Hawkes Learning Reviews | Glassdoor

Hawkes Learning Reviews

Updated Oct 30, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.6
62%
Recommend to a Friend
60%
Approve of CEO
Hawkes Learning President Jim Hawkes (no image)
Jim Hawkes
18 Ratings
  1. Helpful (2)

    "Rewarding, professional growth, supportive environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Mount Pleasant, SC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hawkes Learning full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -staff celebrations (we find a way to celebrate anything whether it’s a holiday or a Mac and cheese day!) -flexibility -supportive environment -incredible people -great training program

    Cons

    Since it’s located in Mount Pleasant, it may be a long commute depending on where you live. Charleston is a beautiful, growing city, so the traffic may be tricky. Make sure to ask staff’s opinion on the surrounding areas and their commutes during interview process as you consider where to relocate to. My colleagues and I commute from all over the Charleston area, so it’s doable, but definitely easiest if you live in Mount Pleasant!

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Keep supporting your staff! :) I really appreciate how I can have open communication with management and feel supported. I feel really valued as a professional and as a team player.

    Hawkes Learning2019-10-30
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Shipping Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Hawkes Learning part-time

    Pros

    Great environment. Pay was decent.

    Cons

    Management was not worried about employees enough.

    Hawkes Learning2018-08-22
  3. "Quality Assurance Overview"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Quality Assurance in Charleston, SC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hawkes Learning full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    This is a great place! I love the people and the environment created by management. If you do your best to take on projects there is always a place for you!

    Cons

    It's a very small company, so it is tough at times to grow and take on new roles. But still great place to work!

    Advice to Management

    Continue to value your employees, and find roles for smart, driven people to fit into. Keep doing your awesome team building things too!

    Hawkes Learning2018-06-15
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Great place for first time employment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Hawkes Learning part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The work environment is fun and constantly changing. They are extremely flexible and understanding when it comes to your schedule.

    Cons

    I have heard from former employees that it is hard to move up. The pay is not competitive compared to other tech companies that are near here.

    Hawkes Learning2018-04-02
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Growing Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hawkes Learning full-time

    Pros

    Work with really great people.

    Cons

    Not enough resources to do your job well.

    Hawkes Learning2017-12-03
  6. Helpful (5)

    "A True Embarrassment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I worked at Hawkes Learning

    Pros

    The location is nice, it’s in Mt. Pleasant and has some pretty surrounding areas, and that’s about all I can think of.

    Cons

    The employees there are TERRIBLE. Rude, belittling, just all around completely unprofessional with the way they treat other workers. There have been instances of public humiliation, where people will just pretend nothing happened and go on about their day. In need of some reality checks.

    Advice to Management

    Clean house.

    Hawkes Learning2017-11-24
  7. "Excellent team & mission!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Hawkes Learning full-time

    Pros

    Top notch staff. Fun atmosphere. Purposeful work. Sincere commitment to customer service.

    Cons

    Limited resources because smaller company.

    Hawkes Learning2017-09-24
  8. Helpful (8)

    "A Terrible Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Hawkes Learning for more than a year

    Pros

    From my time at Hawkes, I met a fair share of kind people and honest employees, and was reminded of just how extreme a bad work environment can be.

    Cons

    Leave your dignity at the door! While I can certainly say that I met a lot of wonderful people there, I can also say that I met and worked with terrible ones. Of course, one expects to have to work with some jerks wherever they're employed, but this was truly different. Some employees should have truly been handed a box and thrown out immediately for their mistreatment of others. I was taken advantage of by the supervisors, who knew they were understaffed, in efforts to keep me there. I was also spoken to, numerous times, like a parent reprimanding a mischievous child or perhaps a stray dog. The design area was particularly atrocious: belittling, demeaning, and with absolutely no evident interest in keeping a coworker motivated through the use of any sort of constructive criticism. They were constantly understaffed, and I was able to see why. Ultimately, employees carrying this idea that demeaning another on such a personal level is in any way a form of professional criticism is only an embarrassment to themselves. I was able to walk away with this knowledge, and with my dignity intact. I cannot say the same in regards to dignity for the aforementioned.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    There is simply no excuse for the profoundly unprofessional employees there to still have jobs. Most companies would have no tolerance for such behavior, and I advise the management to strongly consider doing a bit of housecleaning.

    Hawkes Learning2017-04-08
  9. Helpful (7)

    "Anonymous"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Hawkes Learning

    Pros

    The only positive I can say is that Hawkes is in the beautiful city of Charleston. Other than that it's a terrible company that will not be around for much longer.

    Cons

    The people. Very stuck up and pretentious with unrealistic expectations. Very clicky and non inclusive. I've seen so many people treated terribly and let go out of the blue. The management is rude and the CEO is crazy. A bunch of clueless people. And they TERRIBLE technology internally!

    Advice to Management

    Just do better. Everything needs improvement.

    Hawkes Learning2016-07-02
  10. "Great Company to Work With"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Curriculum Developer, Contractor in Lakewood, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hawkes Learning for less than a year

    Pros

    They sincerely care about the learning process for students They collaborate with the developer in creating a quality product Quick turnaround pay

    Cons

    As a contractor, there is always a waiting period until the next project begins. There is probably a long list for new hires on a full-time basis.

    Hawkes Learning2016-05-25
Found 26 reviews