MUFG Reviews | Glassdoor

MUFG Reviews

Updated Jun 15, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 153 reviews

3.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
46%
Recommend to a Friend
53%
Approve of CEO
MUFG CEO Steve Cummings
Steve Cummings
31 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Decision making tends to take time due to consensus(in 14 reviews)

  • "No cons for me I love working at MUFG(in 14 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (7)

    "The skies the limit"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Vice President Technology in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at MUFG full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Limitless opportunities to drive transformation Collaborative team culture Great compensation and benefits + work life balance

    Cons

    Risk management and compliance teams are very slow Top heavy - needs more millennial talent to drive change

    MUFG2018-09-25

    MUFG Response

    December 17, 2018MUFG

    We are proud to foster a culture and mindset conducive to change and the key to our transformation. Thanks for your enthusiastic review and for your contributions to our technology team over the past 3years! Please be sure to take advantage of our Employee Referral Program, as ...

    Show More
  2. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Branch Service Specialist in Clairemont, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at MUFG part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Working with great people.

    Cons

    Currently my commute is far but I'm positive that in time that will change after putting in my time.

    MUFG2019-06-13
  3. "Mufg"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Compliance Coordinator in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at MUFG full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Vacation buying , flexible work options

    Cons

    Political , no more pension,

    MUFG2019-06-15
  4. "Vice President"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Vice President in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at MUFG full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Large institution, decent work life balance.

    Cons

    Not innovative or competitive enough.

    Advice to Management

    Hire local people and minimize number of expats.

    MUFG2019-06-05
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Low Morale/Moderate Pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Vice President in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at MUFG full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    My paycheck clears on time.

    Cons

    Too many to name. Constant layoffs. Middling Pay. Bad management. No diversity. Very political.

    Advice to Management

    No reason to give it. The institution is incapable of positive change.

    MUFG2019-06-10
  6. "O.K."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Financial Advisor in San Diego, CA
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at MUFG full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Pretty good platform. Standard industry grid. Staff has incentive to refer

    Cons

    Upper management turn over. New people come in and try to change things every couple of years.

    Advice to Management

    come up with a strategy and stick with it

    MUFG2019-05-22
  7. "Good Teamwork and Bonuses"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Director in Dallas, TX
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at MUFG full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good teamwork and professional colleagues . Cash bonuses in Private Equity (Investment Banks) tends to be higher than most industries.

    Cons

    Work hours are demanding and can be over 60 hours per week at times. Upper management is detached from day-to-day business and employees mostly due to location.

    MUFG2019-05-17
  8. Helpful (1)

    "not enough business to stay busy"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Mortgage Consultant in Tempe, AZ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at MUFG full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    flexible hours and location is central in the valley

    Cons

    not enough business and not able to hit tiers consistently

    MUFG2019-05-13
  9. "OK company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Director in New York, NY

      I worked at MUFG full-time for more than 5 years

      Pros

      Made friends whom I still keep in touch after I left

      Cons

      Bureaucracy, many layers in the firm, not many people have vision

      MUFG2019-05-29
    • "Good"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Audit Staff in San Francisco, CA
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at MUFG full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Friendly environment, Good Staff, Good Team, Nice Manager, Communication

      Cons

      Commute, Protocols, too many procedure, Lot of Paper work, Strick, holidays

      MUFG2019-05-13
    Found 153 reviews