Kitware Reviews

Updated Apr 18, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.0
75%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Kitware Chief Executive Officer Lisa Avilla (no image)
Lisa Avilla
6 Ratings
  1. "Great place to work !"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Research and Development Engineer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Kitware full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Amazing work-life balance with flexible working hours. - Opportunity to learn across different domains. Collaborative environment. - Even though Kitware has risen to mid sized company, it still tries to maintain a start up culture where everyone in the company knows everyone. Making it easy to strike up conversation with someone. - Good pay and opportunity for Machine Learning and data scientists with less than 3 years experience

    Cons

    Nothing I can think of honestly. May be take up more commercial projects?.

    Continue reading
    Kitware2019-08-14
  2. "Kitware is not good for career growth"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Researcher 
    Doesn't Recommend
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Kitware full-time

    Pros

    Small company with little office political issues.

    Cons

    Government-based projects are very sensitive. No good researchers at all and they have no core technology when compared with other companies. Nobody can really guide you and you have to be self-driven to be successful.

    Kitware2020-04-18
  3. "Could be better"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Clifton Park, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Kitware full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    yearly conference travel, hardware budgets

    Cons

    not enough PTO, no room to advance, heavy workload, very little flexibility or opportunities to work remotely

    Kitware2020-03-06
  4. "Good company"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Accountant 

    I worked at Kitware full-time

    Pros

    Great place to work. Many intelligent employees who will always be there to help you out if needed

    Cons

    Compensation package is a bit poor

    Kitware2019-12-19
  5. "Great company"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - R&D Engineer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Kitware full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    At Kitware, we have a relaxed culture while working on very meaningful projects at the same time. We are allowed to express creativity and new ideas. Overall, I think it is one of the best companies a software engineer could work for.

    Cons

    There aren't very many cons that I know of. One is that there is no current form of profit sharing.

    Kitware2019-07-31
  6. "Terrific projects, great esp. for early-career ML researchers"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Staff R&D Engineer in Carrboro, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Kitware full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Kitware has achieved a critical mass of ML and SE talent that makes it a great place to work and grow. Colleagues are generally great and are often producing next-level research and tools. Every project I worked on as an ML researcher was very interesting and, critically, was based off of rich data that facilitated the creation of powerful algorithms. Management (weekly project meetings) for me was just right--room for creativity but not too long of a feedback loop.

    Cons

    Pay is a bit low. Projects at Kitware are generally contract-based and there are often Federal limits on what contractors can be paid; in part for this reason compensation can be correspondingly limited. But that's really it, con-wise.

    Continue reading
    Kitware2019-07-26
  7. "Great place to learn and explore technologies in visualization"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Engineer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Kitware full-time

    Pros

    Smart and capable colleagues, flexible working hours, many new projects and technologies to explore.

    Cons

    Open up new offices elsewhere.

    Kitware2019-02-19
  8. "Impactful career in scientific computing"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Kitware full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Work on interesting scientific and technological problems at the intersection of academia and industry. We get to talk about our work at conferences . Flexibility in your career path if you are self motivated and can share your vision. Management who care about making Kitware a good place to work and quality of life.

    Cons

    The Kitware brand is not as popular as some of our open source toolkits (e.g., CMake, VTK).

    Kitware2018-03-07
  9. "Meaningful work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Carrboro, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Kitware full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Collaborative environment. Really does care about it's employees. Dev's work on meaningful projects that solve practical, real world problems.

    Cons

    Glassdoor requires 5 words here.

    Kitware2017-10-16
  10. "Great place to work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Kitware full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Fantastic company culture. Friendly and collaborative people. - Work life balance is awesome. Flex hours and lots of paid leave. Nobody looks at you weird if you come in to the office for only two hours on Tuesdays. - Benefits are very nice. Lots of food. Also yoga and boot camp.

    Cons

    - Pressure to deliver. Workload is quite high. - Steep learning curve.

    Kitware2017-09-18
Found 16 reviews