MarineMax Reviews | Glassdoor

MarineMax Reviews

Updated May 21, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 62 reviews

3.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
56%
Recommend to a Friend
59%
Approve of CEO
MarineMax CEO William H. McGill Jr.
William H. McGill Jr.
34 Ratings
Pros
  • "You get to use new boats during the summer(in 9 reviews)

  • "You get to meet some great people(in 4 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Good company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I worked at MarineMax full-time

      Pros

      Always treated fairly. Always got answers to the questions I asked.

      Cons

      I can't say that there was anything outside of normal issues with being employed anywhere else.

      MarineMax2018-10-30
    • "Fun"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Marketing in Newark, NJ
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at MarineMax full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      fun atmosphere, new opportunities, benefits, PTO

      Cons

      Pay could be better but will pay overtime

      MarineMax2019-05-22
    • "Avoid at all costs"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Seabrook, TX
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at MarineMax full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      I wish there was any pros. I just can’t think about any. The company claims they are the best in the business but they are stuck in the 80’s.

      Cons

      Poor health insurance coverage. Poor management at all echelons. A lot people with poor knowledge, especially in service departments. Poor processes if not just plain lack of them. Intensive use of the “buddy” system. Not friendly to disabled people.

      Advice to Management

      Fire every body and join the 21st century.

      MarineMax2019-01-29
    • Helpful (1)

      "Don't do it. No loyalty. Constant drama"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - SERVICE ADVISOR in Pensacola, FL
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at MarineMax full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Working on boats, near the water

      Cons

      Backstabbing their own employees.

      Advice to Management

      Replace yourselves

      MarineMax2019-01-13
    • "M max"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Technician in Springfield, MO
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook

      I worked at MarineMax full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      All is good. Very fair and suportive

      Cons

      Very corperate but fair also

      Advice to Management

      None

      MarineMax2018-09-26
    • Helpful (2)

      "Look elsewhere."

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Mechanic in Tallahassee, FL
      Doesn't Recommend
      Positive Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at MarineMax full-time

      Pros

      Pay is fair. Work week is standard m-f for the most part.

      Cons

      I was told winter layoff was three weeks when interviewed. It is two months. Managers are idiots who prove the Dilbert principle true consistently. Very little room for advancement with no appreciation from the guys making the real money while staying clean and making the tech's lives hell (the salesmen). "Sure, Mr. Rosenberg, if you buy this two million dollar yacht, our guys will have it ready to go in two days...

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      Quit your jobs. You suck at them. Get psychotherapy and eat THC gummies or benzos religiously. You need them.

      MarineMax2018-10-09
    • Helpful (9)

      "Great company, Great income"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Retail Sales Consultant in Tampa, FL
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at MarineMax full-time for more than 10 years

      Pros

      Great opportunity for high income Advancements opportunities when non-administrative positions Great co-workers Fun business to work on Fun parties and trips with clients

      Cons

      Poor benefit plan Losing the humanity on the last few years, more about GP A lot of pressure to produce Not a lot of balance between work and personal life

      Advice to Management

      Please overview benefit plan. Your employees are the face of your company, the happier we are, the longer we last working for you, and clients feel that.

      MarineMax2018-07-30
    • Helpful (1)

      "Waste of Time"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Sales Representative in New York, NY
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at MarineMax full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Large nation-wide inventory of product

      Cons

      Terrible benefits, terrible insurance, sexist corporation run by snakes in suits.

      MarineMax2018-09-01
    • "Sales"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I worked at MarineMax for more than a year

      Pros

      Being around boats. Meeting new people.

      Cons

      Not much room for growth. It's all about the money.

      MarineMax2018-07-30
    • "Great Company!"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at MarineMax

      Pros

      Wonderful People, great team to work with

      Cons

      I can't think of any at this time

      MarineMax2018-03-26
    Found 62 reviews