Hack Reactor Reviews | Glassdoor

Hack Reactor Reviews

Updated Jul 16, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 94 reviews

4.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
85%
Recommend to a Friend
91%
Approve of CEO
Harsh Patel
13 Ratings
Pros
  • "Hack Reactor was a very fun place to work(in 22 reviews)

  • "The team I worked with were fun, hard working and intelligent, but then again, that as the entire staff and students(in 7 reviews)

Cons
  • "Working at Hack Reactor was sometimes a hectic environment to work in(in 15 reviews)

  • "No training: Expect to be independent and very autonomous(in 4 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Great Place To Be"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    Former Employee - Assistant Instructor in Austin, TX
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Hack Reactor part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great support system where you felt comfortable going to ask questions or get clarifications. Lots of freedom to develop interventions/material for students. The work is worth doing and I was always excited to do it.

    Cons

    The fast pace of the program can be disorienting for people, for sure. You have to be ready and willing to adapt to changes in the content and the needs of the cohort.

    Advice to Management

    Model the Austin campus!

    Hack Reactor2019-02-05
  2. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Associate Instructor 
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Hack Reactor part-time for less than a year

      Pros

      - Strong sense of community - Focus on personal growth and development - Freedom to focus and learn what you want - Good professional and personal support system

      Cons

      - Fast paced, things can be hectic at times - Training / onboarding was lacking in some areas - management positions sometimes stretched too thin to provide proper training of tools and systems up front.

      Hack Reactor2019-07-16
    • "Great culture and company!"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Shepherd in San Francisco, CA

      I worked at Hack Reactor full-time for less than a year

      Pros

      - Great people overall - Everybody is willing to help - They are very flexible in general

      Cons

      - Galvanize culture could affect HR experience (just have to keep an eye on this)

      Advice to Management

      Keep the same vibe and philosophy from Market ST.

      Hack Reactor2019-01-12
    • "Great Culture"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Hacker In Residence in New York, NY
      Recommends
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Hack Reactor part-time for less than a year

      Pros

      Hack Reactor has been nothing but A+ from my time as a student to me being employed here. They take care of their staff, always ask for input during our weekly all-hands meetings and take it into serious consideration when making decisions. Upper management does weekly 1x1s with HiR's to check in with them and keep them aligned with their employment goals post-contract. Appreciated all the guidance and support while working...

      Show More

      Cons

      None I can think of

      Hack Reactor2018-12-15
    • "Hacker in Residence"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I have been working at Hack Reactor part-time

      Pros

      You get to know the staff side of things after working with them as a student. You can work on job searching on your down time.

      Cons

      It's difficult to manage time between working and everything else you need to do for the job search.

      Hack Reactor2018-12-01
    • "Software Engineering Teaching Assistant Role"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

        I worked at Hack Reactor full-time

        Pros

        Friendly staff and rewarding work.

        Cons

        The nature of a bootcamp can occasionally cause scheduling problems

        Hack Reactor2018-11-27
      • "Good and bad"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        No opinion of CEO

        I worked at Hack Reactor full-time

        Pros

        I felt that the product we offered students was truly valuable and the other people I worked with were also excited to be there. Lots of opportunity for advancement within the org for certain people.

        Cons

        Lack of management skills at all levels, massive gender bias problems for students and staff that were never addressed

        Hack Reactor2018-08-16
      • "Great mentorship and company culture"

        StarStarStarStarStar
          Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

          I worked at Hack Reactor part-time

          Pros

          Helping students go through the program, and a chance to get more mentorship from your technical mentors.

          Cons

          None that I found really.

          Hack Reactor2018-07-29
        • "Fullstack Engineer"

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
          Recommends
          Positive Outlook
          Approves of CEO

          I worked at Hack Reactor full-time for less than a year

          Pros

          Great experience, learning, curriculum, staff, and students.

          Cons

          Not the most plush facilities but they're moving soon!

          Hack Reactor2018-07-26
        • "Hacker in Residence - Teaching Assistance"

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Current Employee - Hacker In Residence 
          Recommends
          Positive Outlook
          Approves of CEO

          I have been working at Hack Reactor full-time for less than a year

          Pros

          Teaching Assistance position, aka Hacker in Residence, is offered to a few selected students from each cohort for a span of 12 weeks contract. It is a 40 hrs a week full-time position. As an HiR, we have direct impact and influence of the dynamic of the school. There are weekly staff meeting to talk about the status of current students in the cohort as well as improvements that can be made in the curriculum. Our...

          Show More

          Cons

          I am grateful for the opportunity to have gotten to work with Hack Reactor!

          Hack Reactor2018-07-12
        Found 94 reviews