management is pressuring the sales associates to bring the company back up. There are not many opportunities for advancement and lunch breaks are non existent.

    Advice to Management

    Just understand that shoving products in the customers face has the ability to turn them away. Trust our ability to build a relationship, gain the trust from customers and everything else will take care of itself.

    GNC2019-04-21
  4. "Great Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at GNC part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Practice talking to people and customers

    Cons

    Low Pay as well as demanding requirement

    GNC2019-04-19
  5. "Good entry level"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Sales Associate 

      I worked at GNC part-time

      Pros

      Good entry sales job for college students

      Cons

      No opportunity for growth for position

      GNC2019-04-15
    • "Great Experience with Health Products"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Sales Associate in Chicago, IL

      I worked at GNC part-time

      Pros

      You learn a great deal about health products and have the opportunity to help others achieve their fitness goals

      Cons

      You are incentivized to push certain projects, even if they are not the ones you believe are the best

      GNC2019-04-10
    • "Manager"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Store Manager in Valdosta, GA
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at GNC full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      I loved my RSD, my associates and customers. Attitude is everything!

      Cons

      Salary and no lunch

      Advice to Management

      Attitude and perspective is everything when it comes to the multiple changes and demands the company will put on you.

      GNC2019-04-09
    • "Great Company"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Sales Associate 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at GNC part-time

      Pros

      Easy job, great products, fun team

      Cons

      Can be very slow at times. Were pressured to sell KPIs back then (I think they have done away with that now)

      GNC2019-04-05
    • "Average Sales job"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Current Employee - GNC Sales Associate in Tuscaloosa, AL
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        No opinion of CEO

        I have been working at GNC part-time for more than a year

        Pros

        Discounts and opportunity to learn new things

        Cons

        Constantly changing employee benefits and chances for bonuses

        GNC2019-04-04
      • "Easy, Should Have Prior Nutrition Knowledge"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Sales Associate 

        I have been working at GNC part-time (Less than a year)

        Pros

        Easy to memorize Simple tasks apart from register handling Slow to medium paced

        Cons

        Can get very slow & boring Repetitive

        GNC2019-04-04
      Found 2171 reviews