Inogen Reviews | Glassdoor

Create your profile to get personalized information

Inogen Reviews

Updated Oct 17, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
25%
Recommend to a Friend
41%
Approve of CEO
Inogen CEO Scott Wilkinson (no image)
Scott Wilkinson
52 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Upper management does not have a clue how to hold it together(in 18 reviews)

  • "Management continues to cut the pay of sales reps(in 9 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (1)

    "Great Company, Great Product"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Inogen full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great company that is growing that provides an opportunity for those that want to work hard and be successful. The core values are apparent and you can communicate freely. It is a good feeling to work for a company that sells a product that changes lives.

    Cons

    The company is growing fast so there can be a lot of change.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to ask employees for ideas and keep the communication open.

    Inogen2018-12-17
  2. "I love it"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative in Cleveland, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Inogen full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Stay busy, excellent benefits, learn daily...

    Cons

    No over time, no incentives, no bonus cash structure.

    Advice to Management

    Add overtime, lots of overtime. It's needed

    Inogen2019-08-22
  3. "A Great Place To Transform The Lives Of Those Needing Oxygen"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Direct to Patient Customer Dev Representative in Goleta, CA

    I worked at Inogen full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great leadership. The feeling that you are making a difference.

    Cons

    Light on leads. Need to apply the training to daily work tasks.

    Advice to Management

    Keep growing and looking to other companies to provide a co-equal solution to those with lung conditions. Maybe a CPAP company?

    Inogen2019-10-18
  4. Helpful (1)

    "I notice that most upper management is male not female and only 1 female executive and she’s a founder!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Development Representative in Richardson, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Inogen full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Casual dress although some take it to the night club level.

    Cons

    Lack of communication and male dominated company! I notice that most upper management is male not female and only 1 female executive and she’s a founder of the corporation. The hourly wage for Customer Care Representative’s is extremely low according to the industry standards with uncapped commission on a product that starts at $2200 and up. Truly hard to sell to a demographic of elderly on extremely fixed incomes.

    Inogen2019-10-12
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Average"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Staff Accountant in Goleta, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Inogen full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    work home balance is good decent pay

    Cons

    no increases ever after signing on, get the highest you can company successful despite its poor leadership

    Advice to Management

    listen to your employees, they might have valuable input

    Inogen2019-09-19
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Inogen not a good place to work."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - DTP in Richardson, TX

    I worked at Inogen full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great product. Good for people who want to get out of their house.

    Cons

    Horrible management and sales practices.

    Inogen2019-10-15
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Not a great company for long term growth or development"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Development Representative in Richardson, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Inogen full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    You have fairly decent benefits and a very relaxed dress code.

    Cons

    You are micromanaged. They very clearly play favorites. Their lead acquisition leaves a lot to be desired. I had to make calls to accounts that have been inactive for several months or years even just to meet my call quotas , but acquiring new leads is very difficult. I came in at a time when people who have been very successful at the company started barely being able to make their quotas. They also have several... other lines of business that cannibalize their sales in this department. People can buy their units from other sellers and get them more quickly. In summary it’s not easy to succeed and they don’t even give you great leads to work with. I wouldn’t make long term plans to stay with this company. It was very demoralizing and company morale was always very low. Essentially you just wait to be fired.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Just be realistic about goals and expectations. Half the time they were expecting us to squeeze water out of a rock. Leads that I would mark as dead would get redistributed back to me or other reps. With very few opportunities for fresh leads, and other companies that literally can offer the same or similar value with inogen units, it’s hard to see how this position can be something more than temporary. I’d say... have some better tech or AI to screen the leads to determine if they are even viable. I know that program started when I left with an actual department with people that did the screening. I hope that it has been working so other people who need jobs don’t have to go through the terrible experience I had working here.

    Show More
    Inogen2019-08-28
  8. "Loved it!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Inogen

    Pros

    - fun work environment with easy earning potential for 40 hours a week - leadership that has been around the block and inspired me - sales training and growth gave me skills I know I will never forget - from your supervisor to your director there was always someone there that cared for me even on my off days - decent benefits

    Cons

    None, I enjoyed my time working there, unfortunately I had to move out of state

    Advice to Management

    Keep improving and get more bathrooms

    Inogen2019-08-15
  9. Helpful (2)

    "if u want a 6 month job its great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - DTP in Cleveland, OH
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Inogen full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good good medical benefits kick in right after training.

    Cons

    08/2018 lead system changed now only boot lickers and ppl who been here a year or more get the good leads the rest are regurgitated old leads a year old or older. and if u dont sell them your numbers go down and then u get fired.

    Advice to Management

    less salespeople and return lead system to what got got all the sales before fall of 2018.

    Inogen2019-08-17
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Inogen"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Representative in Brooklyn, OH
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Inogen full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Easy going job. Great people.

    Cons

    Poor upper management. No communication. No clear company direction.

    Advice to Management

    Pray

    Inogen2019-08-05
Found 153 reviews