IGA Reviews | Glassdoor

IGA Reviews

Updated Nov 16, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.4
60%
Recommend to a Friend
70%
Approve of CEO
IGA CEO Mark Batenic
Mark Batenic
85 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Low pay is traditional expectation for retail jobs because margins are low in most food retail companies(in 18 reviews)

  • "The pay sits at the minimum wage and employer don't want you to accept tips if you help a customer all the way to their car(in 14 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "I loved it there. It was a great job and my coworkers and managers were like family to me."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate/Cashier in Everett, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at IGA full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    1.) You get to talk to people all day and have communication with the outside world. 2.) They never down graded me if I did something wrong they just calmly helped me fix it and told me things would be fine

    Cons

    We worked many hours sometimes. And was very busy during wic checks and food stamps if u didn't know what u was doing

    Advice to Management

    I don't really have none they were great

    IGA2019-10-29
  2. "Good Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Cashier 

    I worked at IGA part-time

    Pros

    Good team atmosphere, good environment.

    Cons

    Somewhat disorganized management/store. Could have been better in that respect.

    IGA2019-08-15
  3. "IGA Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Cashier in Le Roy, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at IGA part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    It's in a small town so the customers are usually people you know.

    Cons

    Sometimes employees would call off at the last second and I would get stuck working their shifts.

    IGA2019-08-26
  4. "Great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Deli in Tuscola, IL

    I worked at IGA part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Awesome place to work. Great boss

    Cons

    Teenagers that are lazy and on their phone or just standing around

    IGA2019-08-11
  5. "Sales Associate - Cranbury Market Norwalk"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Sales Associate/Cashier 

    I worked at IGA part-time

    Pros

    Lots of hours and nice place to work

    Cons

    Building is not kept in good condition

    IGA2019-08-16
  6. "Amazing company with a great work life balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Internal Wholesaler 

    I worked at IGA part-time

    Pros

    They offer competitive pay and the ability to grow within the company. I also love the aspect that management treats every employee like family.

    Cons

    There is no cons about this company

    IGA2019-08-01
  7. "A Wonderful Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Cashier 

    I have been working at IGA part-time

    Pros

    Friendly Co workers A good place to shop

    Cons

    Not good paying Not good hours

    IGA2019-07-19
  8. "They take advantage of good workers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in Evansville, IN
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at IGA part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    This is a great place to learn banking skills when you start out as a cashier then move to csm. The little pay is your tuition for learning those skills. This is not a place for a career.

    Cons

    Will not give you a raise if you do not learn a new department even if you are a excellent employee. Full time is highly wanted by their employees but they will not give. The position I had was responsible for the all the store cash and checks. Balancing their sales and finding cashiers outages and counting their tils along with scheduling them. More like a management position with very very little pay. They would... work me 36 hours 2 weeks in a roll then throttle my hours to 6 hours a week so they didn’t have to give me benefits. Very dirty company.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Show you actually care about your employees by paying a living wage and for the skills they have. They have families too. They want to do good.

    IGA2019-06-19
  9. "Easy advancement if you work hard."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Bloomfield, PA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at IGA full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    If you work hard it's easy to advance and get a decent amount of hours. I got a total of 2 raises in under a year from minimum wage to $12 an hour.

    Cons

    Management picks favorites and gossips a lot, needs improvement when it comes to giving constructive criticism.

    Advice to Management

    Learn to gossip less and give constructive criticism more.

    IGA2019-05-31
  10. "Good job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Cashier 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at IGA part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Hours Location Co workers Uniforms Got to have my piercings

    Cons

    I don’t have any cons

    IGA2019-04-30
Found 436 reviews
</>Embed