Heap Reviews

Updated Apr 27, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
4.8
98%
Recommend to a Friend
Heap CEO Ken Fine
Ken Fine
0 Rating
Pros
  • "Work-life balance is pretty good as are the benefits(in 14 reviews)

  • "12-week paternity leave, 1k professional development stipend)(in 11 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Typical start-up growing pains with some broken or unscalable processes that are actively being addressed(in 27 reviews)

  • "There are some cons associated with a growing company in the area of technical and organizational debt(in 9 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Excellent Career Move

      Apr 27, 2021 - Recruiting Coordinator 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      -Supportive management -Excellent career pathing -Plenty of opportunities to flex into different areas of interest -Amazing people programs -Remote first -Reasonable work life balance -Fast-paced

      Cons

      -Startup growing pains -You must be able to handle ambiguity in the workplace -The leadership in some departments is better than in others

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Best Company I Have Ever Worked For

      Apr 2, 2021 - Senior Software Engineer in Austin, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      * Transparency to the max. I've ever seen a company be so upfront with financials, goals, and decision making processes. * Great work-life balance. * Unlimited vacation policy and they mean it. 3 week / year minimum, and to my knowledge, people trust that you take the time off that you need. You're treated like an adult. * Top-notch management. Real career coaching. * Newly-rolled out leveling system was very well-thought out. * Deep executive bench. CEO has taken co's public, VP Eng was former CTO of StackOverflow, head of product led product at PagerDuty, etc. * Amazing perks. Magic shows, gift boxes, $2,500 / yearly WFH stipend (after tax), $1,000 WFH setup stipend, $1k pro development (you're basically allowed to use it on whatever you want), music streaming reimbursement, $50 / month gym / workout app or service reimbursement, etc., etc., etc. Leaving out a ton. * 9 year stock option exercise window. * Remote culture since founding, so the transition to WFM during COVID was as smooth as one could hope for.

      Cons

      * Lots of acronyms. Be prepared to make some flash cards if you want to remember them all. Just kidding. But not really. * Foundational engineering work is often punted due to lack of perceived ROI, but this is improving. * Lack of a north star metric. * Hiring paused during COVID so we're somewhat understaffed / playing catch-up—but is it really different at any other startup?

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    3. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Simply the Best

      Feb 16, 2021 - Customer Success in San Francisco, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I've worked at a lot of tech companies in my day and Heap is far and away the best employer I've ever had. The company is very deliberate about culture and hiring and it shows; no a**holes to be found and everyone is quick to offer help or answer any question. Even remote, they've managed to nail the perks, with near-monthly holidays and surprise gifts.

      Cons

      There really aren't many. I read in another review that this is not a place you come to coast, and that's absolutely true. If you're not a hard worker or willing to dive right in, this isn't the place for you. They still haven't nailed the virtual onboarding but it's a known issue. Meetings are seen as the default way to sync on anything and everything, meaning you spend much of your day on Zoom. Communication between teams about new initiatives could be better to ensure everyone is on the same page. I'm sad I'll miss the opportunity to visit an office and will never be able to partake in lunch, dinner, and snacks with colleagues.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    4. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Pros

      - product is great, uniquely positioned in the market and creating a solid tech moat (slowly but surely) - people are incredible, I’ve met some of my closest friends through Heap and everyone is so excited/all in which was felt especially before Covid - growing industry, good partnerships, solid culture

      Cons

      - internal organization and career advancement process is unorganized and seems based more on if leadership likes/believes in you vs tenure and ability. Some people will beg for a chance to interview while others get promoted no interview needed for the same role. - Covid has made Heap a virtual first company, which based on the first year working remotely, has a lot of work to be done on the communication issues, morale, benefits, etc. - company decision making seems slow, or at least the progress isn’t transparently communicated to all parties, you find out about things (like uneven equity distribution for members of the same team) from one off conversations instead of having easy access to this information.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Heap Response

      President and Chief Operating Officer

      Thank you for your thoughtful commentary. I appreciate the specific examples. I agree that Heap has a solid product/technology foundation, incredible team and is part of a rapidly growing space. Regarding your comments related to career advancement, I’m sorry to hear that you did not have a good experience. We did have less guided career development in the past (not uncommon for a startup of our stage). However, in Q4 we implemented a set of practices to ensure equity and to accelerate career growth for all our Heaple. We now perform calibrations twice a year with managers, execs and the People Team. We have a structured process for promotions where managers work together (in partnership with the People Team) to evaluate entire teams and ensure more consistent and fair promo decisions are being made. We have also introduced career ladders and leveled all Heaple. Finally, managers have been working on structured development plans for all their teammates. With respect to working virtually (post-Covid), I agree that it’s hard to replicate the in-person intimacy of our office environment. Creating a best-in-class virtual work environment is one of Heap’s top priorities for 2021. In February, we initiated a series of focus groups with volunteers across the company to discuss community, connection and culture in a virtual-first environment. This feedback from our employees, along with external benchmark data and counsel from outside experts, will help us define communication norms, establish new ways of working, offer competitive benefits, and combat burnout. Improving systematic communication across teams is obviously a large and critical part of this process. That said, I have found Heap to be the most transparent company of any that I’ve worked in my 20+ years in tech (i.e., we share detailed financial plans, financial/business results, and have an active AMA Slack channel for anyone at the company to ask questions of leadership). Thanks again for your feedback and for your contributions to Heap. I’d welcome the opportunity to talk in person anytime. Ken Fine (President & COO)

    5. 5.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Awesome company, really transparent!

