Iterable Reviews | Glassdoor

Iterable Reviews

Updated Jan 23, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.6
89%
Recommend to a Friend
88%
Approve of CEO
Iterable Co-founder & CEO Justin Zhu (no image)
Justin Zhu
21 Ratings
  1. "Great place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Development Representative in Denver, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Iterable full-time

    Pros

    - Wonderful culture - Everyone there is willing to take time out of their day to help you learn - Great place to start a career

    Cons

    - Still a young company so some things are still being figured out, but leadership does a great job at communicating those changes.

    Iterable2020-01-15
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Great product and talent, but understaffed engineering"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Iterable full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    * I love the people I'm working with * Using some of the best-in-class technology in the stack, great exposure to big-data tooling and functional programming * I have an overall positive outlook for the future of the company

    Cons

    The platform follows a pretty regular cycle: 1. Performance degrades to everything-is-on-fire status 2. Everyone scrambles to bring the platform back from the brink of destruction under the threat of all our huge customers churning 3. Just as soon as the platform is no longer considered "on fire", most everyone gets shifted back to feature work 4. Return to step 1 The reasons I see this happening are: * The product is actually _really useful_, so existing customers keep using it more and more, and sales is able to bring on more and more customers * Iterable keeps signing contracts with new and existing customers that mandate new features and work * The sales and customer support departments grow at a disproportionate rate to engineering capacity This all manifests as the engineering department being directed by a schizophrenic amalgamation of priorities. One minute you're doing all you can to write a feature to get a huge customer contract, the next you're trying to get 10% more scale to handle increased load that is threatening to collapse the system, the next you're fixing one of the hundred #1 priority customer reported bugs. Since you often only get a few days at a time to focus on any given thing, you're constantly context switching between one thing and another, often before you even finished the last thing you were working on. This effectively reduces the problem-solving capacity of the engineers even further.

    Continue reading
    Iterable2020-01-23

    Iterable Response

    February 3, 2020VP of People

    Thank you for sharing your thoughts and for your candor. The detail you provided regarding your concerns is helpful. As you know, all our leaders at Iterable welcome feedback and have an open door policy. I would recommend that you schedule time with your manager or Justin directly to discuss further. I would also be delighted to make myself available to you as well.

    Continue reading
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Worked at 4 Startups in the Valley - This Is By Far the Best!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Solutions Consultant in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Iterable full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Amazing work life balance (they hire proactively to make sure you're not overworked on too many things) - They actively invest in your career growth (almost always hire from within) - Exciting time to be at the company (market is big and we're talking to huge brands) - Really great engineering, sales and customer success ( everyone is experienced and the vast majority of people are chill) - A lot of opportunity to move into different parts of the company if you want (senior leadership has made a clear that if you do a great job, you can transfer to other parts of the company that you may be interested in) - Great pay. - Lots of side project opportunities for you to work on new and exciting initiatives.

    Cons

    - Unlimited PTO is not my favorite because I feel bad for asking for it and you don't get the payout when you leave or build up your days but I've never had my PTO rejected though so some people might put this in the pros section ¯\_(ツ)_/¯

    Continue reading
    Iterable2019-10-15
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Lots of potential, but many growing pains and culture changes"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - N/A 
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Iterable full-time

    Pros

    -Great perks including health/wellness stipend and catered lunches -Early stage startup to make an impact -People are genuinely happy to come to work -Work/Life Balance is generally good -Lots of great reputable brands and customers

    Cons

    -Equity isn't competitive -Leadership lacks focus on targeting Mid-Market vs Enterprise -No VP of Product to lead product vision which can be challenging as the company is scaling and growing fast -New Leadership changes this year has led to many growing pains and employee churn. This has contributed a lot to the change in culture.

    Iterable2019-10-03
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Strong company values with amazing people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Iterable full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    #1 - Hands down, the people. Can it get any better than coming into work excited to see your co-workers? We're at work 8 hrs a day, why not surround ourselves with kind, smart, and fun people that help us be the best versions of ourselves? #2 - Our company values: Growth-mindset, trust, humility and balance. They're very human-centric and shown through our daily interactions and some pretty awesome perks we get (personal/professional growth & health/wellness stipends). #3 - Ability to make an impact. This is a reason why many folks join startups or continue to work for them. We raised $50M in our series C and are backed by reputable VC's which puts us in a healthy and secure place as we continue to expand. We've grown to ~230 employees and we're in that sweet spot where the work I do has an impact that can be seen.

