Help Scout Reviews | Glassdoor

Help Scout Reviews

Updated Mar 27, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.5
86%
Recommend to a Friend
50%
Approve of CEO
Help Scout Co-Founder Nick Francis
Nick Francis
2 Ratings
  1. Helpful (2)

    "InteGRITy"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales At Help Scout in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Help Scout full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Help Scout is the best place I have ever worked for a few reasons: 1) A mindful, customer centric approach to sales 2) A people operations & leadership team that is committed to diversity & inclusion 3) Trust is employees integrity and abilities 4) Work that is challenging but equally rewarding

    Cons

    none that stick out

    Continue reading
    Help Scout2019-03-27
  2. Helpful (4)

    "Inexperienced Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Help Scout full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible/ Remote work/ company retreats

    Cons

    Inexperienced leadership/Lack of vision/Lack of growth opportunity

    Help Scout2019-03-21

    Help Scout Response

    May 7, 2019Head of People Operations

    Thank you for the honest feedback. We’d welcome the opportunity to learn more and take action. You are welcome to share your feedback with me, Nick or your coach so that we can come up with a plan. Additionally, we have weekly Know Your Team questions that solicit feedback, anonymous engagement surveys every 6 months as well as 360 peer reviews. We also have an anonymous feedback link in our Guide to the Galaxy you can use to submit feedback. If you are still a current employee at Help Scout, I would love the opportunity to address your concerns through any of these means.

    Continue reading
  3. Helpful (5)

    "Inspired and supported!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Product Marketer in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Help Scout full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Everyone I've talked to seems friendly, super smart, and eager to lend a helping hand. Building meaningful relationships at a remote company can be hard, and I've been so impressed by all the systems they've put in place to bring teammates closer together. It's only my second week, and I already feel folded into the culture. The communication style across the board is frequent, clear, and candid, which inspires me to follow suit. Managers take their jobs seriously—I already know which milestones I have to hit to level up, and I'm inspired to reach for them. Huzzah!

    Cons

    I honestly don't have any cons to share. I've been so impressed by this place since day 1.

    Continue reading
    Help Scout2018-02-26
  4. Helpful (9)

    "Help Scout walks the talk."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Help Scout

    Pros

    Colleagues are some of the best around, innovation level runs high and the desire to truly do right by our customers and help them do right by theirs is palpable in everything we do.

    Cons

    None. I can honestly say that I am unable to think of something legitimate to complain about! And that is twenty-three words.

    Continue reading
    Help Scout2016-05-24
  5. Helpful (10)

    "First Rate Engineering Shop"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Software Developer in Blue Springs, MO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Help Scout

    Pros

    * Talented team who care about their craft. * Excellent work-life balance - your best 40 is expected, no more, no less. * No allowed - people who don't work well with others don't get hired or don't last. * Remote-first culture - remote workers are first-class citizens and all communication happens in Slack or similar remote-friendly channels. * Excellent benefits, no limit for PTO (you might get nagged if you *don't* take time off) . * Great compensation, especially for engineers outside of hotbeds like the Bay Area or NYC. Can earn coastal salary even in low-COL areas.

    Cons

    On the Engineering side, probably not a great fit for junior developers. We move pretty quickly and haven't really figured out the mentoring thing in a remote-first context.

    Continue reading
    Help Scout2015-12-02
  6. Helpful (8)

    "Excellent Culture and Values: Best Company I've worked at"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Help Scout full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Help Scout is an outstanding company to work for. I am not sure where to begin: - Transparency across the board (from salary formula to budget) - Remote First Culture - Great group of diverse people to work with. Our People Ops team are some of the best. - Smart team members - Challenging Projects with freedom to make decisions

    Cons

    This isn't a con against Help Scout as much as it is someone's working style: if you're not into remote work - Help Scout won't be for you. You need to be a motivated - driven individual to work remotely (which in part - is why it works so well)

    Continue reading
    Help Scout2015-12-02
  7. Helpful (4)

    "Remote-first team of talented people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Head of People Operations in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Help Scout

    Pros

    Great people who are excellent at the craft and committed to the company's mission. A leadership team that's transparent about the health of the company and how we are tracking against our goals. Transparent polices that are supportive and help everyone do their best work! Remote-first! 75% of the team works remotely around the world so we all have the flexibility to maintain a sustainable work-life balance - work hard and spend time doing other things we love. Great benefits - professional development stipend, health, dental, remote office furniture and equipment paid for, flexible time off, etc, life insurance, etc.

    Cons

    None! :) Unless you are not psyched about remote culture. Only 25% of the staff is co-located.

    Continue reading
    Help Scout2015-11-25
  8. Helpful (1)

    "People Ops"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Help Scout full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I've been with Help Scout for about 4 months now and really love it here. I've never worked for a remote company before but have enjoyed making that transition. I really appreciate the way it makes everyone act more intentionally about creating a strong culture which is really evident at Help Scout. The company is also very transparent and seems to consistently care about keeping everyone in the loop. I also have a lot of confidence in the leadership team and in the skills of our team. Everyone also really respects work/life balance and self-care.

    Cons

    Honestly, there aren't a lot of cons.

    Continue reading
    Help Scout2015-12-02
  9. Helpful (6)

    "Best company I have ever worked for!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Design Engineer in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Help Scout full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    It is amazing to see (and feel) how much everyone at Help Scout cares about the customer, the product, and each other. Working on a remote team can be hard, and at times a little lonely. However, the People Ops team have done a damn fine job in making sure everyone feels connected. The friendliness of the team (because everyone here is incredibly nice) also makes you feel like you have people you can talk to. I've never experienced (non-work) Slack team chat rooms so full of life, it's great! Because of my unique role in the company, I was privileged enough to be able to experiment and explore concepts that go beyond Help Scout, specifically open-source based code. Not only was my team, my manager (and heck, everyone in the company) supportive of this effort, but they were also excited and they encouraging.

    Cons

    I think the only con is it might be tough if you're hired as a remote worker, and you've never had remote working experience before. By remote working experience, I don't mean you get to work at home on Fridays kind of thing.. I mean you work by yourself almost 100% of the time (with the exception of team retreats). Remote culture is embraced here, along with all the responsibilities of being remote. However, the team is exceptionally understanding and supportive!

    Continue reading
    Help Scout2016-08-02
  10. Helpful (7)

    "Daily encouragement and growth"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Support in Melbourne
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Help Scout full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Since day one, I've felt like a part of the team since everyone was so welcoming and friendly! What I love the most is that everyone is exceptional at their craft, which both encourages me in my work and also contributes to my growth in my specialty and other areas. It's also amazing to be able to work from home (or wherever I feel most comfortable) as we have and embrace a remote-first culture, but it's a total blast when we get together twice a year for our company retreat!

    Cons

    Honestly, none! It's been the best job I've ever had.

    Continue reading
    Help Scout2015-12-03

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 10 reviews