Goosehead Insurance Reviews

Updated May 6, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
3.8
66%
Recommend to a Friend
89%
Approve of CEO
Goosehead Insurance Chairman and CEO Mark E. Jones
Mark E. Jones
380 Ratings
Pros
  • "That means that all the hard work you put out in your first few years is rewarded when those policies come up for renewal(in 53 reviews)

  • "Having a solid mix of tenured and newer agents brings a really cool mix to the company culture as well(in 27 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "I don't have anything negative to say about Goosehead(in 71 reviews)

  • "If you are afraid of hard work - this will not be the place for you(in 56 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Great for Agency Owners

      May 6, 2021 - Agency Manager in Everett, WA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Independence is huge for agency owners

      Cons

      None on the agency side of things

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Long term mindset

      Apr 25, 2021 - Sales Manager in Houston, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I've been with the company for close to 3 years, and the amount of growth/upward mobility is incredible. The people are amazing & invested in your success, lots of professional development opportunities, you will not dread coming into the office every morning, and the amount of money you can make is uncapped (residual income). It's a fast paced environment, and I love that you do not have to be in the office 24/7. You get to do a lot of networking, LOTS of free food, and great events. This is not a job, this is a career and you want to have a long term mentality.

      Cons

      It can be overwhelming at first, just as in any other sales job, however if you are coachable and are willing to follow the model you WILL be successful. Building a network is the "hardest" part of the job. Sometimes it will take you a couple of months to get the hang of everything, be patient.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Patience is Key

      Apr 23, 2021 - Sales Manager in The Woodlands, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Goosehead allows you the freedoms and flexibility to find immediate levels of success - Office culture preaches inclusion, support, and hard work while also challenging those around you to be better than you were yesterday - In time, business relationships turn into personal friendships which are mutually beneficial to all parties involved - Annual income aggressively grows year over year, rather than by 1-3% - Goosehead is redefining the insurance industry, and providing an essential service needed by everyone - 401k, Roth IRA, Health, Vision, Dental benefits all offered

      Cons

      - Goosehead is a career which requires patience, as it can take varying amounts of time to find high levels of success. All the tools are handed to you to win, but sweat equity is a must as you build and develop your market. Any sales position to start is difficult as you cut your teeth, things are no different here. I've come from another industry and can assure that the grass is NOT always greener on the other side

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Unlimited Opportunity

      Mar 9, 2021 - Office Head in Dallas, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      -The career development is second to none. Leadership programs, mentorship, sales training, etc. You go from new agent to seasoned sales executive pretty quickly. -Money-I make more than my parents ever have and more than all my friends. -People- The people you work with become some of your best friends. People you invite to your wedding and truly become a part of your life. Being surrounded by positive high energy people makes for a very fun work environment. -Upward mobility- If you do your job well, the sky is the limit. With the growth the company has seen the ability to move up is 100% in your control. -Culture- It is a culture that demands the best of you and brings it out. In my time here I've been invested in by other sales people, managers, and top level executives. It is truly a culture of servant leadership and mentorship.

      Cons

      -Hard to get a job here. They don't just hire anyone. -It's hard work. You have to be able to multitask and be talented in multiple areas. Nothing worth doing is easy, and making the kind of money you can here comes through hard work and a good amount of banging your head against the wall in your first few months or first year. The company understands this and works very hard to provide training, 1-1 mentorship, and get you into a position where success is 100% in your control. In the end, it's worth it.

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    5. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Goosehead Insurance Account Executive

      Mar 18, 2021 - Account Executive - Memorial City in Houston, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Working at Goosehead has been phenomenal for me. I have been an account executive for the last 3 years and I must admit the 1st year is a grind but if you do just that (grind) and build a network, your income and freedom builds as well. I had my share of ups and downs but as a father of 2 little kids flexibility/work life balance is important and I've been able to accomplish both at a level that I never imagined. Goosehead has a team culture that wants you to exceed at every level. I've personally seen people come in with the right attitude and a year or 2 later they are in management position and the company is still growing. If you want to be successful, the training and management can help you get there if you are willing and the business model is structed in that way. All in all I have to say this is one of the best companies that I have ever worked for and I appreciate them understanding the essentials things that makes coming to work everyday enjoyable.

      Cons

      I have none...with this job, if you put in the work, everything you need will be right at your fingers tips.

