Mac Properties Reviews | Glassdoor

Mac Properties Reviews

Updated May 16, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 46 reviews

3.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
43%
Recommend to a Friend
58%
Approve of CEO
David Gefsky & Eli Ungar
26 Ratings
  1. Helpful (2)

    "Marketing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing in Kansas City, MO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Mac Properties full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Modern office, fun staff, opportunity to make a direct impact on the results of the company. Direct lines to upper management and ownership. The owners are investing heavily in their current properties and residents to show they care about their investments.

    Cons

    It is a small company so some of the policies and procedures are not documented but it has a little bit of an entrepreneurial feel, which I like.

    Advice to Management

    Keep listening to staff, residents, and online reviews.

    Mac Properties2018-07-16
  2. "HR is unprofessional"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Inventory in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Mac Properties full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The employees are just making a living but watch out for the higher ups.

    Cons

    HR is very unprofessional and the play favorites.

    Advice to Management

    Find people with more professionalism.

    Mac Properties2019-05-16
  3. "Alright"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Accounting Associate 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Mac Properties full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good working hours for the employees

    Cons

    Upper Management not very professional in promoting growth in junior employees.

    Mac Properties2019-03-01
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Supported and Satisfied"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Mac Properties full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I wake up every morning pumped to walk into work... sounds cliché, but so true! The culture isn't perfect, and there is a lot of room for the company to grow, but I am genuinely happy to be a part of this company. I feel supported which is not always easy to find in a company or leaders. Every day I feel like I am contributing to something greater than myself. My manager focuses on how I can improve and make strides...

    Show More

    Cons

    Inconsistent communication among departments. HR Department is inadequately ran.

    Mac Properties2018-09-11
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Horrible"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at Mac Properties full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      You can use them as a stepping stone to a better job.

      Cons

      Employees are incompetent with little skill set or drive. Most maintenace techs come from the 7/11 down the street. It’s a huge joke that sucks money from Chicago.

      Advice to Management

      This company will fail.

      Mac Properties2018-10-13
    • Helpful (2)

      "Repair electrical, plumbing, and carpentry issues. Minor HVAC issues as well."

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Maintenance Technician in Chicago, IL
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I have been working at Mac Properties full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Easy work for the most part. Able to close out all work most days. Friendly co-workers with a sense of team. Can rely on them for help when needed.

      Cons

      Management and higher ups don't understand how it is on the field. Unrealistic expectations are given without proper planning. Sense that owners do not care what the maintenance team speaks up about. Raises are only discussed at the end of the year.

      Advice to Management

      Pay the field workers more since they are the ones dealing directly with residents and gain their trust and respect.

      Mac Properties2018-08-28
    • Helpful (1)

      "Ok if you need money but no room for improvement."

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Maintenance Technician II in Chicago, IL
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I have been working at Mac Properties full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Great coworkers weekends off sometimes.

      Cons

      Managers always taking down to you no encouragement. Makes you feel like you just another number and expendable.

      Advice to Management

      Give better raises to qualified people.

      Mac Properties2018-09-11
    • Helpful (1)

      "Leasing agent"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at Mac Properties

      Pros

      Fast paced work, lots of things to do, opportunities for extra hours

      Cons

      disorganized. Needs to hire more people...I think this company would be a lot better if you did and took the time to listen to employees advice or suggestions

      Advice to Management

      Hire more people and have the time to help people become more knowledgeable.

      Mac Properties2018-08-30
    • Helpful (4)

      "Hostile Environement"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at Mac Properties full-time

      Pros

      Job is fairly easy. Very relaxed time off system. Holiday Pay. Entertaining company events.

      Cons

      Toxic and hostile work environment in regards to management. Management conducts themselves like a high school clique. Complete with petty slights and caddy statements. They will go out of their way to write you up simply if you ever disagree with something they have said or if they just flat out do not like you. They have falsified write ups and threatened employees just to keep them from speaking about issues in the...

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      Grow up. Give prompt responses to emails and phone calls. Care more about your employees needs and not just profits.

      Mac Properties2018-07-11
    • "Resident Service Coordinator"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at Mac Properties part-time

      Pros

      Lots of people with various connections live in the buildings. In House perk of using the gym. Relatively simple task

      Cons

      Management tends to operate with the notion of high turnovers to be expected. At night you operate as security and witness a variety of different personal dealings throughout the building (police compliance, domestic disputes and theft). During the harsher climates and weather the older buildings will flood, creak and deteriorate.

      Advice to Management

      Show care and general interest in your new employees. Provide perks such as a PARKING SPOT! (it can be rotationally used) Actually engage in upward internal employment (you have some wonderful long time staff workers who know the in's, outs and tips of the business).

      Mac Properties2018-02-16
    Found 46 reviews