GitLab Reviews

Updated May 17, 2022

To filter reviews, or .

Found 328 of over 352 reviews

4.6
90%
Recommend to a Friend
95%
Approve of CEO
GitLab CEO Sid Sijbrandij
Sid Sijbrandij
259 Ratings

What people are saying about GitLab

Join the conversation on

Referral and Opportunities

2m

works at 

Tata Consultancy

Hello fishes, I am in big trouble - I worked my ass off for more than 1 year and currently working in a ReactJS development team from last 4 months, however due to financial reasons i resigned and left with 45 days with no offer in-hand thinking like I will get one. Can anyone please refer with below tech stack please? TYOE - 3.10 Rel - 4-5 Months Techs: ReactJS, Javascript, HTML, CSS, Bootstrap, Styled-components, GIT, GitLab. I have already gave interview to - Wipro , cognizant, Infosys

1

11 Comments

Tech

207.1K Members 

Ask candid career questions

-1 - https://www.fishbowlapp.com/bowl/technology/posts?cf=gd&utm_medium=Glassdoor&utm_source=glassdoor.com&utm_campaign=Reviews&utm_content=Employer-content-prominent-Reviews&utm_term=GitLab~1296544
Join the conversation on

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
  • "The culture is amazing and the home office is not boring as other companies can be.(in 41 reviews)
  • "The people are great, GitLab makes a point of hiring good humans and it shows(in 26 reviews)
  • "Great teams throughout!(in 20 reviews)
  • "The transparency is amazing(in 17 reviews)
  • "great benefits(in 16 reviews)
Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of GitLab and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?
  1. 5.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Run, don’t walk to join GitLab!

    May 17, 2022 - SMB Account Executive in Irvine, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Working at GitLab has been a breath of fresh air compared to your typical tech companies. I have worked at lots of companies that have all the “bells & whistles” - great benefits, free food, unlimited PTO, slides in the office, you name it. Those companies also claimed transparency and that they cared about their employees, but their actions never compared to their claims. Gitlab on the other hand, I can say with complete confidence - they practice what they preach. They genuinely care about their employees and actively practice transparency in everything they do. No smoke and mirrors. I can’t even express how good it feels to be working somewhere that I am proud to be at & doesn’t hide anything behind closed doors. They not only care about you personally, but professionally, actively encouraging both vertical & horizontal growth to your career at GitLab while giving you the means to do so. On top of this, the people who work here are all so genuinely kind and willing to help. I feel so grateful to have gotten a job here! The recruiting / interview process was seamless and transparent, just like the company & product - I always knew what to expect and felt supported every step of the way. They are respectful of you and your time, ensuring that the process doesn’t last for weeks and weeks like typical interview processes. Overall, GitLab sets a prime example of how ALL companies should treat their employees. Keep it up!

    Cons

    No cons I can think of unless you think being fully remote is a bad thing!

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Amazing, high growth company.

    May 15, 2022 - Account Executive 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Amazing company to work for. Excellent career growth and the company cares about you. Leadership is always looking to find ways to advance your personal growth.

    Cons

    No cons at this time.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Great company to work for with excellent work/life balance.

    May 14, 2022 -  in San Antonio, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Work from home. Able to meaningfully contribute. Excellent family/work life balance (family first)

    Cons

    Lack of social interaction on a daily basis.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  4. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    SMB Account Executive

    May 8, 2022 - SMB Account Executive in Raleigh, NC
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great Leadership, fully-remote, great values, competitive salary, benefits.

    Cons

    Growing public company - a lot of iteration happens. Be ready for change and adapt to it.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 5.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    My favorite place to work, despite a sad resignation

    Jan 27, 2022 - Senior Support Engineer in San Francisco, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Amazing teammates who genuinely enjoy being part of the company’s success. Nice people disguises as executives who lead by example. One of my favorite memories was the CEO sharing a selfie of himself playing a video game in the middle of the work day because things had gotten too heavy with the pandemic, and he wanted us to feel comfortable taking a break

    Cons

    Things can get lost in translation, so don’t be afraid to ask “stupid” questions if you’re not sure about something.

    Continue reading
    30 people found this review helpful
  6. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Best company culture I've encountered

    May 5, 2022 - Product Analyst 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I've been raving about working for GitLab to everyone who will listen. I'm so glad I decided to take this job. GitLab does things in a completely unique way even for remote tech. Asynchronous work means less meetings, more trust, more flexibility, and more creativity. I love feeling completely comfortable working when I feel most productive and taking time to exercise or enjoy my life outside of work. I'm cranking out more work than I was ever able to at companies with 3-5 hours of meetings per day, and still fitting in all of the things I need to take care of myself like walking my dog at lunch.

    Cons

    There is a ton of documentation to read through to learn the product and team info which could be super difficult for some, but even if you are neurodiverse, there are plenty of resources to thrive. I downloaded a few text to speech tools which are super helpful.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  7. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Amazing company values, leadership and vision

    May 3, 2022 - CS Operations Analyst in San Francisco, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Had certain expectations when I joined and I am happy to say that the company has far surpassed them. The attention to making people feel that they belong, care for diversity and inclusion, remote work training, accommodations for creating your workspace, support for learning have all been amazing! My team and team leaders have all been super supportive, giving me the right balance between providing guidance and allowing for autonomy, which I really enjoy.

    Cons

    I have not identified many at all at this point in my journey with GitLab. This is going to sounds odd, but maybe there is a bit too much documentation? Having too much of anything can make things be a little overwhelming. That is the only thing I can think of.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  8. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Asynchronous > Remote FOR LIFE

    Apr 28, 2022 - Senior Recruiter 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    A-synch communication makes working from home realistic Notes, documentation, source of truth allows everyone access and input, regardless of location Wide scope Results are based on metrics, not social performance

    Cons

    401k Benefits could be beefier (having come from other tech companies)

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  9. 5.0
    Former Employee, more than 5 years

    Amazing Product, People, Culture, and Customers

    Apr 14, 2022 - AREA SALES MANAGER in Wichita, KS
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    best place I've ever worked Leadership and team members live the CREDIT Values (Collaboration, Results, Efficiency, Diversity, Iteration, and Transparency). more transparent than anywhere I've worked you will learn a ton and come out a better person, focused on delivering value to your customers and team members.

    Cons

    post IPO culture not the same (not as fun) as the road to IPO

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  10. 4.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Great gig even with chalenges!

    May 1, 2022 - People Team 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    CEO - Genuine, open to change, approachable 100% Remote - No office to even think about having to go there IPO success - Great payout on my vested options

    Cons

    Sometime s slow to hold people accountable

    Be the first to find this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 328 Reviews

GitLab Reviews FAQs

GitLab has an overall rating of 4.6 out of 5, based on over 352 reviews left anonymously by employees. 90% of employees would recommend working at GitLab to a friend and 92% have a positive outlook for the business. This rating has been stable over the past 12 months.

According to anonymously submitted Glassdoor reviews, GitLab employees rate their compensation and benefits as 4.3 out of 5. Find out more about salaries and benefits at GitLab. This rating has improved by 2% over the last 12 months.

90% of GitLab employees would recommend working there to a friend based on Glassdoor reviews. Employees also rated GitLab 4.6 out of 5 for work life balance, 4.6 for culture and values and 4.3 for career opportunities.

According to reviews on Glassdoor, employees commonly mention the pros of working at GitLab to be career development, benefits, culture and the cons to be senior leadership, management.

Popular Careers with GitLab Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at GitLab? Share Your Experiences

or