KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo
See All Photos

HealthMarkets

Engaged Employer

HealthMarkets

Add a Review

HealthMarkets Reviews

Updated Apr 21, 2022

To filter reviews, or .

Found 337 of over 440 reviews

3.6
80%
Recommend to a Friend
86%
Approve of CEO
HealthMarkets President Mark Smith (no image)
Mark Smith
20 Ratings

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
  • "Great Training followed by fantastic support in a office that wants you to succeed!(in 36 reviews)
  • "Great people to work with.(in 13 reviews)
  • "The insurance industry is a great income for those who work very hard, and HealthMarkets makes it easy to get up and going.(in 7 reviews)
  • "Health Markets provides a great opportunity to begin a career building your own business.(in 7 reviews)
  • "Great leadership, technology and sharing of best practices.(in 7 reviews)
Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of HealthMarkets and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years
    Featured Review

    Working at HealthMarkets

    Jul 28, 2021 - Senior Consultant 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Flexible working environment and high compensation. They care about their agents and brokers and do everything they can to support them

    Cons

    None. A license is required of all agents. Periodic Certifications for specific product lines are required

    1 person found this review helpful
  2. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Great company

    Jun 29, 2021 - Insurance Broker 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great people to work with.

    Cons

    Very difficult to start out in.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. 3.0
    Current Employee

    Changing leadership and changing pace

    Apr 21, 2022 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Pays well Immediate managers are amazing

    Cons

    Lots of changes to senior management Pace, direction, and projects shift often

    1 person found this review helpful
  4. 3.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    So so company

    Apr 5, 2022 - Customer Service Representative in North Richland Hills, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great benefits and great employees

    Cons

    Micromanagement was quite irritating most times

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 4.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Not a bad place to work

    Feb 19, 2022 - Insurance Agent in Brentwood, TN
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Lots of independence, lots of support, good offering of carriers and supplements, decent commissions.

    Cons

    Lots of chargebacks, high lead cost.

    2 people found this review helpful
  6. 4.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Good company

    Feb 20, 2022 - Market Area Representative in Omaha, NE
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Scott was an excellent manager. Had plenty of prospects to call. Other agents were helpful. Atmosphere of teamwork.

    Cons

    Many training modules to go through.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  7. 3.0
    Former Employee

    Tech

    Jan 28, 2022 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    good company, nice work environment

    Cons

    not too many cons for here

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  8. 1.0
    Former Employee

    Just don’t.

    Feb 17, 2022 - Sales Agent 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    You can make your own hours

    Cons

    Unethical sales practices Horrible sales leaders Low commissions Fees for leaving the company

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  9. 1.0
    Former Employee

    Don’t work for this disingenuous company.

    Jan 27, 2022 - Licensed Insurance Agent 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The online courses they have you do before you can write your own business is a great learning tool, especially for a green agent like myself. That was pretty much it!

    Cons

    Whatever you do don’t get sick and have to stay in the hospital for an extended length of time or they will first suspend you then terminate you without even calling you to see why you’ve been no contact for 6 weeks. As I was finishing up my online coursework and signing up with all the medical carriers I fell gravely ill. I was hospitalized for a little over 6 weeks, with 4 of those weeks in a medically induced coma for a neurological issue. Not once did anyone from my office call either my phone which my husband had, nor his phone, he was my emergency contact. When I was finally able to call them on Jan 4 I got no answer and the voicemail was full. I sent an email explaining that I was in the hospital and that I wanted to either finish up my course work or start over once I got an all clear from my doctors. I was told sorry about your health but because you didn’t contact us we had to suspend you. And after we didn’t hear from you about your suspension we terminated you. I again said I was very sick in the hospital and that I couldn’t communicate with anyone let alone call the office. I implored to please allow me to be reinstated due to medical issues as I could not help that. She said sorry but that’s the way it is. I then get a letter in the mail stating I can’t sell any health insurance until 6 months and if I owe any money I must pay it before I cdd as n start writing business again. Well since I wasn’t completely done with their course work and never wrote any business why are they holding me captive?

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  10. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Awesome Career

    Dec 14, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great place to build your last Career. Great support and Great Opportunity for someone looking to set their own income.

    Cons

    Must have self discipline and personal drive.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 337 Reviews

HealthMarkets Reviews FAQs

HealthMarkets has an overall rating of 3.6 out of 5, based on over 440 reviews left anonymously by employees. 80% of employees would recommend working at HealthMarkets to a friend and 73% have a positive outlook for the business. This rating has decreased by -12% over the last 12 months.

According to anonymously submitted Glassdoor reviews, HealthMarkets employees rate their compensation and benefits as 3.4 out of 5. Find out more about salaries and benefits at HealthMarkets. This rating has decreased by -5% over the last 12 months.

80% of HealthMarkets employees would recommend working there to a friend based on Glassdoor reviews. Employees also rated HealthMarkets 3.7 out of 5 for work life balance, 3.8 for culture and values and 3.7 for career opportunities.

According to reviews on Glassdoor, employees commonly mention the pros of working at HealthMarkets to be culture, management, career development and the cons to be senior leadership, benefits, compensation.

Popular Careers with HealthMarkets Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at HealthMarkets? Share Your Experiences

or

HealthMarkets Careers

Cover image for HealthMarkets

HealthMarkets Insurance Agency, Inc. is licensed as an insurance agency in all 50 states and the District of Columbia and is focused on...More

  • Benefits
This is the employer's chance to tell you why you should work for them. The information provided is from their perspective.

HealthMarkets Photos

+ Add Photo
HealthMarkets photo of: 2019 Ugly Sweater Contest
HealthMarkets photo of: Spooktacular 2019 Halloween
HealthMarkets photo of: Spooktacular 2019 Halloween
HealthMarkets photo of: Spooktacular 2019 Halloween
HealthMarkets photo of: Spooktacular 2019 Halloween
HealthMarkets photo of: Spooktacular 2019 Halloween
HealthMarkets photo of: Spooktacular 2019 Halloween
See All Photos