Genesco Reviews | Glassdoor

Genesco Reviews

Updated Sep 10, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.8
36%
Recommend to a Friend
57%
Approve of CEO
Genesco CEO Bob Dennis
Bob Dennis
56 Ratings
Pros
  • "The employee discount is 40% which really helps cause the shoes are definitely not cheap(in 14 reviews)

  • "I love what our company stands for (Journeys) with the attitude that cares campaign and our involvement with Warped Tour(in 7 reviews)

Cons
  • "13 and hour in Nov and Dec but from Jan-April I was making barely making minimum wage(in 7 reviews)

  • "No one is ever on the same page(in 6 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Genesco is a great place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Accountant 

    I have been working at Genesco full-time

    Pros

    Genesco is a great place to work!

    Cons

    The food in the cafe is not always up to par.

    Genesco2019-07-16
  2. "Amazing benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Product Development Manager in Nashville, TN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Genesco full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    benefits, flexible work schedule, free clinic

    Cons

    location next to the airport

    Advice to Management

    continue with non-profit events

    Genesco2019-09-11
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Family Culture but poor compensation"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Merchandiser 

    I worked at Genesco full-time

    Pros

    they try to create a family culture.

    Cons

    poor compensation at corporate level. Store employees are compensated better than the corporate employees.

    Advice to Management

    bridge the gap between the executives and rest of corporate.

    Genesco2019-06-14
  4. "Corrupt HR and Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Genesco full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Regular hours 3pm to 12pm

    Cons

    Not allowed to take time off from August through beginning of January. Managment does not care about agents will fire you even when you go above and beyond what they ask. Everything is a popularity contest. They say "promote from within" but thats only if you are friends with managment. Was overlooked multiple times for position, they promoted other people that did not know the job and didnt even meet... job posting requirements. They were friends of higher ups.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Fire the team leads, managers and supervisors that are playing games and trying to fire people for no reason, while they ignore the rules being broken by their friends. Or at least hire a HR agency that is third party and going to actually do their job and stop workplace favoritism and harassment instead of ignore it.

    Genesco2019-07-11
  5. "Journeys Call Center"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in Nashville, TN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Genesco full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great company benefits. Employee discount.

    Cons

    Upper management is very disorganized and does not treat their employees well. Their point system is the worst point system I’ve ever experienced. 2 points per call out on a Friday, Saturday, and Sunday due to numerous call outs on the weekends and they have a high turn over rate. Unloyal management team for long time employees. Little to no room for advancement. Will stay in same position more than 2-5 years.

    Advice to Management

    Make sure your employees are genuinely happy to be apart of your company. Fair treatment. Get better organization within the call center.

    Genesco2019-05-21
  6. "Credit manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Credit Manager in Nashville, TN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Genesco full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Fair, stable, good culture, financially healthy

    Cons

    Not enough growth opportunities. Bonus program was ok at best

    Genesco2019-05-16
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Hire from within"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Genesco full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great opportunities for growth if you know the right people.

    Cons

    Promotions are based on who you know not what you know. You have to be really "in" with the hiring manager

    Genesco2019-05-18
  8. "Genesco CSR"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in Nashville, TN

    I worked at Genesco part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good coworkers. Managers are fair .

    Cons

    Short breaks were not the best.

    Advice to Management

    Add more soft perks for your employees.

    Genesco2019-03-29
  9. "Not HR compliant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant ASM Manager in Universal City, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Genesco full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The staff that worked as a 1 not individual's

    Cons

    HR representation is not what someone should act or treat bias on the management opinion when it's another manager involved. There shouldn't be just 1 store manager it should be co shared. To avoid incidents

    Advice to Management

    Make sure what you have written is sufficient enough to stand in court. As once told a single sentence or detail not clearly written correctly and legible could be the reason one walks away with everything including the company as whole for not evaluating anything and thinking that your wealth can buy someone like me out. I'm not sell out. Remember I made you guys 145k off the 1.5 million in profit sales.

    Genesco2019-03-21
  10. "Director"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Genesco full-time

    Pros

    Good people with the right attitude Strong values and morals

    Cons

    Little pay for performance, misaligned incentive plan Can be slow to institute change

    Genesco2018-10-24
Found 137 reviews