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    6. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Great company, ran really well, fun environment!

      Apr 6, 2021 - Account Executive in Chicago, IL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Everyone at this company is amazing. Goosehead really invests in their employees and it shows, definitely the best run company I’ve seen in my professional life. It’s also a sense of community in the office, everyone gets along and is friends outside the office! I moved to a new city not knowing many people and met amazing people through this job, even in the pandemic. Lots of freedom also and great mix of outside and inside sales. They encourage you to get out of the office and use your expense account (they pay for pretty much everything) to build your network!

      Cons

      Like any sales job, it is a grind and hours can be long, but it’s never a negative environment because the office is so upbeat and fun. If you aren’t motivated and are not hungry for success, this will not be the job for you!

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    7. 1.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Not as great as it seems

      Mar 11, 2021 - Account Executive in Westlake, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      -You'll find some great friends within -Great networking opportunities -A lot of free coffee and lunches catered in

      Cons

      -Long hours to begin with but management wants you to come even earlier, stay later, and work weekends on top of that if you don't they will notice and treat you differently -Terrible pay structure they pitch it to you as a base plus commission position when in reality you have a drawl and working insane hours for extremely low pay -A literal frat house in the office, always chaotic (music blaring, people throwing footballs, coming back from lunches after drinking super loud, complete disregard to their surroundings) -Condescending managers if you aren't cool with them from the get go you're out casted and treated very poorly think of high school cliques and that is Goosehead -Not honest with clients about our products and pushed to refuse sales if the client will not give you more than one line of business and don't even get me started on GH "fees" -With COVID they do not let their teams know when someone is positive and certain managers don't even tell HR the try and hide it, all which is insane. They don't care about anything but money -At the end of the day you are just a number to them they don't care about their employees at all

      Continue reading
      8 people found this review helpful
    8. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 8 years

      GREAT place for A players, not so much for B & C players

      Mar 4, 2021 - Account Executive in Westlake, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Huge income potential at a young age, pure meritocracy, talented leadership team that truly cares about our success. You have the most incredible tools and technology to build a network and drive high quality lead flow. Goosehead is head and shoulders above anyone else in a $300B+ industry -- which translates to open season to hunt and win deals at a high rate. Incredible culture too -- very competitive people, but supportive of each other and a team that LOVES to win together. Growth creates opportunity -- 45% compound annual growth rate spawns so many upward mobility opportunities for our people. To put it simply this is the best place in the world for talented and ambitious A players to put down roots and grow an incredible career.

      Cons

      It is not the place for anyone who doesn't want big things in life and isn't willing to work for them. If you make excuses or tend to see the glass half empty you will just not fit in here.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    9. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      THE GOOSE!

      Mar 8, 2021 - Office Head in Houston, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      There are too many to share. However, the three that I will highlight is growth, financial freedom and culture. There are very few companies that offer potential growth and promotional opportunities for their employees. Especially within their first few years. I find that to be an incredible asset to a company when they actually care about employees and compensate based on merit within. Financial Freedom is the name of the game for just about any sales person. The way that Goosehead sets up their pay/compensation structure creates an opportunity to truly make as much money as you want/work for. Going into work every day knowing the people you work with and having a genuine relationship with them is extremely important. Which is why I love this job. I walk in daily with some of my best friends. We are the epitome of work hard play hard and that is exactly what I looked for since day1.

      Cons

      If you are a person that doesnt like to put your head down and grind then this is not for you. Nothing good in life comes easy though!

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    10. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      hard work, good comp, great career

      Apr 6, 2021 - Account Executive in Houston, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      -super fast paced, get to get out of the office and meet people. -management does a good job of bringing energy and helping new people -everyone on sales floor is willing to help -compensation is great, but it does take 2-3 years to start realizing that. Insurance is all about renewals and you start to realize those year 2/3/4/etc

      Cons

      -building a network is downplayed and it's a lot harder than it sounds. -sales can be cyclical (tied in to the home buying market), gotta be able to get leads when your network isn't feeding you as much in the slow months - it's a grind, but all of sales is.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 508 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Goosehead Insurance Job Seekers

    Account Executive
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews
    Customer Service Representative
    Learn About the Job
    Sales Development Representative
    Learn About the Job
    Business Development Representative
    Learn About the Job

    Work at Goosehead Insurance? Share Your Experiences

    Goosehead Insurance logo
    or