      Apr 7, 2021 - BDR in South Jordan, UT
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Awesome benefits, the executive team makes a point to be open, and opportunity for growth!

      Cons

      Given my specific role, success was difficult to reach sometimes as you could spend endless time trying to see what works

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 4.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Good leadership, growing pains

      Mar 29, 2021 - Technical Services 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - strong executive leadership - big emphasis on culture/benefits - company is doing well during covid - more focus on digital experience and product analytics

      Cons

      - The eng org is being outpaced by the sales side and we are experiencing growing pains, causing friction for folks on post-sale - certain teams have a terrible work/life balance and are stretched very thin. there are teams that have been CHRONICALLY short-staffed, and they still are forced to fight tooth and nail for headcount.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    7. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Continue to be surprised with quality of organization and people

      Jan 11, 2021 - Account Executive in San Francisco, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      From the recruiting function to the interview process, I knew this company was different. People were engaged, cared, curios, thoughtful. There was a collective positivity about the product, the leadership and the future of the business, in general. It made my decision to join pretty easy.

      Cons

      Compensation is comparable to other SFO tech companies in this stage, but there could be a greater attention to benefits (Health Care, in particular, can be improved, but also 401K match at 1%??)

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    8. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Favorite job I've had

      Oct 16, 2020 - Software Engineer in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I've worked at several tech companies that I really liked, but this is my favorite role. It's an exciting and powerful product with an inspiring vision and an exceptional team. The people across the whole org are highly qualified, so I've learned a lot from my coworkers. There's meaningful support for career and personal growth, and a lot of opportunities to make an impact. When COVID hit, the transition to 100% remote was handled very smoothly, with clear communication and a WFH stipend.

      Cons

      Heap has an excellent product, but it's at a growth stage in a competitive space, meaning it is very focused on velocity. It's good for someone who wants to develop and launch features quickly, but it's not a place to get comfortable and put things off until next quarter. (Having said that, I've found that it has a healthy attitude about work-life balance, including generous parental leave and unlimited vacation). One notable growth pain is that it often takes a while to hire people, including in senior and leadership roles, so we're sometimes in the position of waiting on a hire rather than moving forward.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    9. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Awesome people, product, workplace

      Oct 15, 2020 - Account Executive in San Francisco, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Heap's product is super cool- it solves an industry-wide problem for many non-technical teams that need a better way to analyze data about their users. The people at Heap are the best asset- everyone is incredibly talented, motivated, and working really hard to make it happen. I love coming to work every day Leadership is super impressive and is building on a great plan to grow that I get more confident in every day Sales enablement- we have all the tools and the training we need to get after it. Really awesome to be supported fully in this area.

      Cons

      Lots of start-up growing pains with sales processes and company direction. Things change a lot and constantly, but feedback is well heard and things are improving every day I think the target market is growing, but right now, finding larger outbound opportunities is challenging Product development has been notoriously slow

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Great Place to Grow Your Career

      Aug 17, 2020 - Account Executive in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Leadership that cares about each individual's success - A healthy, growing ARR - New key hires (CRO, COO, CMO, VP of People) in the past year - Awesome coworkers and super nice office spaces (pre-covid) - Top of the line benefits (lunch,dinner,pto,insurance,wellness, spotify,etc). (also pre-covid for lunch and dinner) - We are doing great as a company and are lucky to be where we are during these tough times in the world - Great work life balance - Opportunity for quick career growth for high performing reps - Mandatory 3 weeks off per year

      Cons

      - Company is growing fast which can obviously come with growing pains. Sometimes changes are made a bit too quickly and can be reactive to the current situation. - A product company without a Chief Product Officer or VP of Product. Has been a "priority" to hire for my time at Heap, but I worry we are falling behind our competition

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Heap Response

      Office Manager

      Thank you for sharing your PoV on Glassdoor. We have been fortunate to attract high-quality executive talent over the last year. I also agree that, more broadly, we have tremendous teammates and a healthy culture. I hear your feedback (re: sales team changes). We have been aggressive with changes related to value selling methodology, pipeline generation techniques, organizing the teams to better support expansions, etc.. We need to balance that ambition with thoughtful communication and timing with the broader GTM team. I also respect your feedback regarding our competitors (respecting their capabilities while emphasizing our differentiation and vision). Feel free to reach out to me directly anytime to discuss further. Great comments. Thank you! Respectfully, Ken Fine COO

    Viewing 1 - 10 of 136 Reviews
    </>Embed

    Popular Careers with Heap Job Seekers

    Software Engineer
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews
    Business Development Representative
    Learn About the Job
    Mid-Market Account Executive
    Learn About the Job

    Work at Heap? Share Your Experiences

    Heap logo
    or