Learnlight Reviews | Glassdoor

Learnlight Reviews

Updated Aug 1, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 77 reviews

4.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
80%
Recommend to a Friend
95%
Approve of CEO
Benjamin Joseph
42 Ratings
Pros
  • "They assign me learners from different continents and I'm so glad that they appreciate what I can uniquely offer(in 16 reviews)

  • "Working for Learnlight has been a very fulfilling experience(in 15 reviews)

Cons
  • "Low pay which never increases (I was there for over 3 years)(in 4 reviews)

  • "Some ungrateful ex trainers telling lies about our company(in 4 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (4)

    "Wonderful people flexible hours"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Learnlight full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Working from home, flexible hours, great support staff, great platform and Coordination tries to meet your needs and fill up your schedule. This is a wonderful environment and I wouldn't want to work any where else.

    Cons

    Mostly wonderful. No transfer fees.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you are doing. Do offer slight increases in pay to help with cost of living. Find a way to get rid of transfer fees and it'd be perfect.

    Learnlight2018-05-06
  2. Helpful (3)

    "Good Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - ESL Teacher 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Learnlight full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    When I applied to work for Learnlight I had also applied with several other online Language companies. I got to see the material they offered, their platforms, their pedagogy and I am pleased to say I chose to go with the best that is out there. Learnlight has been a solid company to work for. You make your own schedule, there has never been an issue with pay, the trainer support is beyond stellar, and the learners are...

    Show More

    Cons

    could offer pay increases

    Learnlight2019-01-28
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Language instructor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Language Instructor 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Learnlight part-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Very quick response time from team members. I like focusing on speaking only on Skype without the video, so that students can practice telephone skills.

    Cons

    The pay rate is extremely low and the amount of time required to actively watch and learn the system is overwhelming and no of which is paid. They require many hours of unpaid training and there are almost no vacation time for contractors. However the students can cancel within 12 hours (which can sometimes feel like less due to the time change). The half hour classes make it very difficult to schedule complete hours...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Pay your employees the rates that they deserve. If there are required training hours, compensate your qualified teachers for them.

    Learnlight2018-12-17
  4. Helpful (4)

    "ESL Tutor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Language Coach in Raleigh, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Learnlight for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Flexible schedule. Easy to take time off. Very promtp and professional administration staff. Lesson plans easy to follow and interactive.

    Cons

    Require detailed session and progress reports. Paypal fees are not covered. Rating system by students not mandatory, and bonuses affected by ratings. Pay is very low for all the required work. No pay increase for senior tutors.

    Advice to Management

    Cover Paypal fees. Use an interface that doesn't require Skype fees. Offer salary increases to seasoned tutors as they are the backbone of the company.

    Learnlight2018-05-03
  5. Helpful (1)

    "If you are looking to make some extra money..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Learnlight full-time

    Pros

    Excellent employee relationships and helpful tools.

    Cons

    No enough students to make the job worth it,

    Learnlight2017-09-14
  6. "It's great to work from home!!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Learnlight part-time

    Pros

    Create your own daily schedule

    Cons

    Hourly rate is very low

    Advice to Management

    Raise the salary

    Learnlight2017-07-19
  7. "ESL Instructor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Learnlight part-time

    Pros

    Good communication with staff and excellent team environment.

    Cons

    Sometimes there are computer issues and communication can be delayed.

    Advice to Management

    Systems can always be made more efficient.

    Learnlight2017-07-07
  8. Helpful (4)

    "Trainer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Learnlight part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Support staff and flexible hours, easy workload

    Cons

    Low pay is only disadvantage

    Advice to Management

    Provide higher price for experienced teachers

    Learnlight2017-05-13
  9. Helpful (10)

    "Great place to start out"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Learnlight full-time

    Pros

    Work from home, someone is ready and willing to help you. Bonus monthly if you meet the KPI, which is achievable. Office 365 usage included with email. Great for getting experience.

    Cons

    Salary never changes, not much opportunity for growth. Payment is sometimes missing money from bank charges.

    Advice to Management

    Pay for bank charges. Give an occasional raise and create chances for advancement.

    Learnlight2017-02-16
  10. Helpful (7)

    "Pay is low, but in-line with similar companies"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Online ESL Instructor 

    I have been working at Learnlight part-time

    Pros

    Flexible hours, fun teaching students from all over the world.

    Cons

    Pay is really low and it's difficult to get enough hours to make it worthwhile.

    Advice to Management

    Pay teachers better and you will attract a higher caliber of English teacher.

    Learnlight2016-05-10
Found 77 reviews