    Cons

    Insurance plans/options can be better. We recently had a survey to provide feedback and hopefully this next open enrollment period has more options for us to choose from.

    Continue reading
    Iterable2019-09-12

    Iterable Response

    September 16, 2019Recruiter

    Hello! Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback about your experience as an Iterable employee. We're glad to hear we're doing well so far, and we welcome you to reach out to hr@iterable.com if there's anything else you'd like to share, now or in the future.

    Continue reading
  6. Helpful (11)

    "So much potential, so much drama"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Francisco, CA
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Iterable full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Excellent perks and work/life balance, nice people, interesting space and tech challenges

    Cons

    non-competitive pay for the SF market, Micromanagement, way too many projects and not enough real work. Career advancement feels very much like a popularity contest and not merit-based. Co-founders behaving like they don't want to be there/don't know what to do.

    Continue reading
    Iterable2019-08-07

    Iterable Response

    August 16, 2019Recruiter

    Hello! Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your time with Iterable. We strive to provide a positive employee experience, and we're sorry to hear yours left something to be desired. If you'd like to continue the conversation, we invite you to reach out to us at hr@iterable.com.

    Continue reading
  7. Helpful (1)

    "A lot going for it but a few things to work on"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Iterable full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    People and culture are by far the best thing. Have yet to meet anyone who is unpleasant or rude. Workplace team does a fantastic job of providing inclusive and enjoyable events! Free lunch, free snacks/drinks, and generous benefits are all part of the package!

    Cons

    Pay seems low and growth seems limited by where the company is at rather than your performance and career interests... If any of the execs don't like you, for whatever reason, you're stuck. Execs also don't seem to be on the same page and there are a lot of back and forth changes, however they are often inconsequential in the long run.

    Iterable2019-08-15

    Iterable Response

    August 16, 2019Recruiter

    Hello! Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback about your experience as an Iterable employee. We're glad to hear we're doing well so far, and we welcome you to reach out to hr@iterable.com if there's anything else you'd like to share, now or in the future.

    Continue reading
  8. Helpful (11)

    "Lots of potential, but lots of growing pains"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Iterable full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The product can do a lot, there's a lot of money in the space, and the company has been growing quickly. Leadership seems open to feedback. Managers seem interested in the personal and career growth of their reports. There's a strong focus on work/life balance. There are many opportunities to have an impact and solve interesting technical problems.

    Cons

    Years of the founders and early engineers shipping prototype-quality code have led to high technical debt and a brittle codebase which few people understand. There are few limits on customers' usage of the product, which is used as a selling point but also causes endless reliability problems. Because engineers are busy fighting fires and paying down technical debt, they have trouble keeping up with new features which were promised in order to close deals. Rather than find ways to help their engineering teams scale better, the founders have recently announced that they'll return to writing one-off features as a new separate team, and transfer those features to other teams to maintain.

    Continue reading
    Iterable2019-07-19
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Super Healthy SaaS Startup"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Manager, Talent Acquisition in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Iterable full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Excellent culture - company hires in alignment with four codified values. Super smart, friendly people throughout all orgs. Headquartered in San Francisco. Excellent leadership team; culture of transparency.

    Cons

    Nothing comes to mind currently.

    Iterable2019-04-02

    Iterable Response

    August 16, 2019Recruiter

    Hello! Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback about your experience as an Iterable employee. We're glad to hear we're doing well so far, and we welcome you to reach out to hr@iterable.com if there's anything else you'd like to share, now or in the future.

    Continue reading
  10. Helpful (3)

    "iSDR"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - ISDR in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Iterable full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great company, great culture, and you can move up quickly if you perform.

    Cons

    Very low pay but really great benefits.

    Continue reading
    Iterable2018-09-23
Found 27 reviews