KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo
See All Photos

HomeGoods

Engaged Employer

HomeGoods

Add a Review

HomeGoods Reviews

Updated Oct 15, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 1,972 of over 2,010 reviews

3.5
55%
Recommend to a Friend
77%
Approve of CEO
HomeGoods President and CEO Ernie Herrman
Ernie Herrman
296 Ratings
Pros
  • "Flexible hours and great breaks(in 60 reviews)

  • "Flexible schedule; different shifts; fun environment(in 50 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Low pay; difficulty for advancement(in 63 reviews)

  • "Management may become overly pushy about selling people the credit cards(in 53 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Ratings by Demographics

    This rating reflects the overall rating of HomeGoods and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years
      Featured Review

      Sales Associate/Cashier

      Jan 28, 2021 - Sales Associate/Cashier in Pittsburgh, PA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      great hours, great pay, always something to do

      Cons

      customers can be sometimes demanding but that is retail

      1 person found this review helpful
    2. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Awesome

      Oct 15, 2021 - Sales Associate in Stockton, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Friendly environment with customers and coworkers.

      Cons

      Sometimes short staffed. Need more staff.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      Good place for my first job

      Sep 22, 2021 - Sales and Merchandise Associate 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      This was my first job at 16 and I worked there (working seasonally during college) until I was 21. Nice work environment. Almost all the managers I had were nice. Pretty laidback environment but you work a lot. There are opportunities to move up but they're not that common. Also I never had a huge problem with scheduling, if they ever scheduled me when I couldn't work I would just talk to my manager about it but that's a manager to manager thing. TJX is a pretty nice company to work for, they seem to take care of their employees and stores. Coworkers were nice I always made lots of friends with my coworkers and was friendly with managers. At least at my store, they'll hire anybody. Whether you're old or have a disability they'll try to accommodate you. Just have a good attitude and you'll be good!

      Cons

      You will probably get an about $1 raise shortly after working there but then after that it's hard getting raises. Especially if you're a college student who is gonna have to leave and come back for breaks. In that case, forget about making more than minimum wage. That was probably the most frustrating thing about the job because when the minimum wage was increasing my raises were removed so even though I was so experienced I was making the same as new hires. Also (not a huge deal) everything is pretty antiquated, like they only recently (the past like 2-3 years) added direct deposit and the schedule is on paper so you're gonna have to take a picture or write it down.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      More cons than pros

      Oct 12, 2021 - Retail Sales Associate/Cashier 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      It has flexible hours and friendly staff

      Cons

      Overstocked, disorganized. Customers are often rude. Communication between management and associates could be better. Policy is always changing, bonuses get increasingly smaller every time. Pay isn't really worth it, and the benefits are very small. Systems are outdated. Credit cards are a priority over anything else, they'll drill you to get on average five every day even if it's to the point of annoying the customer while trying too hard convince them to open a card. It's annoying when the environment is already stressful, such as with a long line or if a customer is already unhappy with the transaction. The card isn't even that appealing and has high interest, plus only works at TJX stores, so of course people don't want it. Claims to be care about employees but doesn't. Contacting higher management does nothing and store managers won't do anything to address concerns, they'll just tell you to contact district even though district literally doesn't care about what you have to say. I've been working here for two years and am only staying because of a state transfer that leaves me making my old state's minimum wage, which is five dollars more than my new place. Employees don't last long once they see how much work there is and how little compensation they have.

      1 person found this review helpful
    5. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      The pay isn’t worth the lack of quality of life

      Oct 11, 2021 - Store Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The full time benefits are good.

      Cons

      There is a huge pay disparity between men and women. The leaders make unfair moves within district without asking the managers, making work life balance difficult with longer drives. Unloading trucks with extremely heavy lifting with minimal safety gear. They don’t pay their part time employees anything or provide them with benefits and expect them to so much. The best employees and leaders get pushed out because of how much the district leaders overwork them. Lots of empty promises from leadership. No diversity at the regional level and beyond.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Stressful & Low Pay

      Oct 15, 2021 - Merchandise Associate in Las Vegas, NV
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      There would be coworkers here and there that would help you get through the day and they would provide different snacks in the break room.

      Cons

      There is no room to grow the position is very stagnant. Also, the pay didn't match what I started being expected to be responsible for.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 1.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Horrible

      Sep 30, 2021 - Sales Associate in Chamblee, GA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      You can ask to be sent to a different store

      Cons

      You apply for one position but end up working as a cashier, custodian, and freight/receiving. There were many times where there weren't new schedules for the upcoming week or email/phone communications but still expected to know to show up. Scheduling during the day was not unclear, on a few occasions I was not provided a lunch break appropriate with my arrival time and was even threatened a write up when I informed the assistant manager on duty that I had an hour before leaving but was given a break. We had to stand for hours during our shifts, despite the fact that the company provides stools, and I developed horrible back pain. Almost everyone that worked there was overqualified but needed the money at the time, they did not stay. I finally left when I experienced death in my family and illness (COVID was around but not known yet) they were not empathetic at all. The 10% discount is NOT WORTH it. They heavily discourage unions and its no wonder why.

      1 person found this review helpful
    8. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Good starter Job, lots of work not enough pay

      Sep 30, 2021 - Backroom Coordinator in San Antonio, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Flexibility and Nice Managers, easy to learn job. Managers willing to work with your schedule. 8 hour shift will get two 15 minutes breaks (paid) and 45 minute (unpaid) lunch

      Cons

      Many downsides I will list them - Low pay (Texas) $9 starting $10 after 3-6 months $11 Coordinator Full Time $12 Key Carrier Manager Lots of work and responsibilities for low pay rates. Expected to care take responsibility when you get paid slave wages Always call outs and high turnover rate understaffed Have to pick up slack of call outs and lazy workers Lack of communication among management

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 4.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      hii

      Oct 14, 2021 - 4th Key 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      home is my favorite store. alot of work but i love it.

      Cons

      low pay for such hard work.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 4.0
      Former Employee

      I enjoyed working at homegoods

      Oct 14, 2021 - Sales Floor Associate in Alexandria, VA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      It was a fun environment to work at

      Cons

      wasn’t enough employees in the sales floor

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 1,972 Reviews

    Popular Careers with HomeGoods Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at HomeGoods? Share Your Experiences

    or