LCEC Reviews | Glassdoor

LCEC Reviews

Updated May 13, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 14 reviews

2.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
38%
Recommend to a Friend
66%
Approve of CEO
LCEC CEO Dennie Hamilton
Dennie Hamilton
3 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Graphic Design and Print Chief Operating Officer in North Fort Myers, FL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at LCEC full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good environment, family atmosphere in some cases. Not quite like it used to be but still great company. So many new people and not a lot of chances to get to know them or interact.

    Cons

    Some disconnect between manager and directors and their people who report to them. But, I'm sure that happens in all companies.

    LCEC2019-05-13
  2. Helpful (1)

    "not just a job - a career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - N/A in North Fort Myers, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at LCEC full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    The people you work with are like no other. So committed, so caring, so skilled, and very knowledgeable. The benefits are very competitive and professional development opportunities are available to those who want them. Each day there are new things to learn which keeps it exciting.

    Cons

    New technology is always updated and staying ahead of the curve keeps you on your toes. Customer expectations for technology and quality service continue to rise. Meeting their needs keeps things lively.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to listen to employees and be visible. Sometimes the ones on the front lines have the best ideas and suggestions.

    LCEC2019-05-13
  3. "Keep searching"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Journeyman Lineman in North Fort Myers, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at LCEC full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Pay is comparable to other nearby utilities

    Cons

    Toxic leadership, Terrible benefits, Terrible on-call rotation. Extensive use of " Good ol boy system" Would NOT recommend.

    Advice to Management

    Take an inward look and consider why there is such a high turn over rate of employees, low public perception of lcec

    LCEC2019-04-13
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in North Fort Myers, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at LCEC full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    40 hour work week, laid back work environment.

    Cons

    Management, really no personal and professional growth, boring job after awhile.

    Advice to Management

    Retire

    LCEC2018-08-02

    LCEC Response

    May 13, 2019PR Manager

    Be sure to check into the many development opportunities offered by LCEC. Tuition reimbursement, hundreds of online training classes, and cross training opportunities. New technology just implemented is wide open for exploration and offers new excitement!

  5. Helpful (3)

    "Just Don't Do It!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at LCEC full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    pay, overtime, fellow employees (some)

    Cons

    too many to list- but mainly, don't expect to be treated as an individual or get any credit for whatever you contribute, not to mention that if you're not a Stepford Wife type, you won't be promoted, no matter how intelligent/educated you may be. SAD!

    Advice to Management

    educate yourselves. not everyone is identical.

    LCEC2017-08-01

    LCEC Response

    May 13, 2019PR Manager

    Thank you for the feedback. We will certainly take this into consideration when planning our leadership training opportunities. The internal promotion rate was extremely favorable last year and the trend continues. We continually look for the best candidate for the job and we are ...

    Show More
  6. "LCEC is a stable company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in North Fort Myers, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at LCEC full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great work and life balance. People are very nice. Company is very good in returning value to the local community. Good culture. Great for people who looks to settle down and retire here in Southwest Florida.

    Cons

    Salary is not competitive. Not much career advancement. The city is boring (if you have lived in a big city and liked it).

    LCEC2017-03-13
  7. Helpful (3)

    "Customer Service"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in North Fort Myers, FL
    Doesn't Recommend

    I have been working at LCEC full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Generous vacation and sick time, Hourly Wage is competetive

    Cons

    If you have to use your sick time to get an "occurrence" I actually had to go home due to a debilitating migraine, I got an occurrence. any time that it not approved in advance is an "O"..enough of those and your written up then fired. Mgt is more like a group of Stepford Wives that talk out of both sides of their mouths, I take a medication that makes me go to the restroom once an hour, I was told I had to wait and...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Quit,Every management position needs new people. Hire people with an education and experience not people who have been there for the longest and have no idea how to manage and communicate without intimidation.

    LCEC2016-12-16
  8. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at LCEC

    Pros

    Great benefits, pay and corporate culture

    Cons

    Need to overhaul IT resources

    LCEC2016-08-19
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Mid size company with a familial feel"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Intern 
    Recommends

    I have been working at LCEC for less than a year

    Pros

    Decent benefits (from what I've read) Family atmosphere (Everyone on a first name basis, from interns to CEO) Flexible hours as long as communication is maintained (may depend on team/department)

    Cons

    A lot of off the shelf products for all different kinds of activities Southwest Florida Area - I'm not totally a fan of SWFL, that's just me

    LCEC2016-04-12
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Lee Cooperative"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at LCEC full-time

    Pros

    Family atmosphere and friendly culture

    Cons

    No real cons to share

    LCEC2016-01-12
Found 14 reviews