GitLab Reviews

Updated May 10, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
4.6
90%
Recommend to a Friend
98%
Approve of CEO
GitLab CEO Sid Sijbrandij
Sid Sijbrandij
176 Ratings
Pros
  • "The handbook is not a marketing tool(in 26 reviews)

  • "100% Remote work with a focus on results over hours(in 24 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "If remote work doesn't agree with your mindset, this isn't the place for you(in 23 reviews)

  • "Working fully remote isn't for everyone(in 10 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year
      Featured Review

      Amazing Company - Absolute Unicorn!

      Dec 31, 2020 - Security Assurance Engineer 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      GitLab holds true to its values!! Most companies talk about their values, but do not implement. GitLab puts their values into action and holds employees accountable! Amazing, smart, supportive, invested and understanding folks is what it's all about at GitLab!! I am grateful to be a part of this family!

      Cons

      There is nothing negative I can report - so far so good!

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    2. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Dream job

      May 7, 2021 - Sales Development Representative (SDR) 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Remote Work Asynchronous workstyle work/life balance room for growth

      Cons

      Some people are tired, have been here for a while and maybe have a jaded view of things (as with any startup/new company)

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Great company but needs to innovate internally

      Mar 18, 2021 - Current Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      GitLab is an absolutely amazing company to work for! I love the flexibility the all-remote organization has. Everyone is super passionate about what they do. Leadership is very approachable and it's an exciting place to be. There are a lot of cool initiatives taking place to push the organization further. I'm so fortunate to work for a company like GitLab and the sky is the limit.

      Cons

      Only two cons that are top of mind since I've been here: 1. Tone it down on the wokeness a bit. I'm all for Diversity, Inclusion, Belonging but at times I feel like I can only go so far here since I'm a "white male." I've heard this term more at GitLab than any other job and it's exhausting. It makes me fearful for advancing because of my "identity" and not on "merit." 2. There needs to be some changing internally to how we operate. There's major communication overload and at times it feels to internally focused. What worked when the company was 500 people, doesn't work anymore now that we are 1300. I'd encourage leadership to be open to new ways of working and experiment more. There is a lot of fear of losing the all-remote culture, but GitLab can continue to be an innovator in this space if they try out new things.

      Continue reading
      6 people found this review helpful
    4. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Great Company Culture

      Apr 22, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great culture, and collaboration across the multiple teams. Remote only company, but they provide lots of outlets to team members to emulate water cooler banter, and friends and family days to avoid employee burnout! Excellent communication to employees with an "Ask Me Anything" opportunity.

      Cons

      Remote learning is more on your own than a hands on experience, and unlike other companies. All information is out there for employee, but up to you to take the time and learn content

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Awesome product! The people part has some challenges.

      Mar 16, 2021 - Solutions Architect 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      * GitLab's DevOps platform is well liked by its customers. * The culture is real for the most part. * Smart & diligent coworkers.

      Cons

      * DevSecOps is, for the most part, just other developers open source projects integrated into GitLab. * GitLab's obsession to take over the DevOps landscape may ostracize potential partners * High number of five star reviews for folks that are in the honeymoon phase. Of course it's five stars; that's why you joined! * Some slightly toxic mid level managers. Do your homework before joining! * Planned IPO in November 2020 was pushed off because of Covid. That being said, you'll want to verify that options are worth much as it's likely close to an exit. * Compensation is ok. GitLab's USP was that it was an all remote company & that's why you could take less. With Covid, that USP is a bit less compelling. That said, GitLab knows how to make remote work work.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    6. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Amazing! All around great environment & company.

      Mar 29, 2021 - Senior Business Analyst 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Everyone is super nice, willing to help, and wants your opinion. 100% remote, flexible to travel and live anywhere. Fantastic work-life balance. Annual company-wide retreat somewhere cool. No one sends emails - just Slack. Pick your own work hours. Great trajectory. Company is doing very well and people are excited about it’s future.

      Cons

      Figuring out the best way to communicate with people can be tough sometimes

      2 people found this review helpful
    7. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Great culture

      May 10, 2021 - Marketing Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great benefits, flexibility, all remote

      Cons

      Using our own product to run the business can be cumbersome and time consuming in some disciplines

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Good culture

      Apr 25, 2021 - Sales Development Representative in Seattle, WA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Culture is a major plus here. Good work life balance

      Cons

      Career development can sometimes feel stalled

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Mixed, but good learning opportunity

      Feb 22, 2021 - Support Engineer 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Lots of push to learn and grow your skills - Plenty of fun people to work with - Interesting challenges to solve, you're never bored - Good work life balance (on the support team at least) - The unlimited PTO is real, at least on the support team - Lots of people that you can lean on for help when you need it, I've never felt silly and was never talked down to for asking an honest question.

      Cons

      - Your experience working here is highly dependent on your individual manager and team - Upper management seems kind of out of touch with individual contributors - Pay is well below market, raises are meh, benefits are meh - Very little career growth potential - High turnover, hiring too slow to backfill so a lot of teams seem to have more work than available team members can handle - Diversity and Inclusion efforts need to improve at the upper management level

      Continue reading
      4 people found this review helpful
    10. 5.0
      Current Employee

      A company that lives its values

      Mar 25, 2021 - Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      All-remote, great work/life balance with one of the most generous PTO policies around, amazing co-workers, no shortage of interesting problems to work on and growth opportunities.

      Cons

      It's a fast growing, late-stage startup, and with that comes frequent change and more process, which is not for everybody.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 231 Reviews

    Popular Careers with GitLab Job Seekers

    Frontend Engineer
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews
    Sales Development Representative
    Learn About the Job

    Work at GitLab? Share Your Experiences

    GitLab logo
    or