Grass Roots Group Reviews | Glassdoor

Grass Roots Group Reviews

Updated Aug 6, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 38 reviews

3.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
71%
Recommend to a Friend
79%
Approve of CEO
Grass Roots Group CEO Jonathan Kenny and Matt Howe (no image)
Jonathan Kenny and Matt Howe
3 Ratings
  1. "Friendly place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Production Coordinator in Liverpool, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Grass Roots Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Friendly place to work. Good environment

    Cons

    None really. Often breaks worked through

    Grass Roots Group2019-08-07
  2. "Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Finance Manager in Mumbai
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Grass Roots Group full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    I have found Excellent Work Environment

    Cons

    Aggressive Thinking is required at process level

    Advice to Management

    Not Applicable

    Grass Roots Group2019-06-29
  3. "Love this company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Executive 

    I worked at Grass Roots Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Excellent work culture Immense learning

    Cons

    Low salary growth Leadership is a bit weak

    Grass Roots Group2019-06-26
  4. "Software Developer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Mumbai

    I have been working at Grass Roots Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good place to work, Friendly atmosphere.

    Cons

    There are no cons one of the best companies to work with

    Advice to Management

    More Technologies needed

    Grass Roots Group2019-04-13
  5. "Good Venue Sourcing Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Venue Sourcing Consultant in Putney, England

    I have been working at Grass Roots Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good opportunity to build connections Nice people to work with

    Cons

    A high number of weekly site visits expected (can hugely affect daily life)

    Grass Roots Group2019-02-07
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Consultant - heavily operational and stressful"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Venue Consultant in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Grass Roots Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    You will go to fam trips fairly often and have access to some of the best hotels and restaurants in London and abroad. Suppliers come in with gifts, gadgets and goodies every week. Fun activities are organized on a regular basis.

    Cons

    Unfortunately this barely compensates for the pressure of the job, which is why people end up leaving. I have seen at least 10/15 staff go during my time in the company. Imagine a big office of sad-looking employees typing frantically on their keyboards while they try to meet unrealistic deadlines and barely have the time to speak to each other. The pressure is constant and recognition is non-existent. I have... literally seen people refuse holidays because they would get too many emails during their time away, which I thought was crazy. Make sure you know this is NOT event management but venue finding. It is highly operational and NOT creative at all. You will be robotically inputting data on the company system most of the time. This wasn’t very clear at interview stage for me. Management won’t recognize your efforts and most managers will be highly unapproachable.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Start recognizing staff for their effort or they will keep leaving. Stop favoritism. Pick approacheable managers, not people who can barely say hi when they meet you in the kitchen. Open your eyes to how much gossiping and back stabbing is going on in the office, or to people hiding in the toilet crying because they are under too much pressure. All the glitter of fam trips won’t retain staff.

    Grass Roots Group2018-09-13
  7. "Account Executive"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Grass Roots Group full-time

    Pros

    It was a great experience in general. Great work environment. It was a quite energetic entrepreneurial environment full of positive competitiveness.

    Cons

    Money incentives could have been better., in my opinion. If salary plus commission had been better, I would have stayed for sure.

    Advice to Management

    Listen more to your new employees.

    Grass Roots Group2018-04-22
  8. Helpful (3)

    "Used to love it"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Grass Roots Group full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    So many dedicated and loyal employees who saw Grass Roots as a family, not just an employer. Great benefits, great working atmosphere for most of my time there.

    Cons

    Changes in management brought about a period of unrest and lack of direction. Left the company feeling undervalued.

    Advice to Management

    The company has now been purchased by another and many of the people I used to work with have now left in their droves - why is that?

    Grass Roots Group2018-03-22
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Grass Roots"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Grass Roots Group full-time

    Pros

    The company has a good pension scheme and promotes flexible working. You get the opportunity to work with some fantastic high profile brands on nationwide campaigns . There were some lovely people and interesting project work to get stuck into I would say there was a healthy approach to work / life balance.

    Cons

    There has been a mass exodus of knowledge and talent since the company were bought by Black Hawk Network. The senior management team bred a culture of fear and made sweeping changes to the business structure without fully understanding all the GRG businesses. This resulted in the promotion of personnel to senior management positions who did not understanding our product portfolio and client base. Too often those... in senior client facing positions would prefer to focus their efforts on internal issues and politics as opposed to working actively towards building relationships with clients. The communication was poor from the top down and information was not cascaded out effectively to managers. There were significant issues with our products, personnel & internal services (call centre etc) all were frequently swept under the carpet and not dealt with.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    More investment in products and people and act on the internal issues. Be leaders and create a culture of openness and integrity and refocus efforts on the client base - people seem to forget that this is what pays their salaries. Oh and perhaps don't mention that you're only interested in hiring millennials.

    Grass Roots Group2018-03-26
  10. "Great Place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Contact Centre Administrator in Tring, England
    Recommends

    I worked at Grass Roots Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - good pay for student going on gap year - good staff - great company - good training

    Cons

    - a bit unorganised at times

    Grass Roots Group2018-02-02
Found 38 reviews