Genapsys Reviews

Updated Jul 27, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.0
81%
Recommend to a Friend
78%
Approve of CEO
Genapsys Founder and CEO Hesaam Esfandyarpour
Hesaam Esfandyarpour
32 Ratings
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (1)

    "Good work, Great people, Best mission"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Scientist in Redwood City, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Genapsys full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    I have been with the company for a few years. I think the level of research and the caliber of work is as good as it gets. The people are very friendly and always go out of their way to help each other out. Rarely have I seen this many smart people work so well together, focused and determined. The mission is great too, enabling researchers to have uncompromised access to DNA sequencing! Can't get much better than that. Very good benefits, free lunch, amazing office, happy hours, flexible hours, etc. People are recognized for the their work.

    Cons

    Work load gets challenging at times, but that's a startup thing.

    Continue reading

    Genapsys Response

    January 31, 2020Director, People and Culture

    Thanks very much for your feedback and review; we really appreciate it, and for the contribution you are making to GenapSys!

  2. "Great company with really amazing technology and dedicated team."

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Scientist 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Genapsys full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Very dedicated, driven and nice team Good pay and great benefits Flexible hours

    Cons

    We need more people as we are expanding

    Genapsys Response

    August 3, 2020Director, People and Culture

    We really appreciate you sharing your experience and feedback with us. We are especially happy to hear you enjoy working with your team. Your point about needing more people is well taken. Thank you for being a part of GenapSys and for your impact.


  3. Helpful (9)

    "I made a big mistake joining."

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Redwood City, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Genapsys full-time

    Pros

    There are some good people here. Free lunch.

    Cons

    Management doesn't care one iota about employees', health, family life, etc. CEO stated people need to work 100 times as hard as at companies with 100 times as many workers, insults people for taking breaks even on long workdays, etc. Disrespectful treatment is commonplace. I easily provided more than double the value I was paid for and received no bonus, and heard many complain about not getting bonuses. I worked very hard and got very little credit. It was endemic. Lying and misleading are common. Break room is empty. Bonus is a mirage. Management plays favorites and is not nice. Very miserly. Raises and bonuses barely exist. There is a lot of secrecy. I did myself no favors by working here. I regret it. Management focuses way more on critiques than praise and it depresses people. My advice to anyone who must work here is ask for whatever bonus they offer as part of salary, because it's the only way you'll probably get it. Management pretends to be changing things that are obvious, but it's been happening for years and they won't change. I wouldn't recommend anyone I care about work here. It will drain your soul and you will regret it. I enjoyed every other job I had and made a big mistake trusting these people. Just say no!

    Continue reading

    Genapsys Response

    February 3, 2020Director, People and Culture

    Thanks for the review, and for your service to GenapSys. We are sorry to hear that you didn't have a good experience here. We hope you find the environment you're looking for in a company, and wish you the best of luck in your next endeavor. For those reading, I'll share that GenapSys is not the right place for everyone. We do move incredibly fast - things change rapidly, we have a bias for action, and constant improvement. Our team members are here because they get meaning out of doing good work, solving challenging problems, and working with a group of really smart yet humble people to drive change. At the end of the day, we do operate quickly and have demanding expectations of both the speed and quality of work that people deliver. And during the annual performance review process, if an employee's performance is ranked as 'below expectations' they are not eligible for the bonus payout.

  4. "Great company with a great mission"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Administrative in Redwood City, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Genapsys full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    This is a great company with a great mission! Everyone here is super smart and talented. They have great perks; like free lunches and snacks, happy hours, fancy tea, summer picnic and cool swags. The view and location of this office is amazing as well. Very focus company with an exciting product that will change the world. Everyone here is so dedicated!

    Cons

    Hours here can be long, however they are flexible as well

    Genapsys Response

    January 31, 2020Director, People and Culture

    Thanks very much for your feedback and review; we really appreciate it, and for the contribution you are making to GenapSys!

