Independent Health Reviews

Updated Apr 29, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.7
73%
Recommend to a Friend
75%
Approve of CEO
Independent Health President and CEO Michael W. Cropp (no image)
Michael W. Cropp
48 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great benefits all around, god work/life balance, continuous training(in 14 reviews)

  • "Good benefits, opportunity for advancement(in 7 reviews)

Cons
  • "no room to advance, underdeveloped career ladder(in 5 reviews)

  • "Recent reorganization, lack of parking(in 3 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Red Shirt Treatment Inside and Out"

    5.0
    Former Employee - Learning and Development Specialist in Williamsville, NY

    I worked at Independent Health full-time

    Pros

    Great culture, team and leadership

    Cons

    I worked here for five years and have nothing negative to say.

    Independent Health2020-04-06
  2. "Very involved and caring about members"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Nurse Practitioner in Buffalo, NY
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Independent Health

    Pros

    Organized, they give you the tools you need to do your job

    Cons

    Micromanaging, petty at times, favorites

    Independent Health2020-04-29
  3. "Excellent Work Environment"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Supervisor in Buffalo, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Independent Health full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Opportunity to grow and develop

    Cons

    My experience at Independent Health is positive

    Independent Health2019-12-20
  4. Helpful (1)

    "One of the best companies I've ever worked for!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Accounts Receivable in Williamsville, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Independent Health full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Excellent compensation & benefits package; Opportunities for growth; Values community; Innovative & Leading Technology

    Cons

    The only con was the commute to Williamsville from Batavia

    Continue reading
    Independent Health2019-10-22
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Great Culture, Low Pay for the Industry, Saving Money by giving employees less"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Administration 
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Independent Health full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Employee Innovation groups, Appreciation Days, Branded Items,

    Cons

    They orginally compensated the low pay with company health insurance. Last year they went to a high deductible play with a HSA. HSA are very difficult if your children are from a previous marriage and you cannot claim them on your insurance, also the rates went up for a company that you work hard for. Also its been said that the higher managment budgets for their own raise, leaving a low bonus and raise for employees. Also they appear to treat contracted employees like they are not important.

    Continue reading
    Independent Health2019-09-05
  6. "Don't do it"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Oper in Buffalo, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Independent Health full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    excellent people, short commute, job was actually good

    Cons

    no room to grow, low pay

    Continue reading
    Independent Health2019-08-19
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Good Place to Work"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Independent Health full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great medical benefits and a decent amount of PTO. IH has employee events going on every month. Always something to do. Great morale and ethics.

    Cons

    Certain days are really stressful. Sometimes I feel under appreciated. Small raises, and not much room for growth. Easy to get stuck in a position.

    Independent Health2019-06-17
  8. "Overall good company"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Clinical Investigator, Special Investigations Unit in Buffalo, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Independent Health full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Decent pay; excellent benefits; great PTO plan; 401K matching; nice campus; strive for good work/life balance; "healthy living" culture; diversity; great core values (see cons); give back to community; some jobs have work-from-home capability

    Cons

    scant and disorganized training (at least for our area); high employee turnover in this dept; "great core values" that few people seem to live by - lip service without follow through; before new manager, staff was permitted to collaborate and contribute to decision making and was truly more of a team - now the attitude is "I'm the boss - you don't need to know unless I decide you need to know, and I'm not interested in your opinion or feelings" despite the organization spouting "Speed of Trust" philosophies (no one seems to follow); everyone speaks of transparency, but doesn't happen; no opportunities for growth or upward mobility in this dept; supervisory/managerial "cliques;" lack of trust of chain of command; little chance for professional development unless attending a related college program

    Continue reading
    Independent Health2019-05-31
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Great place to work!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Product Specialist in Williamsville, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Independent Health part-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    IH has a great culture, focused on customers and on employees. They strive to give employees the resources they need to do their job well and are always encouraging associates to improve and think outside the box. In general, compensation is respectable and associates can expect to be rewarded for going above and beyond. The organization is constantly trying to forge new pathways in healthcare and health insurance, which I greatly respect. Associates are expected to be constantly striving for better, so if you are looking for a place to "coast by", this probably isn't the employer for you.

    Cons

    No company is perfect, but IH really ranks up there.

    Independent Health2019-03-26
  10. "A great place to work"

    4.0
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Program Manager in Buffalo, NY
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Independent Health for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good benefits, opportunity for advancement

    Cons

    Recent reorganization, lack of parking

    Independent Health2019-01-29
Found 73 reviews