Mark's Reviews | Glassdoor

Mark's Reviews

Updated Nov 6, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.5
62%
Recommend to a Friend
80%
Approve of CEO
Mark's CEO Stephen Wetmore (no image)
Stephen Wetmore
31 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (7)

    "Company has HUGE potential, but they aren't living up to it...."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Management in Ontario, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Mark's full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Large, Canadian organization! Low turnover at Store Mgr Level and above! Good products with good innovation. Company is definitely trying to move into the current century

    Cons

    Disorganized method of doing business, Respect for People- has left the building!, No one ever talks about sales!!!???? Absent leadership from the Regional VP levels.... "ignore it and it will go away" seems to be the mindset. People need to see PEOPLE!

    Advice to Management

    DM's visit stores, regularly. AVP's don't. Not sure why this is allowed? Get out of the office and speak to the people who can give valuable information regarding your business trends, customer feedback, and give these people some recognition...

    Mark's2013-07-29
  2. "Low Stress Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative 

    I worked at Mark's part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    There is always something to do that keeps you busy and helps the hours go by. The employee discount is very generous

    Cons

    There is little opportunity for growth or an increase in wages.

    Mark's2019-10-08
  3. "Great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate 

    I worked at Mark's part-time

    Pros

    Great people and atmosphere here.

    Cons

    Less pay, more work.

    Mark's2019-10-04
  4. "I'm a outgoing lady, I like to work I have a 2 year old"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in Greenwood, NS
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Mark's full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Everyone was awesome and I catch on quick everyone was super caring and understanding

    Cons

    Its was a little slow other then that great

    Mark's2019-10-03
  5. "people are great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Edmonton, AB

    I worked at Mark's part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    people are great can be fun at time

    Cons

    low pay , for lots of work

    Advice to Management

    Need to have people skill

    Mark's2019-11-06
  6. "South Keys Assistant manager will make sure you do not advance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Retail Sales Associate in Ottawa, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Mark's part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Manager very nice, has no clue how the assistant manager acts behind her back.

    Cons

    The lowest pay possible and no benefits . if you work part one year you might get in increase.

    Advice to Management

    You have an Assistant manager who tells staff they will not advance and never get a raise. She also trash talks using the F word on the floor. Not a healthy environment for other staff.

    Mark's2019-11-04
  7. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Saint Catharines, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Mark's part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Friendly work environment Supportive colleagues Opportunities for advancement Some profit sharing

    Cons

    Minimum wage pay (to begin)

    Mark's2019-09-21
  8. "Employees not treated well"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Store Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Mark's full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great coworkers, relaxed setting, fun atmosphere

    Cons

    Employees not treated well financially, no consideration for rights

    Advice to Management

    Pay your staff better. Reward hard workers. Make employees feel appreciated. Give opportunities to grow

    Mark's2019-10-03
  9. "Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - SGM 

    I have been working at Mark's full-time

    Pros

    Great company to work for

    Cons

    Scheduling interferes with family time

    Mark's2019-09-04
  10. "Awesome company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate 
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Mark's part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Amazing team. And clients lots of room with discounts as employee

    Cons

    No cons at the moment

    Mark's2019-08-03
Found 201 reviews