  5. "Good place to work"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Full Time in Redwood City, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Genapsys full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    A lot to learn and put in your past experience. Free lunches, Fancy Tea, and Happy hours. The product is great.

    Cons

    Work Life Balance Pace of work may increase time to time.

  6. Helpful (1)

    "Great company & interesting technology"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Manufacturing Engineer in Redwood City, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Genapsys full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I have been working at Genapsys for less than a year, but I give it high marks. A lot of the reviews on here seem more negative than they should be in my opinion. Yes, things change quickly and there is a lot of work to do... but it's a startup! My manager is excellent, I am challenged with the work I am doing, and I am learning more and more every day.

    Cons

    The work hours can be long and the direction can change drastically and frequently, but again, it's a startup! I think that's part of the package.

    Continue reading

    Genapsys Response

    May 30, 2019Director, People, Culture & HR

    Thanks so much for your review and feedback, and for the contributions you and your colleagues are making to GenapSys. Happy to hear that your overall experience has been positive. Your feedback is well taken and if we can do anything to make this a five-star experience for you, please do let me know - radhika@genapsys.com

  7. "Great job"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Research Scientist in Redwood City, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Genapsys full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great management and work environment

    Cons

    Tough to move ahead at this company

  8. Helpful (11)

    "Toxic culture! Terrible CEO! Misleading facade!"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Bioinformatician 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Genapsys full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    There is no clear direction, so you can spend time learning whatever you like as the CEO wouldn't even understand if it's in line with company direction.

    Cons

    Awfully rude CEO who is a narcissist and a liar. They hire foreign workers with the promise of sponsorship and they abuse these poor workers without sponsoring them for years! Everyone is angry and doubtful of their colleagues! Modern day slavery true to the word.

    Continue reading

    Genapsys Response

    April 8, 2019Director, People, Culture & HR

    Thank you for taking time to leave a review; we value hearing what's going well and what we can improve upon. I'm genuinely sorry to hear about your experience at GenapSys. What I do know is that our team is deeply committed to achieving our mission/making impact in the world. Specifically, regarding immigration support, it might be helpful to know that we have a very clear immigration policy, and we discuss that with all potential hires before they accept the offer. If you are comfortable reaching out, I would like to learn more about your perceptions and experience: radhika@genapsys.com

  9. Helpful (1)

    "Great place to work!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Redwood City, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Genapsys full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I love my job here. It is a fast-paced startup, where you get to work on something groundbreaking with a highly talented, multi-disciplinary team. Friendly and helpful colleagues that are motivated to advance the mission. Your contribution, especially if you work hard, is appreciated and valued, regardless of your title or level in the organization. The new HR team has brought about some much-needed enhancements to the culture. Great location, with a shuttle from Caltrain and a beautiful view of the water.

    Cons

    Make the compensation more in line with the market Offer a 401k match

    Continue reading

    Genapsys Response

    January 23, 2019Director, People, Culture & HR

    Thanks so much for your review; we appreciate your feedback. We upgraded our benefits recently and are in the process of reviewing the total compensation, and some of the other issues that you highlight. Thanks for your service to GenapSys and if you have additional feedback, please reach out to us: hr@genapsys.com

  10. Helpful (2)

    "New player in the field of NGS"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Member of Technical Staff in Redwood City, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Genapsys full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Great mission to enable low cost Gene sequencing - Multi-disciplinary projects with a lot of potentials for innovation - Very smart and friendly colleagues in different fields - Flexible time - Startup envirement with great career growth potential - Excellent office location with a waterfront view - Daily lunch, weekly tea time, happy hours and many other social events

    Cons

    - Limited time to explore different solutions for each problem

    Continue reading

    Genapsys Response

    December 5, 2018Director, People, Culture & HR

    Thank you for taking the time to write this review! We appreciate your input and are happy to hear you’re enjoying your experience here. Indeed, working in a startup with an ambitious vision is like building a car while we are driving it! We are definitely committed to hiring great talent. Thank you again for your feedback and for all that you do.

Found 41 reviews