LifeWorks NW Reviews | Glassdoor

LifeWorks NW Reviews

Updated Jun 12, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 50 reviews

2.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
30%
Recommend to a Friend
38%
Approve of CEO
Mary Monnat
17 Ratings
  1. "Resident Service Coordinator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Resident Services Coordinator 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at LifeWorks NW part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    LOTS of paid time off. Good benefits.

    Cons

    Pay is not amazing but it’s worth it to work there with great people.

    Advice to Management

    Keep it up.

    LifeWorks NW2019-01-05
  2. "Not bad"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Mental Health Associate in Tigard, OR
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at LifeWorks NW part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Seems to be good perks and fair benefits. Good mission, reach a lot of kids, and most job autonomy

    Cons

    People are definitely overworked and organization from higher ups is low, which always trickles down. Pay is not great

    LifeWorks NW2019-06-13
  3. "Great mission and employees"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Portland, OR
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at LifeWorks NW part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Dedicated staff - management, support and direct service; mission-focused agency

    Cons

    Salaries do not recognize the value of the workforce which is typical of behavioral health provider organizations due to lack of adequate funding.

    Advice to Management

    Keep advocating for better rates for this vital service from our funders!

    LifeWorks NW2019-03-04
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Really very surreal experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Addictions Counselor in Portland, OR
      Doesn't Recommend

      I worked at LifeWorks NW part-time

      Pros

      That I did not start screaming and never stop,

      Cons

      That I actually stayed there for three whole days before resigning.

      Advice to Management

      The " Orientation" was to last four days with a two day "follow up" the next month. There were four people in attendance at the "Orientation" I attended . One of the "trainers" let it slip there was supposed to be around 20 people attending . The next day there were three of us. The next day I left . Incredibly the supervisor told me ( I need to say he was a super nice guy) that he had never heard ANY feedback...

      Show More
      LifeWorks NW2019-03-09
    • Helpful (1)

      "Run as far as you can both as an employee and ir client"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at LifeWorks NW

      Pros

      Time off, vacation pay if you have time to ise it

      Cons

      Everything else, especially upper Management

      Advice to Management

      Just like washington this place needs all Management changed out to people who actually care about more than collecting a big paycheck and creating a revolving door for clientel.

      LifeWorks NW2019-02-05
    • Helpful (1)

      "On the Brink of Ruins"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at LifeWorks NW full-time

      Pros

      There are some really great people who work really, really hard and who really, really care.

      Cons

      Lack of trust, lack of appreciation, lack of room for advancement, micromanagement, strong resistance to change, slow decision making, risk adverse, classic denial and hostility when confronted about problems, stuck in the past, dysfunctional leadership.

      Advice to Management

      BELIEVE IT when people keep saying over and over and over, there's a lack of trust among those at the top and that trickles down. Appreciation for staff is scarce, but criticism is abundant. There's a whole negative undertone that just can't seem to be undone.

      LifeWorks NW2018-12-29
    • Helpful (1)

      "Just another behavioral health agency"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I have been working at LifeWorks NW full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Only pro is decent benefits

      Cons

      Most everything else is a con

      Advice to Management

      If you like an agency that is satisfied with mediocracy and stagnation, shy's away form accountability, lacks any business acumen, regularly lays off its workforce at the first hint of instability, then this is the place for you.

      LifeWorks NW2019-01-19
    • Helpful (1)

      "Service Coordinator I"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Service Coordinator I in Milwaukie, OR
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at LifeWorks NW full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Supportive Teams, Company works to increase salaries and was looking at housing for employees

      Cons

      Pay is too low on a single income with student loans to compensate for the cost of living in the Portland area. No room for advancement at the Bachelors level, training could be improved to reduce wasted time. Training is done by other employees. Managers could be more involved in training

      LifeWorks NW2018-10-05
    • "Lip service"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Disapproves of CEO

      I have been working at LifeWorks NW full-time for more than 5 years

      Pros

      Clinicians care about the clients

      Cons

      Lip service from the higher ups when pushed to communicate to staff. They’d prefer to sit in their ivory tower and never speak to any of us peons.

      LifeWorks NW2018-11-08
    • Helpful (2)

      "Office Support CCBHC On-Call"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Office Support CCBHC in Portland, OR
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at LifeWorks NW part-time for less than a year

      Pros

      Better pay than similar agencies, at least for now while they have the grant. Flexible start times and leave times, but not with days.

      Cons

      Unprofessional management, no training for office managers of how to interact with people with mental illness, nepotism, favoritism, negative culture and work environment, tense and dishonest environment, over populated with floats, undependable hours some weeks you get no hours, expect unbennefitted employees to be as available as full time employees, not flexible with our for students or people with any outside committments...

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      Train for best practice for writing with high acuity clients. Office has first interactions and should be aware. The practice managers are out of touch of the way office managers treat their employees. Work on employee retention within the company. Be more flexible with on call employees, you'd be a fool to take an unbennefitted position if you didn't have kids, school, another job or responsibility.

      LifeWorks NW2018-10-14
    Found 50 reviews